We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful experience!”
Review of Hotel Summery

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Summery
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lixouri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Hotel Summery is an absolute delight to stay at. We never normally leave reviews but it is a pleasure to make an exception for Summery!
The hotel is a light, airy and impeccably clean building located right at the edge of the sparkling waters of the warm Mediterranean. With their own swimming pool, guests have the choice of pool or sea, or better yet, both!
The rooms are a good size and are cleaned and serviced regularly every day with fresh clean towels on the bed each morning. The air conditioning works well and the fast wireless Internet connection works seamlessly throughout the whole hotel and rooms.
Breakfast and all snacks are fresh and prepared rapidly to order (the Greek salad is our particular delight). The prices of all snacks and drinks are very reasonable indeed and on par with UK but Summery provides bigger portions and fresher produce.
A special comment must be made about the friendliness and enthusiasm of all of the staff and owners at the hotel. Everyone speaks excellent English, so communication is never a problem. Particular thanks to Maria (on Reception), Dora and Dina (in the Bar and Restaurant) for whom nothing ever seemed too much of a problem. They are all most genuine and happy people to see every day! All the other staff that you also meet are equally pleasant and it to my regret that I do not know their names so as to also thank them individually.
The hotel is located close by a well stocked supermarket and is only 5 minutes walk to the delightful port area where there are many excellent restaurants and cafes open to the fresh breezes.
A large ferry runs every half hour between Lixouri port and Argostoli port (look for the turtles in the harbour) and costs only Euro 2.50 each way for the pleasurable 20 minute trip.
This was such a delightful holiday experience, thanks to Hotel Summery that we will most certainly be repeating our visit - hopefully several times!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are delightful and worth requesting in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PeterMac29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgiannaGreece, Owner at Hotel Summery, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear guests,

thank you for choosing the Summery for your Cephalonia vacation and for your encouraging comments. A positive word can go a long way in boosting the morale of a working person and I can assure you that all the Summery girls you mentioned in your review as well as us the owners and every other staff member are having a blast today!

Hoping to be able to welcome you at the Summery many more times in the future trying to give the break from your busy life you so much deserve,

Best Regards

Yanna, Titika, Maria, Dora, Dina & Co

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 295 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

Never normally leave reviews but felt we simply must do after the lovely week we spent at the summery from the 24/6/12 to 1/7/12. We can not recommend this hotel highly enough. Its in a fantastic location just a couple of minutes walk from the town centre with a good selection of restaurants and taverns. The hotel is very clean with rooms cleaned every day with fresh towels and all communal areas and the pool area is spotless. The pool is a good size and never had any trouble getting a sun bed. The room was very comfortable with free air conditioning (which is a first for us!), free safety deposit box, a lovely view over the pool and out to the sea and slept well every night. Breakfast was excellent and a nice change from the english fry up! Bar and food prices were very reasonable and in most cases cheaper than the restaurant in the town. But the best thing of all were the staff at the hotel. Every member of staff we came across was so genuinely friendly and helpful and made the stay that extra bit special. Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and hope to come back in the future.

andy and julia.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank uruseiyatsura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear Andy and Julia,

thank you so much for your wonderful review and your heartwarming comments and also thank you so much for visiting the Summery! We were really happy you appreciated the free facilities, like the air-con and the safety deposit box in the room, because we believe in giving our guests the best possible rate and not mislead them with hidden extras. We find it absolutely outrageous when 5 star hotels internationally charge for the internet which is like the air that we breathe these days. Because we love and embrace technology we have decided a long time ago to provide it free for all guests. After all Greece is the birthplace of democracy!

Best Wishes from all of us at the Summery

Yanna & Titika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

For the price, this is a perfectly adequate hotel. The rooms are not super glam but they are clean. The gardens are lovely. The wifi works everywhere. I liked the breakfast, but my other half would have preferred some fresh cooked eggs. The pool is nice and clean.

Overall, it was the friendly staff and all the super friendly other guests that pushed this from a 3 star to a 4 star review.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank pilotlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear guests,

thank you for choosing our hotel for your Lixouri vacation and for taking the time to review it on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments very much, even more so because, like you, we believe that the staff of a hotel is only half the human factor of the ambience of the place. The other half is the guests and our guests are simply the best!!! Thank you for contributing to the "Summery Club" atmosphere and hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards from all of us at the Summery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

If you are looking for a hassle free break in the sun, the Hotel Summery will suit you fine. All staff are friendly and keen to help in any way. The rooms are fine but the beds hard, this can soon be solved though by folding the big blankets in the cupboard (lets face it you will not need them!) long ways and placing them under the sheet on the mattress, then no problem. Air conditioning in the bedrooms is excellent and provided at no extra cost which is brilliant for a 2* hotel. WIFI also at no extra cost! The bathrooms are hot though as no window or ventillation so best leave the door open to allow the air-conditioning to enter.
Noise can be heard in the bathroom from other rooms, even conversations! The hotel has advised guests to keep quiet when in the corridors (to no avail though) and you often get woken up by people going to breakfast at 07.00 (why? you are on holiday!) and chatting, or worse children shouting but there is nothing you can do about this.
The pool is a nice area but unfortunately people do tend to claim the sunbeds early and then leave towels on them even though they are away for hours at a time. Not the hotels fault of course just the way people are! The other thing which annoyed me was that although there are signs up saying NO INFLATABLES IN THE POOL this again is over looked by ignorant holidaymakers, one time there were 4 people using them in the pool! I guess the hotel needs to monitor this occasionally to make sure this sort of thing is adhered to as this ruins the enjoyment if you wanted to swim in the pool. All minor problems though.

Short distance away from the tavernas on the waterfront and by far the best was the Oasis Restaurant with great food and the best smiley service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mangomark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear guests,

thank you for review and for your candid and well meant comments that are duly noted! Regarding hotel's matresses please see response to "Super Summery" review, but we cannot but feel impressed with your resourcefulness, so thanks for posting your blanket tip to the travel community!

We promise that next time you visit we'll make this layering for you in advance and try to pamper you with a "princess and the pea" softness! :))

Best Wishes

Titika, Yanna & Co

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Have just returned from a lovely week on the beautiful island of Kefalonia - could have stayed for a month (or more). The hotel is classed as a 2 star because they don't have a restaurant, otherwise its a good 3 star. Lovely clean spaces and rooms - clean towels every day! Cleaners worked their socks off. The staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. We loved Dora, the barmaid, a real gem. There was a good Greek-style breakfast of watermelon, fruit cocktail, croissants, various breads and cake, boiled cold eggs, jams, cold meats, cheese, olives, yoghurt, cereals, tea, coffee, juice etc. and a couple of times fresh figs picked that morning. There is a lunch menu - special of the day plus other snacks. The swimming pool area is lovely and you only need to walk through the trees at the end of the pool and you're on a beautiful sandy beach (this is a beach for locals so need to take own umbrella). We were in Room 313 on the third floor and had a fantastic sea and mountain view in both directions It was extremely sunny and hot in the morning on the balcony, but there are shutters, curtains and aircon - a real godsend. The only downside to our room was that the beds were rather firm and we didn't sleep too well the first couple of nights but got used to it. Also the glass doors to the shower needed a bit of attention as they came off their guides a couple of times. Other than this we have absolutely no complaints at all and will go back to the Summery again - tomorrow if we could. We truly loved the place. Lixouri is quieter than Argostoli, Scala and Lassi, but is a pretty town with a central piazza with various restaurants, cafes, and a fantastic ice-scream parlour called I SCREAM YOU SCREAM - all the Italian ice creams you can eat. Our restaurant recommendations Zorbas in the main street of the piazza and Maxims on the seafront. No nightlife as such, although there was a great Greek bazouki band in one backstreet bar. If there are any events they take place in the piazza. A few nice gift shops and jewellery shops, but otherwise shopping needs to be done in Argostoli - ferries from Lixouri to Argostoli are every 30 minutes. Easy to hire a car from Mercury, but most car companies want you to rent for 2+ days (pay for 2 get 1 free). Platani Beach, Fiscardo and Assos are not to be missed. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Get a third floor seaview room you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AshValeSophie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear guests,

thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough review of our hotel and Lixouri. We appreciate it more than we can say and we are sure many travelers will benefit from your recommendations. One detail you might be interested to know: Our mattresses are orthopedic that's why they are extra firm. They are actually better for your back once you are used to them than the softer varieties, unless you have a medical condition that specifies otherwise.

Best Regards
Titika & Yanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

What a super break. 9 days on a lovely island, in a lovely town and an excellent hotel. As seasoned travellers this has to be one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The cleanliness was excellent, the hotel staff outstanding, the location perfect. If I were to have one criticism it would be that the shower was a bit small, but that is very minor compared to the overall excellent standard. We simply cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear guests,

we enjoyed very much having you at the Summery too and thank you so much for your kind words! Next time you visit contact us directly beforehand and we will try to find a bigger shower for you (all the sea view rooms are pretty much the same with small variations, but it helps if we have the time to do a search for a bigger one).

Hoping to see you again soon. Best Wishes from all the Summery staff.

Yanna & Titika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We have always enjoyed our stays at the Summery. This year however was better than ever. The staff are attentive to your needs. The hotel since its refurbishment is lighter and brighter. In times past breakfast was good but basic, now there is lots more choice. If you choose Lixouri choose the Summery.

Room Tip: We always prefer a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Dearest friends,

as founding members of the 'Summery Club' you always make our day when you contact us regarding a reservation. This year was really special, because we haven't seen you for a while and we had so much catching up to do! We hope the Cephalonian sea gull brings memories of the bay of Lixouri and the Summery to the beautiful countryside you now call home.
Hugs & Kisses

Titika & Yanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lixouri
2.5 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#5 of 11 in Lixouri
100 reviews
2.5 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
7.2 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
#7 of 11 in Lixouri
446 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Cite Hotel
La Cite Hotel
#3 of 11 in Lixouri
245 reviews
5.6 mi away
Petani Bay Hotel- Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Summery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Summery

Address: 35 Labraki Grigoriou, Lixouri 282 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lixouri
#4 Family Hotel in Lixouri
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range: $45 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Summery 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family run, sea front hotel in Lixouri, offering affordable, good quality holidays and cultivating authentic human connection since 1981. 24 hour reception, multilingual staff, expanded gardens with grown trees, children's playground, swimming pool, free parking, rooms with balconies, beautiful views, A/C, TV, mini fridge, hair dryer, safety deposit box, direct dial telephone, wired and wireless high speed internet free of charge for the hotel guests, daily maid service, wheelchair accessible rooms. Closed for refurbishment. Reopening in May 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Summery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summery Hotel Lixouri
Hotel Summery Cephalonia/Lixouri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing