We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Simonis

Hotel Simonis
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Simonis
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kobern-Gondorf
Woudrichem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel with a very hospitable italian family as owner. Especially the son wants to do everything for the guests.The wifi is not always working fine. Good traditional italian kitchen, but do not expect any typical german dishes. Would certainly go back there

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    1
    6
    0
See reviews for
5
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mevagissey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

I had booked for another hotel in this resort but was transferred to this one as the other was over-booked. I found it very clean and the staff extremely helpful (my German is rather limited!). On Easter Sunday when I returned to my room I was delighted to find a chocolate Lindt Easter Bunny awaiting me - what a lovely touch! I didn't eat here as my arrangement was with the other hotel but every evening tasty and mouth-watering cooking smells greeted me as I went out! I found this hotel extremely good and would recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia13Mevagissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

we decided to stay at kobern-gondorf but did not know which hotel to select. we went to a restaurant in town and asked which hotel in town was the best. he said the hotel simonis.

we went to the hotel and met alex, the owner. she was most charming and offered us two rooms that were available that night: a family room and was nicely decorated and a double room that was very large, decorated like a boudoir! a boa was stretched out over the bed in the shape of a heart.

the room was very comfortable with a very good bed. we had no a.c. but it was not hot so we didn't ask if a fan was available.

we asked alex if she could recommend a restaurant and she did, a fantastic place a 10 minute walk away. our best meal in germany was there.

breakfast the following day was good, with typical german offerings. a basket of fruit was made available to us.

this is a 3 star hotel with appopriate pricing. we would be pleased to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahatma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

This nice and little hotel in Kobern Gondorf has everything you want from a stay. It is a clean place, with nice beds in a nice room. The staff was also very enthusiastic and did everything in their power to provide us a perfect holiday. The breakfast is also good, different kinds of bread, eggs, cheese, meat, yoghurt, fruit, muesli etc etc. Dinner is very easy...just eat what the staff makes that day! And the result is that you eat fresh meat, fish, vegetables, soup every day! And this for a very affordable price. Also, the hotel has a nive 'biergarten/weingarten' so you can enjoy your drinks in the open air without having to sit at the street.
We went with 4 persons, my parents, boyfriend and me. We wanted to surprise my parents with this trip. This was taken care of very nicely by the owners because they arranged a little surprise in my parents room! How thoughtfull!
Surrounding is also very nice, the hotel is in the middle of Koblenz and Cochem, so both touristic town are at a short drive distance. It is also possible to travel by train, as Kobern-Gondorf has its own railway station. But taxi's are cheap here, so this is also a good option. The taxi from Koblenz to the hotel only did cost us 25 euro's, while the train was 16 euro's for 4 persons for a single journey Kobern-Koblenz.
I can understand that some people complain about things, this is not a 5 star hotel but the owners also do not pretend that they are a 5 star hotel! Different people expect different things from a stay in a hotel, so as a hotel owner, it is quite impossible to please everybody that comes along.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EstherBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Hotel Simonis was the last location of our eight day stay in Germany, moving from pre-booked hotel to pre-booked hotel, staying one night at each.

We congratulated ourselves on our good luck – the hotels (all within the same price range) ranged from highly satisfactory to very good and the food was similarly pleasing and sometimes excellent.

As we entered the gloomy confines of Hotel Simonis, we sensed that our luck was out and it truly was. The worst (and only bad) stay of our tour was at this hotel.

The ‘restaurant’ is not open to non-residents and the “menu” resembles that of a snack or burger bar. When we asked for other things, we were told we could have a schnitzel, but the hotel does not stretch to a listing of non-snack items.

In this hotel situated in the German wine-growing area, if you ask for wine, the question comes back red or white and that is all there is – there is no list such as you would find in any other establishment in that area.

The reception and lobby is covered by CCTV ‘for your own protection’, which makes you think that you have landed in a dangerously unsavoury part of a big city instead of in a little wine-growing town on the Mosel. If anyone else had CCTV, they did not trumpet it.

The room information folder says that loss of the front door key (we weren’t given one) carries a fine of €250 – to pay for the locksmith.

There is also a sign to the effect that payment by credit card carries a penalty of 5%. If we had known this, we would not have booked at this hotel.

In discussing this matter with the immoveable manageress, we were told that a statement about "cash only" payment is on the website. Checking the English (and German) language website on returning back home, I could still see nothing about the 5% surcharge for payment by credit card or cash only. It is possible that the warning is on the Dutch website.

The owners are Dutch. When we were there, all the other guests were Dutch. The breakfast buffet contained many little pre-packaged Dutch offerings.

Aspects of the breakfast neatly encapsulate the penny-pinching approach adopted to the provision of hotel service. The rolls were of the cheapest sort. The fruit salad came out of a tin (everywhere else it was fresh). The coffee pot provided one cup of coffee for four people. We had to chase up more and were only given a pot a third full. Our suspicion was that it has been cleared from another table. The manageress herself unsmilingly dealt with all aspects of breakfast – no other staff were evident.

The evening meal was served by a very pleasant and smiling German lady – a welcome human face. When we had established that we could have schnitzels instead of something from the snack/burger menu, we were visited after about 15 minutes by the manageress, who confirmed that as we had requested schnitzels it would take about another fifteen minutes, because they would “have to be prepared fresh”. This left us pondering how else they might have been prepared. The wait turned out to be 45 minutes.

The contrast between the bright warm image projected on the website and that which actually greets you is astonishing. Our room was nothing like the splendid offerings shown on the website. Ours was dark and dingy.

The television did not work, with sound and indistinct images on one channel only and soundless snowy images elsewhere. The manageress acted surprised, when we told her of this and the chef (her partner) took time out from preparing the food to try to adjust the televisions in the rooms of our travelling partners and ourselves. He managed to fix one channel - CNN – although we wanted to view the German channels, which still didn’t work.

To top it all, when we did check out, the manageress asked us where the front door key was. We replied truthfully that we had not been given any. We suggested that, if this is so important to them, they should ask people to sign for them when handing them out. Their own literature in the rooms states that if you have not been given a front door key and wish to have one (for entry after 11 pm), you should ask for one.

This hotel was an unwelcome blot on an otherwise perfect holiday. The other places we stayed at were all very much better and some of them were even cheaper. The business model and philosophy in this hotel is, at best, penny-pinching. They know hotels are supposed to make money, but they haven’t quite got the hang of the need to provide good service for that money.

I could not possibly recommend this place to anyone. We are writing positive reports on the other places we stayed in. We gave this negative feedback verbally to the manageress before we left.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gwenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexdebruin, Owner at Hotel Simonis, responded to this review, July 7, 2009
We did everything in our power to accomodate this guest who was in a bad mood from the moment she walked in. The comments about the camera and key are true. Inserted by the previous owner and not removed yet. But only people with bad intentions notice it.
We are proud of our breakfast and rooms. When canned fruit is used, it is IN ADDITION to fresh fruit. Our coffee is fresh and selection comparable to the Hiltons I worked at. The rooms are individually decorated and not one is the same. We are thankful not to have had any comment about the cleanliness, quality of the bed and comfort. of the room and bathroom. When a TV is that important for a one night stay to make a big rough about it during dinner, we try to fix it immediately. And we are proud of not serving frozen or canned food, but fresh products. We do not have a menu and only one daily special for those who want to eat. If a guest insists on having something else and does not want to try the 5 other restaurants next door, we do our best to prepair it. Also when we have a full restaurant with guests who DO like our daily dish.

Unfortunately the guest had something against her Dutch hoteliers of whom she did not get her 70 euro for the night back but we are happy with the positive feedback of our German employees. And yes we do a lot of the work ourselves as owners. But with only 17 rooms and 70 euro per night, one can not afford all the staff members help this guest. We have a small romantic family hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2009

We travelled with friends, and whilst our room was bright and light, theirs was a dismal and depressing decor - but that could be deemed a matter of taste. The waitress service for the evening meal was friendly, but the owner was offhand and not particularly welcoming.

There are a few things to be pointed out which did not make the stay a good one in comparison with other hotels stayed in along the Mosel.

The TV channels had no signal. Eventually this was rectified by the owners but we only ended up with one channel - CNN. There is a surcharge of 5% on all credit charge payments - we did not come across this in other hotels in the region. The restaurant has a very limited menu - more like a fast food outlet. However, we did have schniztnels cooked for us which were very nice. The salad was a bit gritty however!
Another thing which made for an unwelcoming atmosphere was the statement in the room information that if you wished to return after 11pm (which we didn't) an outside door key would be issued, but if you lost it 250 euros would be charged. Upon checking out, the owner erroneously maintained that our friends had been issued with a key - there was clearly no system in place such as signing for outdoor keys. The owner had to accept that no such key was issued. Breakfast was OK but not as good as other hotels we had stayed in. No fresh fruit salad - only tinned. No choice of lovely German bread rolls - the basic ones ran out quickly, and coffee was not readily replenished - half a jug seemed to be the standard issue!

To summarise - this was a clean hotel with a very basic evening menu, basic breakfast, and owners who might well benefit from a customer service makeover.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mazaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexdebruin, owner at Hotel Simonis, responded to this review, July 7, 2009
This guest was traveling with the German couple and can be viewed as a copy to the next review.
We did everything in our power to accomodate this guest who was in a bad mood from the moment she walked in. The comments about the camera and key are true. Inserted by the previous owner and not removed yet. But only people with bad intentions notice it.
We are proud of our breakfast and rooms. When canned fruit is used, it is IN ADDITION to fresh fruit. Our coffee is fresh and selection comparable to the Hiltons I worked at. The rooms are individually decorated and not one is the same. We are thankful not to have had any comment about the cleanliness, quality of the bed and comfort. of the room and bathroom. When a TV is that important for a one night stay to make a big rough about it during dinner, we try to fix it immediately. And we are proud of not serving frozen or canned food, but fresh products. We do not have a menu and only one daily special for those who want to eat. If a guest insists on having something else and does not want to try the 5 other restaurants next door, we do our best to prepair it. Also when we have a full restaurant with guests who DO like our daily dish.

Unfortunately the guest had something against her Dutch hoteliers of whom she did not get her 70 euro for the night back but we are happy with the positive feedback of our German employees. And yes we do a lot of the work ourselves as owners. But with only 17 rooms and 70 euro per night, one can not afford all the staff members help this guest. We have a small romantic family hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obersteinebach, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2007

Hotel is managed by an enthousiastic Dutch couple who really did their best in providing an excellent stay in the region.
The hotel rooms were excellent and clean. Four Poster beds and a cosey decoration. The restaurant was not typically German but the taste of the food was good...... more the Dutch kitchen and not the overkill of sauce which is served in the area.
The hotel is located in a very quiet village and in the middle between Cochem and Koblenz. It is a good place to start exploring the wonderful area and castles.

  • Liked — The beautifully decorated rooms
  • Disliked — everything was excellent....including the great breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelHeiderhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kobern-Gondorf
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pistono
Hotel Pistono
#1 of 2 in Dieblich
105 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Nora Emmerich
Hotel Nora Emmerich
#1 of 3 in Winningen
43 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mosel Hotel Haehn
Mosel Hotel Haehn
#1 of 32 in Koblenz
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pension Marienhof
Pension Marienhof
#4 of 4 in Kobern-Gondorf
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Weinhaus Heinrich Haupt
Hotel-Weinhaus Heinrich Haupt
#3 of 4 in Kobern-Gondorf
12 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kachelburg
Hotel Kachelburg
#2 of 2 in Dieblich
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Simonis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Simonis

Property: Hotel Simonis
Address: Marktplatz 4, 56330 Kobern-Gondorf, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Kobern-Gondorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kobern-Gondorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Simonis 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Simonis. The romantic Hotel Simonis with its impressive ancient timber fame architecture overlooks the historic Kobern’s marketplace. Surrounded by beautifully restored houses, historic cellars, cosy cafés and the famous Tatzelwurmbrunnen. Kobern-Gondorf is located on the banks of the lower Moselle near the city of Koblenz, surrounded by its famous vineyards. The Hotel Simonis has 14 rooms, elegant and singly furnished suites, all with a bathroom and shower, hairdryer, flat screen TV, minibar and free Wi-Fi. Since forever the inhabitants of the region consider the Hotel Simonis as a reference point owing to its privileged position. You are warmly invited to get acquainted with the charm of this city by spending a few days of relax in our house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Hotel Simonis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonis Hotel Kobern Gondorf
Hotel Simonis Germany/Kobern-Gondorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing