We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lixouri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you expect to be in a 5 star hotel, you will be very disappointed. The hotel is composed by different grey block buildings that are cheaply built. At the entrance do not expect any help with your luggage as there is no valet service. As you have to take the dinner included with the room (typical of a 5 star hotel...), you will enjoy many dishes with the same cheap ingredients (pasta, veggies and pasta). Do not expect fish or good quality meat... On a positive note, the room and balcony was large. The swimming pool area was decent. However, there was no direct access to the sea. Regarding the cleanliness, we found ants, hair and dust on the floor. This is a hotel that we would have liked to have avoided!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Doug7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-apollonion, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
TripAdvisor gives the opportunity to travelers to share traveling experiences in order to help other travelers in their choices. We suspect that you are the same person who, in a previous review, that valuated this hotel without actually been in the hotel. The way you describe your experience, it clearly shows that YOU HAVE NEVER BEEN IN OUR HOTEL. It seems that for reasons unknown to us, you are trying to mislead future travelers and this is not exactly honest or legal. In the case that we are mistaken, please supply us the exact information regarding your trip in order investigate the information about your review.
Sincerely
Alexandros Papanikolaou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 883 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

My Wife and I stopped at the hotel for 1 week, half board 11th - 18th June after the good reports we read on Tripadvisor.
The Hotel is very good but could be better, but for a few minor things,the first is the same as reported a few back, we also arrived too late for the evening meal and were told our food was in the room in the fridge, a pre-packed sandwich and bottle of water ! this was poor by any standard and find it hard to understand from a 5 star hotel.
The Hotel is superb,almost everything is as new, lots of marble floors, toilets, stainless steel handrails, bins, etc.
It is spotless and clean no matter were you look, and is very well maintained, both the buildings and the grounds.
The pool area was really good,lots of beds available all week, well spaced out with umbrellas, showers, and toilets to hand as well as the bars for food and drinks, although the waiters serve you at your sunbed if required.
The small 20 seat cinema was great, really nice facility, the museum was good, good games room but the swop library for books was a bit small.
All the staff are 1st rate, we found them to be very polite, always smiling, and very well trained.
The food was very good with a good selection at both breakfast and the evening meal.
Not much in the area, but very close to the beach,which after reports of it being washed away we found to be a great surprise! not very wide but quite long, nice sandy beach which you could walk out a way before it got deeper, good for children.Several bars serving food right next to it.
One major point which I and several people we spoke to at the hotel found very hard to understand is the standard of the evening entertainment,i,e, the guy on the organ who we christened "Les Dawson" ( think of the out of tune piano sketch), he also sang well known songs in his own "style" which left you with a game of, "see if you can work out what the tune is meant to be" ! Poor with a capitol P.
Car hire is a must, we drove up to Fiskardo had dinner, then down to Skala for a beach drink and up to Argostoli, over on the ferry, and evening meal in Lixouri and were back at the Hotel for 9 p.m. Roads are twisty but generally good.3rd time we have hired a car as have stayed in Skala and Lassi on previous holidays.
We had a great holiday in a very good hotel on this beautiful island once again.

Room Tip: Rooms are good, but only 3rd tier can see the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank StanLee.-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

Thank you very much for your contribution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just returned from a one week holiday at the Apollonion Resort & Spa. Best 5 star hotel we have ever visited. Big spacious rooms, we stayed at a suite maisonette having its own private Jacuzzi which leads to a bigger shared pool, fantastic to have an evening swim with my husband and relax around the pool any time we wanted. Great breakfast and dinner at the buffet area with many traditional greek dishes. Congratulations to Vlassis, the executive chef. Lunch at the A la carte La Pergola restaurant was exceptional value for money try out the club sandwich, cheesburger or the fantastic italian pizzas and pasta. The mussels are also fantastic.
The hotel has an art gallery, something very unique which we did not expect to find it is in a separate very elegant building they were hosting a special exhibition of the life of Nelson and on display were a selection of his personal belongings and even letters written by him.
The spa was extremely professional. Had a full body massage, facial treatments and nails and toes! im not exaggerating best I have ever had.
The bar has a special offer every day. 50% off on different cocktails, ice cream and desserts. The desserts will spoil your taste buds!
Now that we have returned we made sure to book the same room with Thomsons for next year.
Apollonion, see you in May 14.

Room Tip: Maisonette 412 gets sun until 7.30/8.00pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

Thank you very much for your contribution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great stay, very friendly but they need a dress code for the restaurant.

Quiet location, beach area not open in May.

Museum is a great feature and so to is the open air theatre.

We has Private pool villa which is recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

Thank you very much for your contribution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

OK, let's get one thing out of the way - this is not - by any stretch of the imagination, a five star hotel. 4 star yes. That said, this is a beautifully manicured hotel and whilst overall we enjoyed out stay with our two very young children, there is a lack of attention to detail at this hotel that ultimately left us feeling a lot less enthusiastic than some of the other reviewers here.

First of all let's take location - the hotel is in the middle of nowhere which would normally be fine - but with no regular shuttle facilities to the nearest town of lixouri (why not guys?!) - it meant a €20 return trip if you wanted to take a wander to the town which is about 5 miles away. The nearby Xi Beach cannot be accessed from the hotel (we couldnt understand why a pathway hasnt been opened onto the beach from the hotel across the scrubland that lies between the two) and access to the beach from the public road is very poorly maintained and precarious. There are a handful of sunbeds unconnected to the hotel and no real facilities at the beach. The hotel does not allow its towels to be taken to the beach.

Next the food and service - the buffet food in the restaurant was pretty good and varied each day and the service in the restaurant was excellent and pleasant. the same could not be said for the bar and pool area where the service was pretty poor and the nightly 'entertainment' truly dire (the same bloke on a piano murdering demis roussos and doing pop covers - every night) and when it rained (albeit briefly), the terrace bar area had to be closed as the covers dont keep the rain off.

At reception, we found some of the staff extremely patronising, bordering on rude. When we arrived we requested a kettle for our room as we have a young baby and we needed boiling water to be able to sterilise bottles etc - only to be informed that we could take a taxi to the local town to buy a kettle (not really the answer we were looking for). There are also no cash withdrawl facilities at reception (therefore a 20 euro return trip to find an atm to the local town of lixouri). On checkout we made a simple and polite query re an item on the bill and were asked rather rudely: 'do you not remember the transaction!?! (the bill was in greek)'...erm no it was 10 days ago and i can't read the greek alphabet - perhaps you could translate please?
We also asked if it might be possible to move rooms on arrival as we have a toddler who could wander off from our ground floor patio - but nobody from reception got back to us despite us asking twice. Also, we asked for a 2 hour extension on our final day check out - again nobody got back to us and on asking again, they couldn't accommodate (despite other parties being given the whole day to check out). In all, the reception staff were discourteous and unhelpful.

The rooms in the hotel were well appointed and spacious but again attention to detail leaves the hotel's supposed 5 Star Rating down. The minibar was unstocked and there is a 5 euro call out charge for room service to come stock it (or indeed restock it). The 'do not disturb/please make up room' signs kept blowing off the doorhandles - which leads us to our biggest gripe of all - the housekeeping at the hotel. On 4 occasions the room was not made up at all - and the housekeeping staff were surly and rude at best. The room was never properly cleaned - clumps of dust under the beds and the babies cot, etc. It was 3 star housekeeping.

On the plus side, the hotel is relatively new and is very chilled and very beautiful. It has a lovely spa and reasonable facilities for the kids and an evening cinema and tennis court. It has a beautiful reception area with beautiful art on the walls. It's a hotel that is really ideal for couples and older families - but it most certainly needs to up its game in accommodating younger families.

In short - a lovely hotel that is left down by attention to detail and its location - and it probably deserves a 3.5 rating here.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms do not have any sea-views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank stantheman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

Thank you very much for your contribution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just got back from our first stay at the Apollonion Resort & Spa and it will not be our last. We had a fantastic week with our two children the week after half term. The resort was busy but still very quiet and peaceful. Our flight from Cardiff landed at 6.30pm so we were lucky enough to catch the ferry and arrive in time for last orders at the buffet. We had seen previous comments about the buffet food but it did exceed our expectations. The food was good with a number of themed nights throughout the week. Breakfast was equally good especially the custom omelettes. We were lucky enough to book a pool suite which the children loved. The private pool attached to each suite then linked to a larger pool. Although a bit on the cold side at this time of year our children spent hours in the pool each day. The suite was immaculately clean and comfortable as was the rest of the resort. The main pool and surrounding gardens are beautifully kept and again spotless. I would recommend booking a hire car. We booked four days which allowed us to visit some quieter beaches. The beach near the resort is OK but a small drive further afield opened up some of Kefalonia's treasurers. Take a snorkel and mask to watch the fish only a few meters from the shore line. There is a small super market about 5 minutes drive from the hotel which is handy . Finally, a special mention to everyone who worked at the hotel who really made our holiday enjoyable. Everyone was exceptionally polite and extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We will be back.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a pool suite with it's own private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lowri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

Thank you very much for your contribution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were delighted with our holiday at the Apollonian resort and spa. It was recently refurbished for our visit and the room was fantastic. The bed particularly big and comfortable. The food was buffet and was perfect for me (tons of different meats and options), though my girlfriend was less enthusiastic. Overall the week was fantastic value

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

Thank you very much for your contribution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lixouri
21.5 mi away
Regina Dell Acqua Resort
6.4 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
14 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
21.7 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
7.2 mi away
Petani Bay Hotel- Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel

Address: Xi Beach, Lixouri 282 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lixouri
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lixouri
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lixouri
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range: $141 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollonion Resort & Spa is a newly built 5* hotel. It is located in Lixouri of Kefalonia, in the region Xi, well known for its long golden sand beach. The excellent range of facilities at our Luxury Hotel is complemented by the high standard services from the professionally trained friendly staff. The unique architecture, the stylish lounge with genuine pieces of contemporary art, reflect the glamor of this Luxury Kefalonian resort. The Art Gallery hosts unique painting exhibitions throughout the Summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollonion Hotel Lixouri
Apollonion Resort And Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel Cephalonia/Lixouri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing