We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Summery(Lixouri)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Cite Hotel(Lixouri)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (885)
Filter reviews
885 results
Traveler rating
645
182
42
14
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
645
182
42
14
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor cinemaart galleryhappy hourhalf pricexi beachbreakfast and dinnerhead chefbuffet stylelovely hotelprivate poolrelaxing holidayhired a cargames roomla pergolahalf boardalcoholic drinksupgraded to a suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
505 - 510 of 885 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

we have just returned, and cannot wait to return! Kefalonia is beautiful, and this hotel was the perfect base for us, as it is quiet and away from any bustle, The staff were fantastic, and could not do enough, the food was great - even plenty of vegetarian options. We received a free upgrade to a suite which was a lovely surprise, and a great start to the holiday. The rooms were spotless, as indeed was the entire hotel, and the local beach lovely and clean. Overall a fantastic holiday - the only complaint being that we were disturbed one night by the singer in the bar until gone midnight, but it hardly ruined the holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loulou0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

Thank you very much for your contribution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned home from this hotel having spent a week there. Please ignore the negative reviews as if they aren't fictional, they're simply crap! This is one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. Our suite, room 403 had two floors, our own private patio and jacuzzi. The pool area was spotless and quiet. The restaurant is lovely as were the staff.
I am struggling to find anything bad to say about this hotel, except that Georgio, the evening entertainment has to be the most awful pianist and singer I've ever heard. He murders all of the 80s power ballads he touches.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hulk-0927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandrosGM, Front Office Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

Thank you very much for your contribution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the Apollonion and cannot fault this hotel, it was spotless everywhere, the service was out standing and the rooms were lovely.
No problems with sun beds, when people started to reserve them the hotel sent a message to all the rooms TVs reminding residents not to, some still did though.
Pool was a great size not too deep, so good for children, 1.5m was the deepest.
Great selection of food and excellent waiter service.
Spa treatments great.
Drinks were quite expensive at the hotel, large beer 5 euro and a glass of wine also 5 euros, cocktails were 8-12 euros although happy hour was 4-6 every day where drinks were half price except wine and soft drinks which remained full price.
The only shop in the hotel sells nice bags and purses etc.You can buy water from the bar but around 2.5 euros for a litre. The nearest little shops are at the next hotel 5 mins walk away, not much selection here, no cold drinks in the fridges, they are all out on the shelves about 80c for a litre of water here, only sell 1 litre bottles. I always walked another 2 mins further on to the shop at the beach, they had a good selection of cold drinks including beer, but again not a big shop and only basics. Water for a litre here is 1 euro but at least it's cold.The big supermarkets are in lixouri and that's 6k from the hotel, taxi 10 euro each way.

Beaches,I found XI beach very crowded, the sun beds are on top of each other on a narrow beach, but this is where the water sports and games are. we always walked left to megos lakkos beach,walk about 10 mins up the beach and its lovely or go about 15-20 mins and have the beach almost to your self, we did.

We booked 3 excursions with Thomson instead of hiring a car, here is my opinion on each of the excursions we went on.

Discover Kefalonia - all day trip, was very good apart from the visit to Mertos Beach, in the description that Thomson give you about the trip it states; visit the famous Mertos beach with its steep cliffs,it is nothing less than gorgeous, well from that description I was looking forward to seeing it and taking some nice photos of the family on it. Not the case we stopped in a crowded lay by on a narrow road about 1000m up a side of a cliff for 4-5 mins only looking down at Mertos Beach, yes great view of the beach, people looked like ants and I got some great landscape photos but very disappointing not to visit it as your lead to believe in the description, very mis leading. The rest of the excursion I could not fault. The rep try's to get you to eat in the restaurant that she obviously gets a back hander from, but i suggest have a look around, the other restarants are not as expensive as the rep makes out them to be, and the wasps are a pain in fascardo when your eating.

Sun cruise excursion - expensive for what it was, we thought it was done on the cheap, wish I had not bothered with this excursion, the boat was not that comfortable, the glass bottom was about 6 small windows on the side under the water, the sea was rough and a lot of people felt sick, we sailed around a bit looking for Dolphins that we were told by the locals, you won't see them at this time of year, then we went to a ship wreck without a ship, only a few pots remained on the sea bed, snorkelling was not too bad, the beach we went to on rabbit island was non existent, only sea weed 1m high to lay on if you wanted to, it was so small he had to BBQ on the boat, we stayed there for 4 hours. Oh the BBQ was 3 thin skewers of chicken each with some salad and home made wine. Then we sailed home and that was that, Family of four 200 euros, worth 100 possibly no more.

Fiscardo by night excursion - well worth doing, it's a lot quieter in the evening and you can have a drink with your meal and not worry about driving back. Only downside is that it was about a 2 hour trip from lixouri. And again the rep was trying to get us to eat in the restaurant she was suggesting talking about discount, don't be fooled look around and make your own choices.

That's about it, to some up great hotel, not too much around the hotels apart from the beach, but very relaxing and again in the evenings a relaxing atmosphere, piano music sends you to sleep, well behaved children, quiet hotel, no childrens clubs, daytime entertainment making a noise just peace and quiet and relaxation all round.

Finally I must mention the taverna Antenellos just about 5 mins walk left out of the hotel, great friendly service, lovely English lady owns it, fast Greek pita eyros a must, very tasty, we went almost every day, about 20-25 euros for a family of 4 for lunch with drinks and an ice cream, lovely.

Hope this helps

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UkBeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

Thank you very much for your contribution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

First time to Kefalonia, superb choice of Hotel and resort! All staff were very friendly and helpful always with a smile, true professionals, food excellent, chefs always obliging, the whole hotel including rooms are spotless. entertainment was great a good international repertoire enjoyed by all nationalities.
Didn't use the spa unfortunately but well set out and equipped. A very quiet area with a lovely beach and like the hotel very restful, used car hire (next to hotel again very helpful) to visit main places around this most beautiful Island, easy driving (as long as you keep left :)) ferry ride between Agostoli and Lixouri very pleasant which we done often.
This was booked as a package with Thompson, was a little reluctant but a very pleasing outcome indeed. we were taken care of all the way.
A big thank you to all the staff. Ευχαριστω παρα πολλη πεδια, πολλι ωραια ολη, Φιλακια.
A SUPERB STAY!!!!!!!! :)

Room Tip: They have suites with pools, you may like to try them, they look amazing but book early!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angie1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

Thank you very much for your contribution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The average rating for this property I give in the light of that it claims it is an 5-star establishment, which in my opinion it is not. But it is a good 4-star. The hotel building is only a couple of years old, with few signs of tear. Nice, spacious rooms, cleansed daily and well. Nice pool area, and sun, lots of sun.
The nearby Xi beach is beautiful, with orange sand and unique clay "rocks" which make it really special. It is crowded, though, by Greek and Russian tourists, largely families. This is also the only place worth seeing in walking distance from the hotel; to visit the nearest town Lixouri you need a taxi (15 Euro one way) or car rental. There are no pubs or restaurants to visit by foot outside this hotel.
The hotel food was fresh and fine, but nothing special. Comparable 4-star hotels in e.g. Canary Islands offer larger variety of great food. Supplies were limited; guests emptying the most attractive food well before closing time.

Room Tip: Room 111 has enormous veranda overlooking the hotel area. Sea view. Can be noisy in the evenings.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiktaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-apollonion, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you very much for your recent review and we very much regret the fact that we did not fully meet your expectations. Comments, of a good faith like yours, are always welcome and help us to make improvements in our services and facilities. Since other guests might be mislead with your comment about the cost of taxi transportation between the Hotel and the closest town Lixouri, I would like to mention here that the actual cost is 10 euro each way and not 15 euros as mentioned –probably by mistake- by you. The transportation means and costs are very clearly announced in the Hotel’s lobby and a copy of this announcement will be forwarded to you as well.
Sincerely
Alexandros Papanikolaou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews