We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some enchanted evening”

Chromata Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Mystras
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $28
Cuisines: Contemporary, Diner, Healthy, Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Running from December 2008, reviving an old and renowned traditional tavern of 1936, our restaurant Chromata has become a whole new experience for the area of Mystras.Located in Pikoulianika, in a local traditional stone built home enjoying marvellous veiws of the entire Byzantine estate, Chromata was re-designed by the distinguished theatrical scenographer Eva Nathena.
Melbourne,Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Some enchanted evening”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This evening we were fortunate enough to visit Chromata restaurant in the mountain village of Pikoulianika.
I cannot speak highly enough of the meal we enjoyed here. Using local ingredients, the food was a delight to the palette. We enjoyed the entrees (wild mushrooms with a tangy sweet sauce, grilled local cheese with tomato, eggplant and pesto) but the mains of tagliatelle with wild mushrooms and the chicken fillet with mozzarella and orange were stand outs.
The wine (a rose blended from merlot and other grapes I am not familiar with) was aromatic, fruity and demanded a second bottle.
The meal was rounded off with a shot glass of a sweet local wine reminiscent of our local (Aust) Noble One. What a night, perched high above the city looking down as the lights slowly filled the valley below.
My husband could not help tell the staff that the meal was "not just organic, it was orgasmic".

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClarindaWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    44
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
1,362 reviews
547 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,634 helpful votes
“Incredible food and view!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I can honestly say this is the best view and best food I had in all of Greece. The restaurant has a view of Sparta, Mystras and the valley below. The night we were there, we were seated outside and it started to drizzle. Fortunately, we had the same view when we moved inside to get out of the rain.

The food is gourmet quality at very reasonable prices. For starters, we had the most delicious salad with greens, cheeses, pine nuts, tomato pesto and other ingredients as well as a grilled local cheese - which was outstanding. For our main meals we had an orzo risotto and a chicken breast dish - which were both exteremly good.

We were staying at the Mazaraki Guesthouse which was down the mountain a bit. We decided to walk up to the restaurant based on comments other reviewers made. There was actually parking at the restaurant so driving there would not be a problem.

The restaurant is closed Monday and Tuesday. It is only open for dinner Wednesday - Friday. It is open for lunch Saturday (I assume dinner as well) and Sunday. I highly recommend this restaurant based on both the view and the food. I would suggest not drinknig too much alcohol at dnner if you are driving since the road to the restaurant is a bit "tricky!"

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuneo, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The greatest value for money rate!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We went to Chromata a few days ago and our expectations were not disappointed.
Staff is friendly and the food is really good, based on local products. Prices, compared to the quality, are exceptional.
Find it is not easy, being about 200 meters uphill from the road that leads Mystras to Tripi. You have to take a detour (there is a sign...but in greek!) exactly in the center of the few houses that form the fraction of Pikoulianika

Keep it up guys!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefano F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Good view
Great food
Nice owner

... a nice place to stop by ! Only, make yourself the favour and park BEFORE the restaurant !

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni_M189400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Food was great, prices were great, VIEW was ABSOLUTELY great, service was great.
I' m so glad we decided to go there instead of another tavern which was very highly recommended (from locals mainly). That tavern was upon the main road and it proved to be quite crowded - everyone seems to know it.
On the other hand, you cannot find Chromata unless you look for it and it is absolutely WORTH IT!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yodaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chromata Restaurant also viewed

 
Mystras, Laconia Region
Sparta, Laconia Region
 

Been to Chromata Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing