We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best service ever, friendly&helpful staff and lovely rooms!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apollonion Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lixouri
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best service ever, friendly&helpful staff and lovely rooms!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed in The Apllonion Resort& SPA for 10 lovely days.
To get there from the airport you would need to hire a car(do it in advance because during the holiday season car rental companies may not have the car you want). It takes 45min from the airport to get to the resort.There are 2 ways of doing so. First : airport-ferry from Argostoli to Lixury(first @ 7.00 last one at 22:30,frequency:every 0,5hr; ticket 8E&car,4E per person, journey takes 30min). Second way is to go around the bay that there are hardly any lights so sat nav + good car is an essential part of this journey.
What you can find around? Xi beach is 5 min from the resort with bars and water sport facilities; Lixury:15min;Argostoli: 45minn; car rental:next to the Resort
Things to see : Platiamos beach (make sure you have trainers to be able to go up and down 400 stairs); Myrtos beach: BIG WOW!!!is a must to see!(make sure you carry swimming goggles the Medditerranian water is salty and hurts your eyes). Fiscardo: good place for dinning in the evening. Drogerati cave(5e entrance fee) and Melissani lake (7 e entrance fee).Zakhyntos :there are only 2 ferries a day! 8:00 to Zakhyntos from Pessada and 19:30 return ferry.
Apollonion Resort and Spa:.
Rooms are specious and fully air-conditioned with superb bathroom, wireless connection is goood. Everyday friendly housekeeping professionally maintain a room cleanliness and even when spotted some wine in the fridge we were given wine glasses without even asking !Wonderful ! Breakfast 7-10 am is a superb and high quality.The head chief goes a step ahead to meet the guests taste. Breakfast staff f.e. Andrea, Fay, Andrew always make your day with bright smile and professional service. Dinner: you got everything you can imagine plus tasty desserts, ice - creams, fruits. Prompt service and keeping the eye to the details make your experience unforgettable. Mr. Sorin very hardworking and professional!Go to the open dining space area to be served by Razvan with who you can always have a good chatt.The best of the best is George - he really made our stay wonderful!
Swimming pool , night cinema and pool bar(happy hours 16-18.00), themed nights,live music plus gym makes the stay perfect!
We will stay again.

Room Tip: take Estia second floor - you will have the view over the pool, sea and resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TripMaker_Darek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    153
    38
    11
    2
See reviews for
290
356
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I would rate this as a 4 star overall. Hotel very clean and modern, staff very friendly and helpful and breakfast unlimited choice and yummy. We had a junior suite with a large Lshaped balcony overlooking the mountains and sea which was perfect for our morning yoga sessions. Location is great as just outside main town of Lixouri which is lovely in the evenings. XI beach near hotel not very nice. Nicest beach is Petani which is a 25 minute drive away which has a great taverna on the beach offering fresh fish for 2. Yummy!. Musts are Fiscardo at night although a long drive back in the dark especially on the mountain roads, also Assos is lovely to have a meal. I wouldn't bother with myrtos beach. It looks lovely from a high but down below quite commercialised and only offers a fast food place which is disappointing.

There are really two big let downs with the hotel. One the evening meal is not of 5 star quality. It fills a hole at best. We tended to eat out most nights at different tavernas even though we booked half board. Second the wifi connection is very intermittent and extremely slow which is very annoying especially as our room had a router which never seemed to work! Other little gripes main swimming pool is overloaded with kids, pool side taverna is expensive and the organ player/singer in the evening is laughable especially when he sings YMCA. It doesn't seem that he can pronounce the Y correctly! All in all a great holiday and a lovely un commercialised island to visit for a lovely relaxing break.

Room Tip: Get a junior suite away from the main hotel overlooking the mountains. Paradise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul197438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Well second time back and just as good! Friendly staff always willing to help. The food is absolutely delicious although at first it looks like not a massive variety but when it's been prepared and cooked so well it's more than enough! I would highly recommend a car as it is quite out the way! We went at the end of may so the weather was hit and miss but we love kefalonia.
The pool areas clean as is the bar and there's a small outdoor cinema which is a nice touch.
The games room kept the kids happy playing table tennis at night. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated to a good standard. We had 3 triple rooms as we're the family from hell with loads of kids!! No seriously the kids behaved and all we got were positive comments from guests and staff! We will definitely be re visiting though probably a bit later than may next time to guarantee better weather!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Munkeymilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Nice hotel,well planned and a relaxing quiet location.Bufftet breakfast was good but not too happy with evening dinner buffet.It would be good if the Taverna by the pool was open in the evenings to give us a choice.
Bar staff were friendly and helpful as also the Restaurant staff.
Housekeeping standards were of a high standard. The room was also of a very good calibre with regard to décor and furnishings.
The spa was good but I was the only person in there on my visit.
The landscaping was also of a high standard and very clean.
My only annoyance was the guy playing the organ a few evenings a week in the bar. This should be changed as we went out every night he was playing to avoid having to suffer it.!
I would consider a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar where the organ player will annoy and disturb you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gerard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just returned from The Apollonion and found it to be a good holiday hotel. Not quite a 5 star, but a good 4. We had a half board booking and the food at breakfast was excellent, a great variety and a nice dining room with outside space if you wanted it. The evening Dinner too was of a good standard although I found it rather bland. The rooms are spacious and well equipped, and mostly very quiet, (please try to avoid a room anywhere near the Cocktail bar area). Which brings me onto my only real issue, the evening entertainment..... Every other night a guy turns up around 8:30 and plays an electronic organ (badly) and its almost a guess the song at a pub night. It really is not in keeping with the rest of the hotel. He is clearly bored himself, he never smiled, or tried to converse with any of the guests, I am afraid that after one performance we decided to go for a long walk on the venings he was 'performing'. All in all though, a lovely weeks break in a nice location with, in the main well trained and attentive staff.

Room Tip: Avoid anywhere near the cocktail bar area. (See main review)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dean84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Went end June begining of July. The hotel is lovely and the staff are friendly and very helpful. The room my friend and I had was large enough for 4 people and was on 2 floors so we weren't sleeping on top of each other. The whole hotel is very clean and well maintained. The drinks are a little on the prices side but they have happy hour from 4-6 each day and the drinks are half price. There are white toweling robes and slippers in the room. On arrival late in the evening they had left some lovely sandwiches, crisps and fruit in our room for us as we had missed dinner as the restaraunt closes at 9pm. Don't get any wine from the Cephalonia Hotel which is a bit further down the road and has a little shop (the water is cheaper there than the Appolion) it was vile and after a long fight with the cork we poured it down the toilet... Kefalonia airport on the way home is very small with a tiny duty free shop so don't be saving money to buy any goodies from there and expect a few long queues! Theres only one way out so you won't have to run around looking for your gate number - we just had a few drinks and people watched whilst waiting to depart.... Have a fab time I wish I was on my way back again x

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and was well away from the bar area where the music is very loud and will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Whoever Doug7778 is, he has got to be on serious drugs to even think of criticising this hotel. From the moment you step through the entrance, to the time you leave (which you won't want to do), this place has it all.
Reception:- Ask & you shall receive. Whatever you want, Dora, Dina & Niki will sort it.
Meal times:- No surprises at breakfast, but what is there is well presented & very enjoyable. Evening meals limited on choice & on occasions you would when you returned to your table that some of the items were cold.
Staff:- Search out Andreas & Fay. Both very polite & helpful. Andreas will get you anything you require & Fay will find time to chat & have a laugh (also pours a mean cup of coffee & never lets your cup run dry).
Room:- 4 of us stayed in the swim up room, which is basically a townhouse layout. Very well designed, double bed extremely comfortable, bathroom plenty of space. Go out through the sliding doors & you have a 7 seater corner suite, single chair, 2 sun beds, a table & 4 chairs plus ample space to rearrange as much as you like. Upstairs, 2 single beds, shower, toilet. Huge balcony running the length of the building provided ample sunbathing space upstairs. Faultless.
Location:- Very quiet.
Alcohol:- Did not buy any as none of us drink (no help there, sorry).
Shopping:- Due to the half board tariff, it's just a 2 minute walk to the Kefalonia Palace for drinks, snacks etc. There is 1 shop in reception called Le Shop selling perfume, cigarettes, knick knacks, run by a lovely lady by the name of Popi.
Entertainment:- They have a "singer", who should be done for mass murder (of songs), he is terrible. Hopefully they'll have enough complaints to get rid of him soon.
Overall:- Apart from the "singer", this place is as my wife described it "heaven on earth" & I have to go along with that. It's all chrome & glass, very brand new & can only get better (if that's possible).
We are going back in September 2013 & July 2014 & can't wait.
A massive pat on the back to management & staff. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sod2362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lixouri
21.7 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
13.1 mi away
Ionian Emerald Resort
14.0 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
22.6 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 8 in Fiscardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#1 of 19 in Lassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollonion Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollonion Resort & Spa

Property: Apollonion Resort & Spa
Address: Xi Beach, Lixouri 282 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lixouri
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lixouri
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lixouri
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Apollonion Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollonion Resort & Spa is a newly built 5* hotel. It is located in Lixouri of Kefalonia, in the region Xi, well known for its long golden sand beach. The excellent range of facilities at our Luxury Hotel is complemented by the high standard services from the professionally trained friendly staff. The unique architecture, the stylish lounge with genuine pieces of contemporary art, reflect the glamor of this Luxury Kefalonian resort. The Art Gallery hosts unique painting exhibitions throughout the Summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Apollonion Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollonion Hotel Lixouri
Apollonion Resort And Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa Cephalonia/Lixouri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing