We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best anywhere!”
Review of Hotel Summery

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Summery
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lixouri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

September may be at the tail end of the summer but the week we have just spent in Kefalonia has been one of the most pleasant breaks we have ever had. The main reason for that? The Summery Hotel. A perfect location with perfect staff, so much so that within hours of arriving we felt as though we were among friends, (a trait which seems to extend to all Kefalonians, especially in Lixouri) I have never met such genuinely nice people, and when you consider the difficult times they are going through it is a testament to them, although I guess living in such a beautiful place helps. Don't hesitate to book here if you want a relaxing break, it might be to quiet for some but that only adds to its appeal. We shall return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winston c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T_Faraklou, Owner at Hotel Summery, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear friends,

thank you for your review and for your positive comments. You have been extremely nice and wonderful guests and sure to be missed from the Summery. Now that are summer season 2013 is over (just said goodbye to our last guests today), we would like to thank you, together with all the fantastic people that stayed with us, enjoyed our felt from the heart hospitality and posted their feedback here in Tripadvisor. We cannot thank all our guests -and you personally- enough and we can only wish that Lixouri and the friendly Lixourians, as well as the Summery and its team will never disappoint you, but will only try to get better! Looking forward to hearing from you in the future. Don't forget to mention this review in your next correspondence!

Happy Autumn!

Titika Faraklou and all the Summery team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 295 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay at Hotel Summery. From the minute we entered the small reception area, we were blown away by how friendly, helpful and cheerful all the staff were. The hotel itself could do with a bit of an update but all in all,definitely worth another visit.

Room Tip: Room 219 has a great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernie0353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T_Faraklou, Owner at Hotel Summery, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear guests,

thank you so much for choosing the Summery for your stay in Lixouri and for considering it for a return visit. We will be thrilled to have you back at the Summery and delighted if you contact us directly via e-mail before your next arrival with your room preference or any special request you might have. Please don't forget to mention this review in your next correspondence!

Kind regards

Titika Faraklou and all the Summery team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Being a Trip Advisor addict (!) I had read just about every single review before deciding that this was the hotel for us. So, armed with all this knowledge (and very high expectations), we arrived at the Summery on 8th September and found it all to be true! The staff really are the most friendly, helpful, polite, courteous people and they want to go that extra mile to make sure you have a great holiday. I don't think I have ever met such smiley hotel staff - they clearly enjoy working at The Summery. We were out and about most days but spent one day lazing around at the hotel which is where the location pays off as you can enjoy the pool or the sea plus you can have a delicious lunch in the hotel gardens or round the pool. The location is perfect as it is only a short stroll to the resort centre and the ferry. It was starting to quieten down in Lixouri but that didn't bother us at all. In fact I think this is the most relaxing holiday I have ever had and you relax from the minute you step onto the ferry and take the crossing over from Argostoli. We also enjoyed our sea view room with the stunning views. We visited Lepeda, Petani, Xi and Myrtos beaches as well as touring round the island and loved everything we saw (far too many places to mention individually!). Kefalonia really is beautiful and the Summery owners and staff are justifiably very proud of their island. Thank you to Titika, Maria, Bill, Angela, Eleni and anyone I missed off (and the previous Trip Advisor reviewers!) for giving us a holiday to remember. Janet, Peter, Alice and Lucy

Room Tip: Sea view rooms definitely recommended. They get the sun in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TripAdviserreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T_Faraklou, Owner at Hotel Summery, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dearest Janet, Peter, Alice and Lucy,

the truth is we wouldn't be so smiley if we weren't blessed with the perfect guests! And we are glad you mentioned the Trip Advisor community for the reviews you consulted before your trip, because it works the other way around as well: When people know what to expect and what they are looking for in a destination and they have all the necessary honest and candid feedback, then they are bound to be happy with their choice and the match is made in heaven!
We are really happy your Tripadvisor addiction (!) led your way into the Summery and that we have the pleasure of meeting you all and can only hope to see you again very very soon!

Titika, Maria, Bill, Angela, Eleni and everyone else at the Summery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The staff at the Summery were without exception, friendly, polite and helpful. I have never met nicer people than the Kefalonians anywhere in the world and that is the single reason we have visited the island twice this year! we could learn a lot from them.
The Summery is clean and tidy and everything works just as it should. The breakfast provided is great and should appeal to anyone not wanting a 'Full English' every morning (If you want that, stay in Fiskardo!)
Lixouri is a great base and hiring a car soon gets you out to the major sights, towns and beaches.
We got a taxi from the airport to the port which cost 20 Euros and then crossed as foot passengers for 2.50 Euros each. Got off the ferry, turned left and walked the 5 minutes to the Summery. Very easy indeed.
There is a great beach at Lepeda a lovely 20/25 minute walk away. Come out of the front of the hotel and turn left. You can walk on the beach for the last bit but you might have to wade a bit! There is a fantastic beach cafe which serves really good, fresh food. Try the Meatballs they are superb and the Greek salad is the best I have ever tasted!
I would reccommend this hotel to anyone wanting to enjoy the more 'Greek' side of Kefalonia.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jasierock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T_Faraklou, Owner at Hotel Summery, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear guests,

we are really happy you appreciated our hotel and the " Greek side of Kefalonia". Lixouri is indeed recognised even among the locals as the most untouched and typically Greek town in Kefalonia, so your judgement was pretty right! Another thing in your review that made us really happy and proud, not just as hotel owners but as Kefalonians, is the fact you mentioned you have never met nicer people than the Kefalonians anywhere in the world! Thank you so much for that, especially in times like these!
Looking forward to seeing you again at the Summery and to keeping in touch with you

Best regards

The Summery team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have not long returned home from a week at The Summery, it was a proper holiday. We are well rested, but still buzzing from the sights of the beautiful Island of Cephalonia.

The family and staff at the Summery could not have made us feel more welcome and performed their duties wit style and enthusiasm. The facilities are excellent, the swimming pool, adjacent beach and Lepeda beach just 2K away make the lazy days most enjoyable. All of this washed down with a good Greek beer and tasty light meals prepared to order.

For the more adventurous days there are numerous trips out, the Hotel staff can advise and the very helpful assistant in the Tourist Information (across the road from the quay) will give you
plenty of information.
But our thanks go out to the Hotel staff who with humour and patience made our holiday special.
Thank you all.

Gill and John Glyn from the farm in North Wales.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sigligwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T_Faraklou, Owner at Hotel Summery, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Gill and John,

we cannot tell you how happy and proud we are you are back home feeling "well rested, but still buzzing" from the sights of our beautiful Island! It is the greatest joy when we meet people like you and share our experience from different places and ways of life, like your picturesque farm in North Wales and pretty Lixouri! Thank you so much for staying at the Summery and thank you so much for reviewing us in Tripadvisor.

Hoping to see you again next year

The Summery family and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have just returned from a short break at the Summery and having been there last year, we were a bit apprehensive that it may not live up to our memory - we were wrong. The staff are very friendly and accommodating to your needs, nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is a short walk from the main centre where most of the restaurants are, but if you just want a lighter snack then the hotel is the place to eat. The rooms are good and clean towels are provided every day. Breakfast is varied and always fresh. The location of the hotel is wonderful you wake up to a view of the mountains where the sun rises, it is peaceful and tranquil. This is certainly not a place for young children - there is nothing to do - so it makes it ideal for 'chilling' out. The whole town are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solo279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T_Faraklou, Owner at Hotel Summery, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear friends,

thank you so much for choosing the Summery as your holiday destination for the second time! We appreciate more than we can say and would really love to see you back year after year. We are really happy you enjoyed the view of the sunrise over the mountains and the "after the kids have gone back to school" tranquility of September at the Summery. The truth is that during the school holidays the hotel is buzzing with kids but in May, June, early July and September our guests can experience a "couples only" experience of total relaxation (together with lower rates!).

Wishing you all the best

The Faraklou family and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a little overdue as we (3 adults + 2 children) stayed here for two weeks from the 4th – 18th August. There really isn’t much else to say that hasn’t been said in previous feedbacks about this fantastic hotel. All of the staff are truly wonderful people and make for such a welcoming stay.
On arriving in Kefalonia we were met by our taxis which had been pre-arranged by the hotel. The journey to the hotel took around 45 minutes and the views were beautiful as we travelled on the mountain roads. - We decided not to get the ferry due to making the most of our luggage allowance and having two children in tow however it is extremely obvious how straight forward and easy it would have been to make our own way by taxi and ferry to the hotel; something we would do should we return.
We occupied two rooms on the second floor, one with a sea view, one with a road view, neither had any negative issues as far as we were concerned. They were cleaned daily and towels and bedding were changed very regularly-often daily. (Sheets and towels were clean and very white!) The air con was extremely welcomed and worked perfectly thus allowing a comfortable night’s sleep.
We spent the majority of the time around the pool, or ventured further up the beach spending our days soaking up the sun and swimming, there were plenty of beautiful beaches to visit which were recommended by our fellow guests, Lassi Beach being one of the ones we visited; this was easily accessible by the ferry to Argostoli then a bus ride from the stop next to the ferry terminal.
A must should you visit Argostoli is to see the turtles along the Promenade front (about 400 yards left of the ferry terminal) we saw them in the morning and around lunch time but not in the evening when we ate out in the town centre.
Eating out was mainly average however we had no bad experiences with our food throughout the holiday, there was plenty of choice of restaurants and the sea front tables enabled that fabulous sea breeze to take the edge off the extremely warm evening’s. The prices were very reasonable too- our evening meals including wine ranged between 48-60 euros a night, not bad for 5 people! (lunch at the hotel was tasty and served with a huge smile)

This hotel has no entertainment but is the perfect base for exploring the Island. It is all about relaxation and for us, being with family on a warm evening with a glass of wine was simply perfect.
A huge thank-you to all the staff at the summery and hope to see you again in the future. XX

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rupeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T_Faraklou, Owner at Hotel Summery, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear family,

thank you so much for visiting the Summery and for sharing your opinion about it with the Trip Advisor community. We enjoyed having your lovely family as guests at the Summery more than anything. The girls were amazing, so well behaved and cute that have made everyone's day. We are happy we managed to meet your expectations and to provide a quiet setting for you to enjoy quality time with your family. The reason the hotel has no entertainment is for one part its proximity to all the bars and restaurants in town and on the other hand the fact that our guests prefer to use the hotel for relaxation and as a base for exploring the Island. Hoping the memories of "being with family on a warm evening with a glass of wine" will last long and will bring you back to the Summery soon
Best wishes to all of you from all of us

The Summery family and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lixouri
2.5 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#5 of 11 in Lixouri
100 reviews
7.2 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
2.5 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Cite Hotel
La Cite Hotel
#3 of 11 in Lixouri
245 reviews
11.2 mi away
Sami Beach Hotel
Sami Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Sami
294 reviews
11.6 mi away
Garbis Villas & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Summery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Summery

Address: 35 Labraki Grigoriou, Lixouri 282 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lixouri
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lixouri
#4 Family Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range: $45 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Summery 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family run, sea front hotel in Lixouri, offering affordable, good quality holidays and cultivating authentic human connection since 1981. 24 hour reception, multilingual staff, expanded gardens with grown trees, children's playground, swimming pool, free parking, rooms with balconies, beautiful views, A/C, TV, mini fridge, hair dryer, safety deposit box, direct dial telephone, wired and wireless high speed internet free of charge for the hotel guests, daily maid service, wheelchair accessible rooms. Closed for refurbishment. Reopening in May 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Summery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summery Hotel Lixouri
Hotel Summery Cephalonia/Lixouri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing