We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in Kefalonia”
Review of Hotel Summery

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Summery
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lixouri
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel in Kefalonia”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks holiday in the Hotel Summery (again) wished we were still there - we have lost count how many times we have stayed at The Summery but we have such a lovely time every time we go- the location is superb and the people who run it are 'absolutely lovely' nothing is too much trouble and such a warm welcome they really are like good friends and such a relaxed feeling about the whole place - we have stayed in several places in Kefalonia over the years but our favourite without a doubt is 'THE SUMMERY' we hope to return again later in the year - so all you people out there looking for sunshine/relaxation/and a happy time look no further than this great hotel - we will be back lots of of Love (Barbie and Ken)xxx

Room Tip: 3rd Floor seaview rooms - or corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieEssexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgiannaGreece, Owner at Hotel Summery, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
What a honor for the Summery to have as guests Barbie & Ken themselves, and not just once but repeatedly! It will most likely be the theme of our marketing strategy from now on, we want to be the Barbie & Ken hotel! :)) Every single member of the Summery team loves you, dearest friends, and hopes to see you again in August. xx

Titika & Yanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    78
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
58
156
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk, england
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

First the negatives!
Room was a bit small, furniture a bit 'tired', no kettle in room. And thats it for the negatives!!!
Now for the positives!!
Position: the hotel is situated right on the sea front with only the private gardens and pool between you, the sea, and the most incredible views of a beautiful island. A short walk (3-5 mins maximum) takes you to the 'square' with the bars/restaurants both along the route and in the square. A couple of minutes more and you are at the ferry terminal to Argostoli. The hotel is quiet yet relatively central, although as Lixouri itself is quite small thats not difficult.
Hotel: I understand the hotel has a 'rolling' maintenance programme and the exterior, the reception, the dining room and the terrace all were in excellent state of repair and very attractive. I only saw our room and it was clean and well decorated albeit a bit small as previously mentioned.
Island: A beautiful island with a number of very attractive little ports/harbours and other attractions. In particular Fiskardo (north of island), Sami (east of island), Skala (south east tip with good beach), Assos (just south of Fiskardo on west coast- the walk to the fort is TIRING and on entering the fort the path changes to cobbles and is even harder walking, there is a recently built visitors centre which is permanently closed as the Greeks have no funds for it's upkeep. So if you intend to walk around the fort bear in mind there are no toilets available, nor anywhere to buy water. Best road on the island is that going to the peak of the 'Black mountain', starts as a normal road but on reaching the first radar installation becomes an immaculate, wide and smooth road right to the top. The views are SPECTACULAR!!
Finally the Greek people! Lovely, lovely friendly people who are so pleased to see tourists still coming to Greece. I have to mention the staff at Summery and apologise if I spell names incorrectly. Titika and Gianni the two sisters/owners who were usually around the reception area and were always ready with advice, assistance or just a chat. The receptionists Maria and Vassilis who both spoke excellent English, always smiling and laughing. Finally the two bar/restaurant girls Dina and Dora, Dina always ready with suggestions for Greek style snacks (try her fried eggs in a tomato sauce - sounds horrible, tastes beautiful), Dora looking like a much younger Nana Mouskouri who NEVER stopped smiling!!

So I started with negative comments but as you can see the positives FAR out-weighed anything negative; after all do you go on holiday to sit in a hotel room?

We loved our time in Cephalonia and recommend unreservedly the Hotel Summery!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bushyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgiannaGreece, Owner at Hotel Summery, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear friends,

thank you so much for taking the time to review Hotel Summery and for your useful comments. We enjoyed so much having you at the Summery and exchanging hiking tips with you and we're sure your description of the hike to Assos Castle will be useful to many people. We also need to tell you that the guys working at the Summery were really very happy you mentioned them at your review!
Regarding the size of our rooms, most of our guests have pretty much the same attitude as you have ('Hey, it's only a room') and are quite comfortable, but realizing that some people prefer a bigger room we introduced a new type of family room this year with dual spaces and an interconnecting door, that can also work for couples who want more space. Next time you visit we'll make sure we show you around to these rooms. One of them (the wheelchair accessible one) overlooks the garden and the sea view, the other four overlook the town and they are only bookable directly from the hotel for the time being.
Hoping to see you again soon and get more tips on touring Kefalonia from you!
Yanna & Titika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed here for aweek in May 2012.The staff were helpful and very friendly.Rooms were clean and we had a plentiful supply of fresh towels .
Lixouri is a lovely holiday destination.Relaxing with a good choice of eateries.Car hire available to see other areas eg.Fiskardo in the north and Sami on the east coast.The Greek people are friendly and generous with their hospitality.A must is the ice cream shop!!No hesitation in coming here again.
,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretimrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgiannaGreece, Owner at Hotel Summery, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear friends,
thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you as guests at the Summery and we hope to see you again soon. We are glad you appreciated the daily change of towels. Our official star rating prescribes a change every 3 days, but like you we believe that when you visit an island destination such as Kefalonia you need both the shower and the towels at hand all the time!
Best Wishes from everyone at the Summery

Titika & Yanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,240 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Just back from one of our best holidays - ever. Summery played a huge part in this. We arrived on May 6th, the hotel had only opened for the 2012 season the day before.
Beautiful location, beautiful staff, more like visiting friends than staying in a hotel.
Do not be afraid of high cost of transfer between airport and Lixouri; the easy way is taxi to Argistoli port and then use the ferry. Last ferry 22.30 Mon - Sat, 21.30 Sunday.
Our room was third floor, sea view, made even more special by a sail-by by Queen Elizabeth.
Thanks to the owners, staff and new friends we made there.
We'll be back.

Room Tip: Sea view, 3rd floor, gets morning sun, so cool in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgiannaGreece, Owner at Hotel Summery, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing the Summery for your visit in Lixouri and for your kind words! We couldn't have dreamt of a better way to start summer season 2012 than by having guests so nice and appreciative of our efforts as you are. People like you inspire and motivate us to be the best we can be. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Greetings from everyone at the Summery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We spent a week here in July 2011 and were very happy with our choice. We were unable to get a room for the 4 of us( 2 adults and 2 teenage children) so we had 2 doubles next to each other with our rooms facing the water. The views over the bay were pretty and relaxing.The owners, sisters Titika and Gianna were very friendly and hospitable and ensured we had a very good stay.This hotel was very clean and the shutters on the windows were perfect for keeping out the intense morning sun. The pool was well maintained and quite roomy for the kids to enjoy whilst the shady areas were an oasis in the heat of the summer sun.The hotel is perfectly located close to the main harbour with a 5 minute walk to the main square and to the ferry which takes you to Argostoli. Breakfast was simple but good- the freshly baked cake and the juicy watermelon were our favourites! Our favourite beach at Petani was an easy drive from here as were most sites in Kefalonia. Our stay in Kefalonia was beautiful, the water is so aqua and clear it is amazing!! We look forward to revisiting this gorgeous island some day.We would definitely come back to the Summery Hotel again. Thank you Faraklou family for a memorable stay at your lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sfin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadlow Down
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed at the summery the second week of July for are honey moon and loved every minute of it. The owners are beyond lovely and nearly fell over backwards to help us when they found out it was are honey moon. The rooms are basic but super clean. The pool is surrounded by vines and is very well kept. I also have to say all the staff including the cleaning team were just beyond lovely. The breakfast and bar menu were fab fresh and inexpensive (makes a change for a hotel). We loved the main square the restraunts and all the staff it was peacful warm and not a British fry up in sight perfect. We were so happy with are trip we are going back for are 1st wedding anniversary. I highly reccomend it to newlyweds who like us just wanted to chill out in the sun and be well looked after fantastic. Counting down the days till we are back in July 2012 Jeremy and Nicole

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room perfect x
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We have just returned from a weeks holiday staying at this hotel. We booked it based on the reviews on this site and we were not disappointed.This is a budget hotel but do not be put off by this. It is more than a basic hotel with the plus points being its location, cleanliness and the friendly staff from the owners through to the cleaning staff. We stayed in a triple room on the 4th floor with a sea view which was lovely. The fridge was a bonus and the air conditioning was a god send with the temperatures in the 40`s!. Breakfast is a simple buffet style and is best eaten on the cool patio under the vines. The pool was very good, clean and usually quiet. You could sunbathe there on sunbeds , or on the beach which is a walk through the gardens away, again this was always quiet.This beach is basic but the sea there is safe and gently shelved, you can swim out to sea for some distance or drift on your airbed with no problems.There is a childrens play area outside and a large bbq for use by the guests. The hotel has WiFi which is a bonus, a computer for use of the guests and a collection of novels to choose from. There were very few English people staying here during our stay which to be honest was a nice change and it is very relaxed and quiet. The hotel's location is very good with a good supermarket across the road. You are just on the edge of town, with the harbour and its seafront restaurants being a 2 minute walk away. The restaurants there are fine with none worthy of special mention, or you could try some of the smaller cafe type places away from the front which the locals use which offer better value for money.
All in all a very nice quiet hotel with excellent customer service from the staff which l have no hesitation in recommending and would return to without hesitation.Thankyou to everyone at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thompsons3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lixouri
2.5 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#6 of 11 in Lixouri
79 reviews
2.5 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
810 reviews
7.2 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Cite Hotel
La Cite Hotel
#2 of 11 in Lixouri
222 reviews
11.2 mi away
Sami Beach Hotel
Sami Beach Hotel
#1 of 5 in Sami
268 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
#8 of 11 in Lixouri
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Summery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Summery

Property: Hotel Summery
Address: 35 Labraki Grigoriou, Lixouri 282 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lixouri
#4 Family Hotel in Lixouri
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Summery 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family run, sea front hotel in Lixouri, offering affordable, good quality holidays and cultivating authentic human connection since 1981. 24 hour reception, multilingual staff, expanded gardens with grown trees, children's playground, swimming pool, free parking, rooms with balconies, beautiful views, A/C, TV, mini fridge, hair dryer, safety deposit box, direct dial telephone, wired and wireless high speed internet free of charge for the hotel guests, daily maid service, wheelchair accessible rooms. Closed for refurbishment. Reopening in May 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Summery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summery Hotel Lixouri
Hotel Summery Cephalonia/Lixouri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing