We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best view of Mystras”
Review of Byzantion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Byzantion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mystras
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“the best view of Mystras”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

When I was in Paris, I heard that the best view of the city is from the Eiffel Tower, because you can't see the Tower itself! This description fits perfectly the Byzantion Hotel in Mystras: the building is not charming at all (it's the only big, two-floored building of the village), but the view from it is beautiful. All the rooms are small, but convenient, with little balconies that look to the hill of Mystras and the main road of the village. The location is excellent, the staff helpful, breakfast is tasty (traditional, contains fresh oranges from their trees), the garden and swimming pool perfect for a rest. In the lobby you can find books with information on the area, maps and computers with free access, to make plans for your excursions. Restaurants and shops are nearby and the archeological site is in walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank froso_palaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    96
    42
    8
    5
See reviews for
64
83
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

From the outside this place looks uninspiring. Do not despair. We arrived in the last week in April after a long hot thirsty drive from Athens and arrtived to be overwhelmed by the smell of orange blossom. The small car park is full of orange trees,, and there is an excellent swimming pool in a lovely garden behind the hotel. As we were travelling off peak- highly recommended, by the way, especialaly for the spring flowers- there were few people here. Room 101 (and presumably 201 above) is a double aspect room with a balcony overlooking the main road and taverna, and the other with an incredible view to the west, to Sparta and the hills beyond. I spent a long time at sunset just gazing.
The staff are friendly and cannot do enough to help you. Breakfast is excellent and best taken on the sunny terrace, Our room was great, and recently refurbished in quite a modern style, very clean and very comfortable, with double glazing as well as shutters. Off-peak, the prices were a bargain. Mystras itself- not just the Byzantine city on the hill- is a joy, not to be missed. If you enjoy walking, follow the recommended route up into the mountains in the Bradt Guide to the Peleponnese- it is wonderful.

Room Tip: 101 and probably 201 above - double aspect at the end of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lottemose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We got two rooms - a double and a triple instead of a quadruple + extra bed that we had booked, for the same price. The rooms were simply decorated but clean and had everything we needed. We could see Mystras site from our balconies! Hotel staff was friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe_cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is a great location for seeing the Mystras site. My room was comfortable and roomy, with a small balcony overlooking the street and the ruins in the distance. This is an older property, and has the feel of somebody's grandmother's house. It might not please those looking for the most modern furnishings and decor, but it was clean, conveniently located with tavernas close by, and has private parking. Breakfast can be eaten indoors or out. Breakfast was good, not different from breakfasts I had in other Greek hotels. The outdoor tables filled up fast in the morning. There are several steps up to the front door, but there is an elevator inside up to the rooms. The proprietor did help carry my bags up the steps, but this might be an obstacle for people with mobility problems.The large public rooms offered computer access and space for reading. I didn't try the pool as I was only there for one night and returned from the ruins late in the day. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Nice, quiet room. Clean. Good breakfast. Private parking.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed in Mystras two nights. Our room had a balcony, with a nice view over the main street. The room was big and comfortable, had wonderful sleep. The bathroom was big and clean. Breakfast was delicious. Acces to internet was easy. We asked for laundry services, and despite the fact that they don't offer it, we were provided with it at a very fair price.
The pool in the middle of the hot summer was a blessing. It is surrounded by a very beautiful garden. We spent both our afternoons there.
The site is within walking distance.
The hotel doesn't look nice from the outside, as it is just plain.. However as soon as you enter you find very friendly staff and big rooms with couches and books. The elevator was a plus (specially after coming back from the site!).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liliana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Having arrived after a 3 hour drive it was a relief to arrive at the Byzantion Hotel. My room had a lovely balcony which over looked the castle and there was a swimming pool within the hotel, which you need after visiting the ancient site. I received a nice continental breakfast and the staff were all very friendly. The hotel is in a central position in Mystras with parking.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gretchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mystras
0.0 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 15 in Olympia
1,074 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakonia Hotel
Lakonia Hotel
#6 of 10 in Sparta
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dioscouri
Hotel Dioscouri
#7 of 10 in Sparta
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ilaeira Mountain Resort
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kronio
Hotel Kronio
#4 of 15 in Olympia
436 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Irene
Hotel Irene
#65 of 109 in Chania Town
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byzantion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byzantion Hotel

Property: Byzantion Hotel
Address: Central Plaza, Mystras 231 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Mystras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mystras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Byzantion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Byzantion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byzantion Hotel Mystras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing