We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful peaceful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Lixouri
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Just got back from CPH, what a wonderful holiday we had, just two adults looking to just relax with no stress, it was perfect for that.
The hotel is so clean, room was basic but absolutely fine, looking over the back garden. Our bed was hard but comfy and we slept very well, air con was quiet and worked well.
Staff were great, always happy and helpful, lovely lady in shop and in Pool bar.
Pool was brilliant, beautiful and clean, but yes people did seem to leave towels on chairs through the day, and we had to get more sunbeds or wait for one, which was ok.
The beach is a couple of minutes away and I would say one of the best beaches, and in the evening when going for a walk, no one was there, not sure where everyone was as sometimes as we were told the hotel way full, but never felt that way.
This is the first all inclusive holiday that I have been on, and first of all I didnt like the food, but once I got used to the lay out and what to look for I was fine, sometimes could have done with being a bit warmer, but if you queued and had an omelette or pizza it was perfect.
The drinks were great, pineapple juice from morning til night :) with a few vodkas thrown in!!
There was fruit and cake and biscuits at the pool bar most of the day, but it was the same everyday. You can get tea and coffee at the pool bar as well.
We only had lunch once, and then were either going round the island or on the beach at the BayWatch Bar which did amazing burgers.
We didnt rate the entertainment, as it was mainly for kids, and we didnt have any!
There arent any shops around so definately get a car, we had one for two days which was ample and travelled the island from top to bottom, it is a truly beautiful island and some very warm and friendly people. thank you Chris, our Thompson rep, for getting us a car.
We were told the transfer would be 2 hrs but it was less than that, and fun going over on the ferry.
Its not a place to go for teenagers,drinking etc, its a place to go to relax and enjoy.
Would we go again!! if I needed a really relaxing break then yes, but there are so many places to see :)
It did say there was a Spa, but we didnt find it :(
Thank you to CPH staff for such a lovely time x
Fay and Tim

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jazz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
There are newer reviews for Cephalonia Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 433 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Cephalonia 'Palace' - it's not palatial. Flights were good, transfers were smooth and Chris the rep is often around for questions you might have. Kephalonia is beautiful so do one of the trips or hire a car we did both.

Booked with Thomson having had several fantastic holidays with them and was told it was a 3*plus so to expect pretty much a 4* - that was very misleading information. I should have guessed from the price as of course you do get what you pay for.

The main problem is the restaurant. They continually run out of everything there is no anticipation that food gets taken and needs refilling, they replenish food containers only when they have been emptied and guests are hanging around waitring for more. There's not even a menu by the self service dishes, just childrens pictures of a cow or a pig to guide you. Hardly any variation and poor quality food most of the time. In 2 weeks we never had a smile from any staff, it was hard to get their attention to get a drink, no water was provided. Basically they are runing the hotel on very few staff and they are overworked and very fed up. No sign of the manager the entire time.

Location is great - right on the beach.

Housekeeping is good, kept our rather tired looking room clean,bathroom needs updating as was pretty shabby.

Not enough umbrellas round the pool and sunloungers were all reserved early depsite notices saying staff would remove towels from unattended sunloungers they never did. The music round the pool drive us nuts why do hotels insist on this? - most people have personal music after all.

I felt the hotel was unloved and the staff were dispirited, such a shame but maybe understandable if its because of the current situation in Greece.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CRCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just got back from holiday at this hotel. Transfers to and from hotel were spot on - was worried about a late ferryboat trip having being delayed but last one sails at 12 midnight. Chris,our Thompson's rep was very welcoming and helpful. A meal had been kept aside for our late arrival at 11pm but due to time, avoided it.
Room was big enough for the 3 of us - a camp bed was set up for my youngest. Take a hairdryer as theirs is not ideal especially if you are a big hair fan. Didn't like the pillows - too lumpy. Cleaner kept it basically clean- clean bedsheets and towels every day but must admit we had left an empty Malteser's packet on floor plus 2 used coffee cups which the cleaner failed to see for 3 days!! Bathroom small, toilet seat a bit worn out and light a bit dismal. Needs updating. View was of the back garden - basic - better views from other rooms - perhaps ask for a sea view or pool view??
The restaurant was at times overcrowded. Alot of Slovakians in this hotel - they seem to stick together thus hoard up tables in gangs - guests had a habit of wanting to hit the food from 1st opening time at noon - best to wait til after 1.15pm for a sitting. Food was delicious- freshly cooked. If you are happy to try the Greek cuisine- this will be perfect for you. Being a ex resident of Greece, I can honestly say - the food was perfect. Perhaps more choice needed for children if they are fusspots - but if so, I'm sure like most children, they will survive on the pasta, pizza,chips, and chicken. Breakfast was plentiful with choices from cereals, toast, continental, full English to omeletes. You will never go hungry at this hotel as seemed to be food around all day.
Once finished breakfast. hit the pool or beach. Poolside bar staff are fab- always with banter and a smile for you. AI drinks are served in large cups - like a MacD medium size cup so you can' complain. Plenty of drinks available. Cake, biscuits, fresh fruit and ice cream are free and on hand throughout afternoon. 2 problems with the pool - yep you guessed it - you have to get up to towel reserve your sun lounger. Plus after a while you may notice a greenish colour on anything white on your bathers. Not good!!
Wi fi use is free but if you have a crap phone, best to sit in main bar upstairs as best signal from there. Would go back for a holiday after all said and done.

Room Tip: upgrade - ask for a sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sunsmilesonme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Few but very hard working staff, lovely rooms, next to the beach. Quite remote and only one bus in the morning and one to return in the afternoon but taxi's for 10 euros a trip. Ideal beach holiday, thomsons excursion Sun Cruise was excellent.

Room Tip: we chose a garden room to try and avoid the noise from the pool but it didn't help as the entert...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

From the reception staff, to the bar and restaurant staff down to the cleaning staff, everyone could not do enough to make our stay perfect.
Little touches like the free wifi and free water at the outside pool made a big difference.
Our kids loved the entertainment team-thanks Valantino!
The food was very good and varied.
The location is good too being a minutes walk to the lovely beach

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IanH64_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My third visit. My last was 5years ago. Still spotless, with hot fresh food, spacious air conditioned sea view room. Lovely clean pool. Beautiful soft sand safe child friendly 3 mile beach. Have been in export for 40 years, and stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world. By these top hotel standards, I would rate this hotel at least a true 4 star. Have also stayed in some 5 star hotels that I would rate as a true 1 star !!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Not all rooms are sea view. Try and arrange with the Hotel direct, higher the better.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Having just got back from Kephalonia, I thought the Cephalonia Palace Hotel was good, but not great. The rooms were reasonably big but a little bit tired, and the bathroom was very worn out and in need of a spruce up.
The pool and grounds were lovely and self contained, had a very nice atmosphere to them - they were also very clean and well maintained. The only real downside to the hotel is the dining hall which resembles a school canteen with chair covers, however I suppose that's the only sensible way to serve buffet food. The staff seemed a bit hassled and the hotel was only about a third capacity so I do wonder how they do at busier times!
The food in itself was very nice, the salads were particularly lovely - however it was a bit samey and I found myself having the same veg mix over pasta, under pasta or with cheese on (I'm vegetarian, so arguably thats my problem but all the food was pretty formulaic). The real downer were the drinks which were often flat, and the cocktails were undrinkable - however fruit juices in the main and water (obviously) were fine.
We didn't go for the on-site "animation team" but the entertainment wouldn't be everyone's cup of tea - it's the same each day, but if you like that then its probably fun. Fortunately, there's no feeling that you have to be involved in anything if you don't want to.
Xi beach is clean and a couple of minutes walk, with jet skiing and inflatables to pay to use - it's a pretty spot if you walk a bit away from the sunbeds. I think you'd be a bit silly to stay on site all the time, Lixouri is a pretty little place that comes alive during the hotel's evening entertainment, and on the ferry Argostoli is also a nice place to visit but the hotel is a taxi ride from Lixouri at 10 euros each way.
In summary we loved Kephalonia but didn't love the hotel. We wish we hadn't gone all inclusive, as this made us feel obliged to eat at the hotel, and there is far better food at nearly everywhere else we ate. Not a bad hotel, but we wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catkin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lixouri
0.2 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
21.9 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
4.9 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#5 of 11 in Lixouri
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ionian Sea Hotel & Villas - Aqua Park
6.5 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
14.5 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#3 of 6 in Agia Efimia
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cephalonia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cephalonia Palace Hotel

Address: Sandy Beach | Xi Beach, Lixouri 282 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lixouri
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range: $90 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cephalonia Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Cephalonia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cephalonia Palace
Cephalonia Palace Lixouri
Cephalonia Palace Hotel Lixouri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing