We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful welcome”
Review of La Cite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Cite Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lixouri
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What a wonderful welcome”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I have stayed at La Cite twice and the second time I brought some of my family too including a two year old and two teenagers. I was getting married in the north of the island last June in Fiscardo but wanted my family to have a few days in the south to enjoy the beaches and the buzz of Lixouri and Argostoli. We absolutely loved staying here, it is so easy to walk into Lixouri square and take the boat also over to Argostoli at night to go to all the shops or buzzy restaurants and bars. The ladies who run the hotel are amazing and it is super clean. It has a lovely pool as well and has nice shaded areas too if you like that. It is also easy to drive from here to the Xi beach which a really lovely beach to sunbathe and swim on. I love to stay in different parts of Kefalonia but certainly would recommending stopping by la Cite for a few nights to see this part of the island.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller100Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    45
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
128
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at La Cite in July this year. Our stay was very pleasant and we enjoyed every minute of it. What makes this hotel over the top is the incredible helpful and friendly staff. Overall, we had a blast and certainly recommend this hotel to our friends and hopefully will come back again.

Marina and Bojan

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed for 7 days beginning 15th July this year and had a lovely relaxing time not only in La Cite Hotel but in the whole of Kefalonia. Everything said about this hotel is true. Staff and their helpfulness is faultless. Rooms very clean, airy and quite spacious. Breakfast is very limited but is such a minor negative that you would have to be so so fussy to let it put you off staying here. We hired a car so we could explore the island and I highly recommend it but I'm not sure if it would be cheaper to do when u get there or not. We booked before we went and drove ourselves to ferry port and then to hotel. Easy easy. It's very difficult to get lost on this small island. Not really lively enough for groups of teenagers but perfect for older couples and people with very young children. All in all this was one of the most relaxed places we have stayed and all the guests were very polite too.

Room Tip: All rooms adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamofmetonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is one of the best hotels in the world! We have stayed in many countries and many hotels. It is very comfortable, clean, friendly but not too overwhelming, nothing is too much trouble. Our 22 year old daughter came with us last year and she also saidit wasoneof her favourite holidays. We have been twice and will be back many times more,we have our favourite room.
The pool and gardens are lovely, it is a real chill out place which is very close to Lixouri centre but in a quiet location.
Janet and Gerri and the rest of the team make the holiday!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surestart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My partner and I stayed at La Cite for one week through Cosmos and Thomsons. The hotel is perfect for a quiet relaxing holiday, for both couples and for families. The atmosphere in the hotel is fairly relaxed and the gardens are beautiful, with a small deep pool (perfect for the capacity of the hotel), fruit trees growing all around the grounds, and a small secluded area away from the pool which offers a large oversized chess board as well as a lawn for general sun bathing. The hotel staff are friendly especially Janet who made our trip so special, and who we think deserves a raise... we love her, she was so helpful to us and always willing to go out of her way and offer good customer service with a huge smile. The hotel is situated close to the Main Square and ferry port in Lixouri, which is just a five minute walk away (roughly 250 metres). Lepeda beach is a thirty minute walk or short taxi ride from the hotel, whilst Xi beach is roughly 9km away from Lixouri and a local bus runs there daily at 09.10 am and comes back at 14.45, Xi beach is well worth the effort.

In regards the actual hotel and the pool, my only criticisms are that the pool opens late and closes early (10.00-19.00), and that the lobby/social area has no air-conditioning, and in fact air-condition in general costs extra and is not included in the price of the room. Air-con costs roughly 42 euro’s extra per week (6 euros per day), but if you have a room with a cross breeze it might be worth trying a night without it as we managed quite comfortably due to the fact that we kept the balcony door open and a small window on the side of the room.

Breakfast at the hotel consists of: Cereal with warm full fat milk (Cornflakes mainly, although coco-cornflakes was available on one day, there is a box labelled muesli but it was full of cornflakes); Also available was white ‘cutting’ bread (un-toasted) with Lurpak butter, Nutella, apricot jam and honey available as a spread. Other breakfast items available were: tinned peaches; natural yoghurt; cake, and hard boiled eggs; with ‘hammy-spam’ and cheese available every other day. Tea and coffee and a fruit juice mixture of grapefruit and orange were available to drink as well. My partner who is addicted to coffee couldn’t drink the coffee as she said it tasted chocolately. A cooked breakfast is available in the hotel but it costs 5.00 euros per head per day and at that price it is worth walking down to the main square and having breakfast out. It would have also been nice if fresh fruit was available.

The hotel is well worth the visit and we would consider coming here again when we have a family. The only tip I can offer is concerning the transfers. With most travel agents the only way to get to the hotel from the Airport is to get a taxi as no coach transfers run to Lixouri. A taxi is a forty minute ride and can add substantially to the overall cost of the holiday. We paid 127 pounds for a return trip to and from the airport. A good tip for those who don’t want to pay the extravagant charges is instead of booking a taxi straight to the hotel, get a taxi to the ferry port at Argostoli (costs roughly 17-20 Euros) and then catch the ferry over to Lixouri (2.50 Euros per person - takes about 30 minutes). The ferrys run every half hour from 7 am, and every hour after 7 pm, and the ferry port is a short walk away from the hotel (what better use for Google maps).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris_Davies_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst on a sailing holiday to escape the evening heat, to shower and enjoy the air conditioning !
We found the hotel to be very friendly, very clean and were delighted to have stayed !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed in July 12. Management were very tolerant of our comings and goings, we had a boat as well and 2 of us slept in the hotel room but 4 of us used the shower and pool. Room was clean and cool and pool nice, really nice bathroom. Hotel seemed quiet and other guests friendly. Breakfast however was a bit basic and repetative.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lixouri
0.3 mi away
Hotel Summery
Hotel Summery
#2 of 11 in Lixouri
247 reviews
2.3 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#6 of 11 in Lixouri
74 reviews
2.6 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Athina Hotel
Athina Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sami
189 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
#8 of 11 in Lixouri
394 reviews
11.3 mi away
Sami Beach Hotel
Sami Beach Hotel
#1 of 5 in Sami
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cite Hotel

Property: La Cite Hotel
Address: 28th Octobriou, Lixouri 282 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lixouri
#2 Family Hotel in Lixouri
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Cite Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com and Priceline so you can book your La Cite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cite Hotel Cephalonia/Lixouri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing