We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopefully just end of season blip”
Review of Hotel Palatino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palatino
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Lixouri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week, location is good, hotel is clean and comfortable. You can hear the other peoples conversations in adjacent rooms. So walls are not that thick. Worst thing was the breakfast, I have eaten all over the world and this was the worst breakfast you could imagine which got worse through the week by day three I gave up even trying to eat anything. Milk on the turn, no food and peaches that were off. Didn't dare try the egg. I hope it's just because it's end of season and to be fair there were only four rooms in use, but if you are open u are open in my view. Same standard should apply through the year.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank Garth59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 140 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

We arrived after a delay of 8 1/2 hours at about 12.30 am tired and pretty fed up was rushed to our room no chance of air con or getting any water so not a good start. Awoke next morning and opened our doors to the most amazing view of the mountains and the ferry arriving so went down to breakfast feeling a little better. Breakfast was ok choice of yoghurt,fruit,ham,cheese,bread,cakes,eggs,tiny hot dog style sausage and greek version of bacon which we found adequate. Staff were very good so nice and friendly special mention to the cleaners always nice clean sheets and towels every day was something we didn't expect and Marina at the pool bar for looking after us at lunch as a was not very mobile due to having an aircast boot on. Hope to go back one day

Room Tip: We stayed in room 224 the view was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DianeSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in August / September for 5 nights. The room was on the small side but not too bad but the view was spectacular. There was a small fridge which was just about big enough to keep water cold but that was fine.
The wi-fi in the hotel was excellent and the air-con in the room was good too.
The pool area is fine although we thought that a lot of the sun-beds were past their best.
This is a great base from which to explore the Pali peninsular which offers loads of great beaches and sights.
The hotel is a 5/10 minute walk from Lixouri town where many restaurants can be found. The square there is a delight.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I do not know were to start about this hotel but I think I will start by saying 3star hotel but 5 star of everything
starting with the location up on the edge of Lixouri and my room was overlooking the town and the sea where I spent every late afternoon relaxing on the balcony looking at that amazing view.
The hotel is absolutely spotless from rooms to restaurant to pool to bars to reception area.
The hospitality of the owners and the staff was amazingly warm that it made us fell as part of the family.
The food was fresh and homely cooked by the fantastic staff daily.
They certainly know how to keep to high standards.
I recommend it highly and I plan to stay there again soon

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Upon arriving at Palatino, we were told we were the only guests staying in the self catering studios and if we wanted we could be moved into the hotel. We decided to move into the hotel and was told by reception we could have breakfast each morning for no extra cost as there wasn't many guests.
In the room we got a fridge, air-con and safety deposit box for no extra cost (Bargain)
Rooms are lovely and clean, the maid cleaned our room every day and gave us clean towels each day, beds changed every other day.
Staff were really polite. The days we spent by the pool were great as nobody else was there so it was like having our own private pool, The pool was clean and although nobody else was there the lady on reception still came out to serve us food and drinks.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody staying in Lixouri, close to the town centre and about 1 mile to the beach.

Room Tip: we didnt have a pool view but we could see the town and sea from our beds so was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura_7113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel is well located in Lixouri. The owners and staff are so friendly and smiling that you feel you have known them for years. Spotlessly clean it was sparkling white inside and the pillows smelled morning fresh!
Breakfast was very good but the best was the relaxed atmosphere and the smile of the people there. We will definitely revisit

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I used the hotel as a base for a learn-to-sail course. The rooms were clean and well serviced with a quiet balcony and the hotel was peaceful and on the edge of town (not a long walk!) with a good view over Lixouri. The staff were friendly and multi-lingual. Good sized pool for a morning dip.
They fell down on security by leaving all the room keys out on the reception desk each day - I began to take mine with me!

Room Tip: I overlooked the bay - but there are also rooms overlooking the pool if you have children I guess th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tritravellerZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lixouri
2.4 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#5 of 11 in Lixouri
100 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
#7 of 11 in Lixouri
446 reviews
2.4 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Cite Hotel
La Cite Hotel
#3 of 11 in Lixouri
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Summery
Hotel Summery
#2 of 11 in Lixouri
295 reviews
7.5 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palatino

Address: Varelada, Lixouri 282 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range: $46 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palatino 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Palatino Hotel in the beautiful island of Kefalonia one of the nicest Greek Islands. Build on the top of a small hill ( 5 mins walk from the center of the second largest town in Kefalonia) Palatino is offering breathtaking views of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Palatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palatino Hotel Cephalonia
Hotel Palatino Cephalonia/Lixouri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing