We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and wonderful evening”

Chromata Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Mystras
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $29
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Running from December 2008, reviving an old and renowned traditional tavern of 1936, our restaurant Chromata has become a whole new experience for the area of Mystras.Located in Pikoulianika, in a local traditional stone built home enjoying marvellous veiws of the entire Byzantine estate, Chromata was re-designed by the distinguished theatrical scenographer Eva Nathena.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful view and wonderful evening”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Staff very welcoming and friendly, restaurant was full of Greeks later on rather than tourists, beautiful view from the terrace to watch evening fall over the Spartan plain. The food was tasty, the whole evening was very special.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    51
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antiparos
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We visited Chromata Restaurant as we heard that the view from there towards Sparta was breathtaking. And it really was, but the surprise came when we tried their different dishes. Everything we ate including the salad was really tasty and very well cooked. Their house wine was also very good. We will definitely visit Chromata Restaurant on our next visit to Sparta.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AtheKalars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very tasty food! Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

A very nice restaurant situated in a small and traditional village. The food was absolutely tasty and presented as an art piece, our food portions were quite big as well! The atmosphere and the decoration were very nice...a compilation of modern and traditional !
Unfortunately we visited in December so we didn't have the chance to sit outside and enjoy the landscape !

Helpful?
Thank Sofronia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food of great quality and taste!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

When quality of local produce meets gastronomy, you have the perfect culinary experience! Fresh ingredients, herbs and spices from the owners yard, clever details and vivid flavours for inspired delicious dishes! And what's more is that you get all this in a unique picturesque environment with amazing view on the castle of Mystras and the town of Sparti. Since i also appreciate the interiors of a restaurant i visit, Chromata is characterised by simplicity and style at the same time. Oh and if you are lucky enough you might see from the top little window the hens and cocks living happily next to you! Chef and the owners very polite and kind. Excellent service in a warm atmosphere, will visit again! Booking essential!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amelia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houten, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The ladies from our hotel recommended this restaurant. It is uphill and at a very dark, steep road.
It is a small place, nicely decorated in a modern way. It has a terrace outside which will be great during summer evenings, stunning views over Sparti and Mystras. The food was excellent, the staff very friendly. Very affordable prices and good quantity and quality. We really liked it that smoking was not allowed inside the restaurant!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chromata Restaurant also viewed

 
Mystras, Laconia Region
Sparta, Laconia Region
 
Mystras, Laconia Region
Mystras, Laconia Region
 

Been to Chromata Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing