We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Schloss Engers
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveler rating
34
25
5
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
25
5
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingone nightstayed hererhinebedbathroom
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 69 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in a castle/ palace right by the Rhine river. Outstanding service, also in the restaurant. The room in the Residenz was large and beautifully furnished and the bathroom was especially impressive. Surely we will come back again, as this visit we did not have time to check out the charming town of Engers.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandKOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

A huge castle right on the banks of the Rhine, Engers was an interesting say. Clean, huge, modern rooms work well with the more historic setting. Breakfast was excellent. Note though that the hotel was not staffed at night. If you're looking for room service at 3am this is not the place for you. If your looking for a different experience, it is.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nasheraris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed at the Guest House extension, which is a bit cheaper than the actual Schloß itself. Nevertheless, the rooms are a feast for the eye, a very tasteful combination of antique (or possibly just well-made antique-looking, not sure) furniture and modern accents, like little wrought iron sculptures. Very appealing design! The 'basics' were also right: very clean, confortable bed, quiet location ensuring good rest, and a bathroom that matched the quality of the room itself.

However, in my opinion it is missing the 5 point rating for two reasons: very much unlike the room, entrance and hallways look very uninspired - feels more like entering some office location than a cozy hotel. What's more important, as far as I could tell there was no service avaiable unless you walked for 200 meters to the castle, where the reception is located. As I've said, the Guest House is the cheaper option, but it is not cheap per se. For the price we've paid, there might as well be someone around in case the guests would need anything.

Overall, stay there if an outstandingly nice room is what you're after. Do not stay there if first-class room service is what you are expecting!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

| stay in Neuwied a lot, as my company is based here. I started staying at this hotel about 3 years ago on a recommendation from a French colleague, and now stay here at least once a month. It just gets better and better. So much so that most of my colleagues now stay here as well when on business over at head office.

The spa in the new Residenz block just compliments things perfectly.

Rooms great, restaurant excellent, breakfast fantastic, staff infinitely helpful and location directly on the Rhine perfect. Dinner or even breakfast on the terrace on a summer's day brilliant. Free wifi a huge bonus, especially on business.

Schloss rooms overlooking Rhine best, although Residenz rooms nice but at a premium, although use of spa included in price. Gasthaus rooms can be a little hit or miss. Some are fantastic...one with big jacuzzi bath, others a little small. Residenz is completely carbon neutral for all you tree huggers...first in Germany I believe!!!

Can't say more really....

Room Tip: Rooms in the Schloss or Residenz excellent. Gasthaus can be hit or miss - some rooms a little small. Residenz carries a premium.rr
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wissyemspem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kasteel is leuker
Stayed: May 2018, traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews