We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect!”
other travelers have booked this property
Enclosed private pool with automatic lighting  for an evening swim. Elevated and private.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enclosed private pool with automatic lighting  for an evening swim. Elevated and private.
VILLA KEF. Excellently situated in a location chosen by us and built for us for holiday letting. A view of the pool from one of the balconies. Still swimming early October.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Enclosed private pool with automatic lighting  for an evening swim. Elevated and private.
VILLA KEF. Excellently situated in a location chosen by us and built for us for holiday letting.
A view of the pool from one of the balconies. Still swimming early October.
Villa Kef at dusk in October! Lit BBQ area under shade for the day. Automatic pool lights. Luxury!
View from quiet village road 01/10/2018. Land seen to the front is part of the villa grounds.
Myrtos Beach. Pretty special. Photograph not enhanced. True colour.
The BBQ area that is shaded. Gas BBQ nice and secluded. Pool and sun loungers. Lofted location.
Master Bedroom with en suite, fitted wardrobes and air conditioning.+ balcony.
A very private eating area to the rear of the property and not overlooked. Nothing behind.
Petani Beach. Just up the road (15 mins) & voted the best beach on Kefalonia.  Beachside tavernas .
The larger balcony area with sea, private pool and village views. Ideal for breakfast or drinks.
A new 5-Burner BBQ for 2017.
Large excellently equiped kitchen area. Part of the open plan arrangement.
PETANI our favourite local beach with 2 TAVERNAS. Excellent for family swimming.
Marble stairs down to the open plan lounge dining area and kitchen. Splendid view through window.
Living area with sumptuous furniture air conditioning, TV, video player and WIFI.
Myrtos Beach. The holiday brochure's favourite beach with motor cruiser anchored in the bay.
The Twin room with fully fitted wardrobes, air conditioning and a full bathroom opposite.+ balcony.
Essential Assos! A must go place in your hire car that we can help you book..
Melissani Lake. Qute magical.
Lounge area with quality furniture specially imported from the UK.
Lixouri Platia in October. Always a pleasant place to people watch.
VILLA KEF showing private parking area. We are approved by the Greek Tourist Board. Google EOT.
Zakynthos in the distance taken from the VILLA KEF pool area.
Assos at lunchtime. Several tavernas and a place to swim.
Riding out....even for beginners. The horses are quiet and the area is special.
Early evening on the balcony. The village lighting up below and the sea beyond.
Fabulous MOUNT AINOS. Seen from Villa Kef higher than Ben Nevis & you can drive almost to the top.
Things to see - a ROMAN FLOOR in excellent condition.
You need a car to see very special remote views like this!
A turtle swimming in Argostoli.
Just a nice picture demonstrating the variety of views on the Paliki Peninsula.
Just one of the garden plants at Villa Kef.
Olives on the Villa Kef trees in September. There are also lemon trees.
And of course Bougainvilleas
LEPEDA BEACH just outside LIXOURI with a bar.
FISKARDO one place to visit. A lovely feel to it.
LIXOURI PLATIA one October evening! V&S Bar.
Not many visitors know this place or visit it. Quite special Ag. Sofia.
A view from the road above Assos. A special little port but can get a little crowded. Go visit it!
Things to see - Cave church. Few visitors would find this little gem. Just outside Argostoli.
Another table view, BUT eat out locally for 10-14 Euros if you go to village tavernas incl.wine etc.
Note the spectacular natural colours. Myrtos beach again.
Get married in Kefalonia? Donna - Kefalonia Weddings.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Lixouri, Cephalonia, Ionian Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen310
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed September 1, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We spent 3 fantastic weeks at this villa and it was one of the best holidays we have had.
The villa itself is spacious, immaculately clean and is like a home-from-home. The kitchen is well equipped and the bbq was a bonus. Our boys were delighted that the WiFi connection was so good and the pool was a good size. There are also lots of different places to sit or lie in the sun or shade. It is in a quiet location at the edge of the village and the local taverna is good and very reasonably priced.
The location is perfect for touring the island but you will need a car. It's 10 minutes drive to Lixouri which is a great little town with two bigger supermarkets where you can buy all of your provisions, alongside smaller shops for fresh fruit and veg. We found there were an abundance of places to eat in Lixouri and it never felt packed- in fact none of Kefalonia felt crowded, even though it was July/August.
There are stacks of beaches to go to. Our favourites were Vatsa and Megas Lakkos, both about 10-15 minute drive away - the latter being very spacious and lots of parking. Xi has watersports if you have older children who like that sort of thing but the beach itself isn't great and quite busy. We never got to Petani or Atheras but know they are supposed to be beautiful. Make sure you visit Captain Nikolas Tavern near Vatsa- amazing!
John and Lesley were very helpful at the time of booking and I also emailed when we were there to ask about something and they got straight back to me. The ladies that act as caretakers were also very helpful and even loaned us a cool box for the beach.
I would highly recommend Villa Kef to anybody who wants a quiet, comfortable base on this beautiful island.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2018
Thank you Helen. You were also a joy to have as quests. We try to react to visitors quickly as you mention and this includes having 2 cool boxes packed to take to the island soon. One for each villa. Petani is a must if there is a next time and there are many more special beaches to visit on the Paliki. Not to mention the water park at Kounopetra not far from Vatsa that younsters love. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 7, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2018
Thank you. It was a pleasure to help you have a great holiday. This is always our aim.John & Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FamilyT66
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great views, pool and a bar nearby”
Reviewed August 19, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We spent two lovely weeks here in this comfortable villa, making good use of the pool from which you can look out over the sea as far as Zakynthos. 10 minutes careful driving from Lixouri, where you can find everything you need, but also ten minutes walk from the village where there are two shops and a bar/restaurant. the local feta for sale is fantastic; the house bbq was well used. Many beaches nearby within close if not always easy driving distance; mornings and evenings were the best time to visit in the fantastic heat. Being on the edge of the village meant quiet evenings with only a few passing cars and mopeds. owners were very helpful and provided us with an excellent map of the island, which we used to explore from north to south.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Thank you very much both for choosing Villa Kef in Havdata on the Paliki as your holiday villa and especially for taking the time to write this review for us. Much appreciated. Our very best wishes.
John & Lesley.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyawcs2...
Launceston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peace & tranquility, Sun, pool & a chilled beer! Heaven”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was our second visit to Villa Kef, liked it so much the previous year we decided to stay for three weeks this time, my only regret, we did not make it four weeks!
Love the place, it is like turning the clock back, the pace of life is steady to say the least & I live in Cornwall where we do everything dreckly!
Fantastic pool, clean & well equipped villa, locals friendly, great BBQ. Billy's bar just a short walk away great pizzas & cool beer, great value also.
John & Leslie are very accommodating and will hopefully book again in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being on our own
Liked least: I liked everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2016
Thank you very much Andy & family. We try to give all our visitors a great experience rather than just renting out our villa in what we think is a lovely region of Kefalonia. Thanks again for your kind comments. We do hope that you will come to Villa Kef again sometime.
John & Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sotman30
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as expected - disappointed”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Villa Kef in July for a 2-week holiday. Upon arrival, the villa seems to be an attractive property in an unremarkable location 5km from Lixouri town. The surrounding area and the villa's garden and pool area were unkept, full of weed and dead plants bare of anything that makes a place welcoming and lived in.Unfortunately the same theme continued inside the property which was mediocre, badly maintained (for example dinner leather chairs peeling) and not clean to an acceptable standard. Note that the services provided are limited; just a drop off of clean sheets and bathroom towels once a week (no cleaning included). Effectively it seems that you pay for a roof over your head.The owners do not seem to have a professional local company to look after their property and consequently from the moment you arrive you get the feeling that the property has been shut and unused for long periods of time and was totally unwelcoming and not prepared to greet paying guests. On the positive side the villa offers plenty of space and excellent wi-fi connectivity.
Overall we found the property to be an average holiday home that needs maintenance and updating. The property didn't meet our expectations of a luxury villa as advertised.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2016
These visitors were always polite.
However, they booked in 3 people and were onto us immediately upon arrival demanding a further bed to be made up as there was to be 4 visitors and asking questions concerning information that had been provided before arrival together with one of the best maps for the island that we post out.
For a self-catering rental property they expected a daily maid service it seems and did not realise that self-catering requires visitors to buy their own essentials. They complained after a few days there were no more toilet rolls. We provide much more than other villas and there is a welcome pack of essentials on arrival.
The caretaker reported that they had said that they wouldn't have chosen our luxurious SCS leather furniture that we took there new from the UK or chosen the same curtains. It was even reported that they turned furniture upside down looking for cleanliness.
We had been to the villa a few weeks prior to them and we left it in excellent thoroughly cleaned weed free condition and the plant shown was very much alive as it had been for 6 years.
The tying of the gate was nothing that we had provided. The chair pictured is disappointing (and is the worst example of the five) as they are not old and are being replaced as is the fly net that somebody had tried to walk through! The superb solid marble dining table that goes with the chairs is of course not shown, nor are the REH Kennedy lamp tables the largest and longest furniture supplier to Harrods!
The villa was spotless for their arrival and the caretakers had even washed the floors on their hands and knees that day. They reportedly complained that their child came in from the fully tiled pool patio area with dirty feet.
We have been told by a local estate agent that we have the best villa for rental in the area. We do not have anywhere near the same luxury ourselves here at home in the UK.
The location is quiet and we also own the neighbouring building where work is only carried our when visitors are not at Villa Kef.
I suggest that you read the other reviews as we had a family return for 3 weeks this year rather than the 2 weeks that they stayed at Villa Kef in 2015. We usually receive fabulously positive feedback.
We chose the location, had the villa built, and Lesley always sheds a tear when we leave. The location, the people, and the surrounding area is quite special.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigaila0...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed May 27, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lovely villa. Has every thing you need. Car is a must to enjoy the beauty of the island. There was a local bar in village walking distance where we had a take away pizza one evening (very good. )Very friendly and not expensive. In lixouri 5km away a good selections of bars and great places to eat. The ferry a drive on and pay on boat for car and two passengers was less than 9 euros each way. We thought the villa and island was great value for money.
Loved it a week wasn't long enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Villa in beautiful Greek village”
Reviewed February 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2014

We spent 14 glorious days at Ville Kef, which we found to be spotlessly cleaned and very well equipped and comfortable for the duration of our stay.

The villa has fabulous views from terrace and the gardens surrounding the property, which together with the swimming pool create a lovely relaxing setting to enjoy our holiday in.

We cam home feeling relaxed and re-energised from our break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location within the Greek village
Liked least: The Greek Roads
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing