We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False Advertising!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Lixouri
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just returned on the 3 September 2013, the hotel was in need of a full redecoration and a lot of electrical repairs to sockets that were not in the wall but hanging of in places. The food was the most awful food I have ever had to try and eat with all meats being cooked in either tomato or lemon and all the vegetables seemed to have the same taste and every day this was the same with pasta bolognaise and potato wedges oh and spring rolls for the kids choice every day and when we complained about the food after a few days nothing changed, there is also advertised bar snacks and evening snacks which consist of small dry rolls with ham and cheese in them accompanied by spring rolls served at the pool bar in the afternoon and from 10 and 11 at night there was ham and cheese sandwiches half and wrapped in cling film which were on the first floor bar and there was only a small tray put out pur evening. The evening entertainment was the worst I have ever seen with a stage that looked more like an entrance to the toilets. We were there for 14 days and the entertainment consisted of a quiz, bingo, strong man
which was the guests competing for cocktails which are free any way oh and on Monday nights a man with a piano. The aqua park is not as the pictures show because the pictures online are of a large pool the 8 or 9 slides when infact it's a small mushroom with three slides next to a building site that's fenced of infact the pictures that are online must be from before the hotel was robbed and closed for 2 to 5 years because the canope to the right of the main entrance is not there any more just the frame plus the pay phones in side the entrance are not there either. Over all we didn't enjoy our stay at the hotel and would not recommend it to anyone with taste buds.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeophytosN, e-marketing at Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

It is sad to read through your response and we feel responsible for the fact that you didn’t get what you were expecting. Since this happened, we will examine what we can do in order not to experience similar incidents again.

We will make sure that your comments will be examined and also any areas that are in need of improvement will be improved.

We would like to thank you for your feedback.

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.


Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts

E-Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 53 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Like all of the recent reviews posted we were worried about going to the cyprotel garden village in kafelonia. However we had a lovely time. We agree with all the positive comments recently posted. I just wanted to suggest a couple of things if you are taking babies/young toddlers. We were a family of 4, boy of 12 and a toddler of 21 months. The shop in the resort is not overlay stocked, you must take all the essentials for the whole holiday for your baby including nappies and wet wipes. The guy in the restaurant who replenished all e food was wonderful and provided our nightly milk in a feeding bottle. The hotel is built on a hill and I would highly recommend taking a good quality pushchair, we did spend most days either at the beach in the complex or in the mushroom pool (ie pool over the other side wi slides and kids floats) and having a good pushchair is a must for getting over the hill but it didn't put us off going.

We stayed for 10 days and during that time the lift was out of service. This caused a problem getting from the reception area to the top bar where the nightly entertainment was. Thankfully there were two of us to carry the pushchair up but e hotel should consider this for young children.

The only other item I would recommend is to eat inside all of the time. We choose to eat outside in the open air part of the restaurant and was infested by wasps and other flying objects. Maybe the hotel can consider some sort of way to deal with this.

Having said all of this we had a lovely time. The staff were great including the animation team. The music around the pool was NOT too loud. The all inclusive was fabulous and in constant flow. The lifeguards were great and we all felt totally safe in the complex. Beautiful place. Be aware the the transfer time is one and a half hours around very windy roads. If we were to go again we would seriously think about getting the ferry across.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgos M, E-Marketing Team at Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

We would like to thank you for choosing us as your Holiday Destination. We are committed to customer satisfaction and we are glad that your experiences with us are positive and memorable. We hope to see you again soon and in the meantime you can be updated about our news through our social channels.

Thank you for your kind words, and remember that we have hotels in both Cyprus & Greece across multiple cities and islands so we would love to welcome you soon!

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.

Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts

E-Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a fab holiday at the Kefalonia Garden Village.

The beach is at the bottom of the hotel. Lepeda beach with a bar/restaurant is a 20 minute walk along the sea.
One day we carried on and walked into Lixouri, it took about an hour. Much quicker than going by road on foot.

The ferry over to Argostoli is 2:50 Euros each from Lixouri.
We had a meal on the front at the oldest restaurant on Kefalonia 'Kalafatis'. Walking back to the ferry we saw 2 large sea turtles swimming 2 feet from us!

Yes the hotel has local branded drinks and other foreign nationalities staying there. If you want PG tips and to be surrounded by Brits, go in holiday in England!

The drinks were certainly drinkable, the food was varied and you can't beat a bit of people watching, never mind their nationality!

The pools are great, we spent most days at the pool with the slides. The lifeguard was great, he arranged slide races with our children.The lady at the water slides bar was very sweet, always smiling.

Rooms were very spacious, 2 bedrooms, clean and newly renovated, with lovely sea views.

The views from the hotel are breathtaking, you need to look at my pictures, words are not enough.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend.

Thank you for a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Babbs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgos M, E-Marketing Team at Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

It is a privilege when our customers dedicate some of their time to inform us about various incidents regarding positive or negative experiences during their accommodation with Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts.

We would like to thank you for your kind words, and remember that we have hotels in both Cyprus & Greece across multiple cities and islands so we would love to welcome you soon!

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.
Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts
E-Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have just got home from a weeks holiday at the Kefalonia Garden Village, and were pleasantly surprised! We had read both good and bad reviews so were arriving with an open mind.. We hadn't paid a massive price for the holiday, so didn't really expect the hotel to be a top 4 star hotel, which it isn't. but definitely good value for money...What it is is a 'new' hotel where the staff are friendly and open to suggestions, where within the week we were there we saw positive changes being made.

On a positive note the hotel is set in an absolutely stunning location, views are beautiful, hotel is clean, rooms basic but spacious with good air conditioning, food freshly cooked, yummy Greek salads and tzatziki , good mix of nationalities of guests, staff are friendly and helpful ( especially the bar maid and life guard in the activity/slide pool at the top of the steep hill!!- worth the walk each day), they speak good English, small beach is pretty and overlooked by the pool, hotel felt safe, kids were happy to wander around, go to games room etc, there wasn't any problem with sunbeds, there was always room ! towels can be hired for the pool and could be replaced whenever you wanted.

Yes there are some apartments which need renovating still, but these were at the top of the hotel so not really a problem, the soft drinks and coffee weren't very nice, quite watered down although this did start to get better over the week ( slides/activity/pool bar has bottled soft drinks and lovely iced coffee), the entertainment staff try really hard but the hotel could do with getting some outside entertainment in on certain nights, not really a problem though as we tended to play cards with the kids, they were quite funny really! Some families did take the all inclusive part a bit far, with plates of untouched food being left on tables and wasted, which was a bit annoying as sometimes the food did take a while to be replenished. Also a few guests could do with being reminded to have a wash and change their clothes for dinner! if you really like a cup of tea or coffee it may be worth taking your own !!

The hotel is in quite an isolated location so if we had stayed longer we would have definitely hired a car.

We walked along a few times to Lepeda beach which is pretty with a friendly family run cafe, and free WiFi
.
Taxis are relatively cheap, we got a ferry from Lixori to the capital which is a good day out, we even saw turtles swimming in the sea..

We found this to be a safe, friendly good value holiday on a beautiful island. yes there are some things that need improving, but there are more positive points. We had a fun family holiday, and wished we had stayed there for two weeks!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgos M, E-Marketing Team at Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

We would like to thank you for choosing us as your Holiday Destination. We are committed to customer satisfaction and we are glad that your experiences with us are positive and memorable. We hope to see you again soon and in the meantime you can be updated about our news through our social channels.

Thank you for your kind words, and remember that we have hotels in both Cyprus & Greece across multiple cities and islands so we would love to welcome you soon!

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.

Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts

E-Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Imagine how great is it waking up in the morning and the first thing you can see are the mountains surrounding the sea and you cannot do anything rather than looking at scenery and relax. This is what you will experience in this hotel. I nearly spent all my holidays in Kefalonia in the hotel since the service was exceptional together with the great variety and quality of the food it served! The rooms were very spacious and clean. It is definitely make it worth staying in this hotel in the future. If you would like to have an absolute relaxing holiday this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Antonis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgos M, E-Marketing Team at Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

We would like to thank you for choosing us as your Holiday Destination. We are committed to customer satisfaction and we are glad that your experiences with us are positive and memorable. We hope to see you again soon and in the meantime you can be updated about our news through our social channels.

Thank you for your kind words, and remember that we have hotels in both Cyprus & Greece across multiple cities and islands so we would love to welcome you soon!

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.

Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts

E-Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We left the hotel on Saturday 24th August 2013 at 3:30pm after 14 nights at this hotel. I was very worried after reading the reviews on trip advisor. Please do not take on board the bad reviews about this place. It's been a fantastic holiday and I feel the bad reviews were unfounded and unfair. We were two families of 4 and 3 with children aged 12. There was lots to do and the hotel location is ideal for sight seeing on the island. The animation team are excellent and good fun. My friend and I participated in stretching with Oscar every morning. The water exercises were fun as is the water polo, table tennis, tennis and relaxation. I have to say I plan to continue with the stretching now we are back in the UK after seeing and feeling the benefits. We had a great time with the evening entertainment; especially Greek dancing. Food choice is good but at one point during our holiday the bar ran out of Rum, Ouzo, Lemonade and Fanta orange. Tea made from local branded tea bags taste terrible. If you are a tea drinker please take some with you. The hotel do have PG tips; but it depends on the hotel supplier. However, you can always nip to Luxuri harbour and purchase some if necessary.

Becky the hotel rep is great and always on hand and she is fantastic a resolving problems quickly. All of the hotel staff are really lovely and friendly. I can not fault our time at Village Garden and I would love to go back. Our last holiday was a Riu Vistema in Puerto Rico and this holiday overall comes a close second best. You can hire towels for sun loungers from the hotel reception at a cost of 20 euro's. Water is not inclusive and has to be purchased for 1 euro.

All in all we have had a really great time here and I would definitely not worry about heading to this hotel for your holiday. The bad publicity is not representative of what this hotel is really like and my points about the tea bags and local drinks are not enough of a problem to spoil a holiday in any way.

Thanks to the hotel staff and animation team for making our holiday so wonderful; big applause! x

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PASheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgos M, E-Marketing Team at Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

We would like to thank you for choosing us as your Holiday Destination. We are committed to customer satisfaction and we are glad that your experiences with us are positive and memorable. We hope to see you again soon and in the meantime you can be updated about our news through our social channels.

Thank you for your kind words, and remember that we have hotels in both Cyprus & Greece across multiple cities and islands so we would love to welcome you soon!

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.

Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts

E-Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Ignore the previous bad reviews, they worried us a great deal, and for nothing. The hotel has spectacular views, the staff are extremely kind, friendly and helpful. There was a wide range of good quality food, maybe not as amazing as if you went all inclusive in the Caribbean, but this isn't long haul. The pool is very good and the beach is a lovely cove. We were surprised how unsteep the walk was from reading the other reviews. If you have mobility problems or are pushing buggies then it will be different, but the brochure guidance explains clearly that this hotel is not for you if you have problems with hills etc. It's in a steep position - hence the brilliant panoramic views. The Animation team were really good and didn't involve you if you didn't want to be. They also weren't too loud by the pool. What's wrong with them being Polish? They spoke perfect English and involved all nationalities. I had a massage at the Spa and it was very good. The rooms were spacious and clean, as was the whole hotel. Lixouri itself is very pretty and we also caught the ferry to Argostoli which was a great day out. You can't expect everything to be on your doorstep - it was only ten minutes in a taxi! We got to know several of the staff who took the trouble to shake your hand and wave you off when you left. I can't really find anything to complain about. Myself, husband and two sons aged 15 and 12 had a really great holiday. So please don't worry reading the old reviews, you should have a really good holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgos M, E-Marketing Team at Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

It is a privilege when our customers dedicate some of their time to inform us about various incidents regarding positive or negative experiences during their accommodation with Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts.

We would like to thank you for your kind words, and remember that we have hotels in both Cyprus & Greece across multiple cities and islands so we would love to welcome you soon!

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.
Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts
E-Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lixouri
21.8 mi away
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
#7 of 11 in Lixouri
448 reviews
18.4 mi away
Liberatos Village
Liberatos Village
#102 of 141 in Cephalonia
225 reviews
1.2 mi away
Regina Dell Acqua Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
17.9 mi away
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Platis Gialos
1,251 reviews
15.7 mi away
Ionian Emerald Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village

Address: Agios Ioannis, Lixouri 282 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lixouri
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range: $74 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Build on a hill with view to Ionian Sea our 4-star hotel has one of the most beautiful views in the island. Next to the sea, recently built (2008) and close to famous beaches of Myrtos and Xi, we offer you a great place to relax and enjoy Greek sea, sun and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kefalonia Garden Village Hotel Lixouri
Kefalonia Garden Village Lixouri
Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village Cephalonia/Lixouri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing