We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the storm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Lixouri
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon from the 4th-18th September. You could not fault any of the staff in the hotel apart from the Barman in the Main hotel bar, who like others found him unhelpful and rude. The outside bar staff were very nice and always greeted everyone, always smiling and laughing. Restaurant staff couldn't do enough for you and the food was very good. All the staff worked hard and made everyone feel welcome. The surrounding area of the pool is in need of repair as this is very uncomfortable under bare foot and dangerous for all ages. We booked with Thomson's and although we could not fault them Chris our rep had rather a high opinion of himself and was only interested in making day trip sales which were very expensive. Unfortunately we had a terrible storm whilst we were there and our room flooded, on calling reception the night staff came straight to our room to solve the issue. Nothing was too much trouble for the Management and his team they were all a credit to him. The hotel is quiet away from the main town and this was only accessable by a taxi and 20 euros return or 2.50 euros by a bus thats runs twice a day. This was the only downside to this area. We hired a car for 4 days and explored the island, it was beautiful. Thank you to everyone in the hotel we had a lovely time.

Room Tip: The majority of rooms have a good view but try for a pool view as this hotel is rather isolated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 446 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

As with most places there are pluses and minuses, it really depends on what you consider important I guess!. The reception and staff were excellent, the main bar surroundings were good, but the barman really miserable and often rude. The pool is a lovely size, but the surroundings could do with an upgrade. The Pool bar area also needs some TLC, but the staff there were very friendly and courteous. The beach is close by and very nice, great views and very reasonable sun beds and parasol hire. The Dining room is similiar to a school canteen, overcrowded with tables (which were not required) the food was very average and repetitive, and we were only there for a week, we felt really sorry for anyone staying any longer. The entertainment team tried really hard under difficult conditions, but were very friendly, hard working and enthusiastic. All in all a nice break, but not a memorable holiday....

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Dean84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I with my three children aged 14,11 and 9 years had the best holiday at this hotel, clean, safe and quiet.Staff friendly and the animation staff super for the children but not over the top. The facilities are excellent, there are toilets next to the pool if you look. The pool was clean and very easy to use as not over crowded. We got loungers everyday no problem. Beach one minute walk and very safe and beautiful, again loungers easy to get and cheap.
Rooms very clean and towels changed as required, rooms cleaned daily and cleaners not intrusive. Only one problem - pillows - only one each and very hard, not good for your neck and made sleep difficult for all of us.
Food excellent greek food and plenty of choice. We did not eat chips everyday and the kids enjoyed all the new Greek recipies.
Chris the rep was fab always there if you needed help, reception staff very helpful and friendly.
The hotel was full but did not feel over crowded and there was something for everyone,
Thankyou Kefalonia Palace for a super holiday,will definately come back.
Love the reep family

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Good comfy beds, excellent air con. Room nice and clean, if a bit small but then you're out all day so that doesn't matter. Friendly pool bar staff, generally a friendly atmosphere from all really, except restaurant staff could be a bit brusque. Food was okay, better than other places in kefalonia that I've stayed in but could be more veggie stuff. Playing chess outside was fun, others get involved.
My main issue was with the entertainment, the animation team were lovely, however I didn't expect it to be going on right outside my patio doors so I found this a bit intrusive, it goes onto 1045 in the evening so dont expect to be able to sit and enjoy the tranquil setting. However i did enjoy the quizzes so maybe im just wanting it all! Yes lots of kids but it was August and it's not a adult only hotel.
Overall I'd return, yes there's some issues but had an awesome holiday with my parents and we had fun.

Room Tip: If you can choose a room facing away from the pool to maybe get some peace in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clarebeardevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

What do teachers not want to be around during school holidays?? Kids! Never seen so many toddlers in one place! We found out that there were free child places- had we known this we would never have considered the hotel. Transfer was about 1 hr and 30 mins from airport with Thompson reps very evident at every stage. Although we did get left to our own devices to get the ferry on the return journey.
On the plus side, we thought the room was ok- clean with comfortable beds. Clean towels everyday. Food, although not a great variety was ok. Not so good at lunchtime- we ordered a packed lunch everyday. Most of the staff were pleasant and helpful. We thought the restaurant staff were very efficient and they always served us promptly with drinks. Free wi-fi in main bar area was good. Also free in the taverna by the beach- Averto.

On the not so good side- far too many children- animation great if you have them but awful music blasting around the pool put us off and we headed for the beach. Lovely safe beach for kids but again, packed full of them and couldn't swing a cat between the beach beds! All inclusive didn't extend to the beach beds!
Air con in room was preset and we couldn't get the room cool enough. Ask for 2 'keys!! Bathroom was poorly lit and a bit small.
Not enough sun shades- and if you are not prepared to get up early to reserve one- tough!!
Evening 'entertainment' totally geared to children at the pool bar. The only other space to have a drink was in the non air con bar but the balcony doors were open so it was usually ok- if you could get a seat out there. This was overlooking the pool bar so no escape from the karaoke etc!! Only part of the main hotel area that had air con was the dining room.
No toilets near the pool that we could see- had to go into the main hotel area and it was not air conditioned so boiling in there. Spa? What spa?
No bottled water available- only in plastic cups from a dispenser by the bar. Also drinks were served in plastic cups- even the cocktails!
So- if you like loud music by the pool, child friendly hotel, chips at every meal, bingo, karaoke, mini discos and quiz nights with a beach-(5 mins walk away) that has a buzzing atmosphere and safe for kids, then enjoy your holiday! If you don't- do some research and stay elsewhere! That's what we are doing!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cymru3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

i have given 4 stars as the hotel has many good points, bit the plastic cardto get in to your room very rarely worked, so continual trips to reception to get in drove us crazy! Every thing else was good. The beds were VERY comfy. The resteraunt staff were not he friendliest but the lady at the pool bar was brill, always smiling. Chris the rep was good. Leaving on the 30th Aug with a smile on my face!

Room Tip: further away from pool if you dont want constant music
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rchrdsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We have just returned from a week at CPH. It really is a great place to relax. I can agree with some of the other comments posted though. As far as we were concerned the room was fine, beds comfortable, nice balcony, the only issue was the bathroom door which opened into the middle of a small bathroom. It needed to either open outwards or slide. The staff were great especially the 2 ladies at the pool bar who worked theirs socks off with a smile. The exception was the restaurant manager who never managed a smile. The food although plentiful and yes according to my husband the chips were good was limited in selection. The deserts were very disappointing compared with other hotels we have visited, just 2 sweets one usually smothered in honey and the fruit amounted to a bowel of apples, oranges and kiwis with the odd peach or nectarine which vanished very quickly. There was also a large bowl of tinned fruit salad.
There was a supply of cake and fruit and also icecream (not branded) at the pool bar. Everybody reserved sunbeds by the pool in the morning, we can't blame the Germans because there were mainly English people there! I cannot praise the Thomson organisation enough, they were amazing, always being there at the correct time. There was even a rep at the head of each check in queue at Kefalonia airport in case of problems. We went on the adults only premier discovery excursion which was excellent. Although we probably wouldn't go there again I wouldn't deter anyone else from going, the sea was fantastic too!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janeerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lixouri
0.2 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
21.9 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Hotel Summery
Hotel Summery
#2 of 11 in Lixouri
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
14.5 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#4 of 6 in Agia Efimia
307 reviews
4.1 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cephalonia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cephalonia Palace Hotel

Address: Sandy Beach | Xi Beach, Lixouri 282 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lixouri
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range: $71 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cephalonia Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Cephalonia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cephalonia Palace
Cephalonia Palace Lixouri
Cephalonia Palace Hotel Lixouri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing