We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location and lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Paulushof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Paulushof
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Simmerath
cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Stunning location and lovely hotel”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

A real gem the hotel was lovely the staff were really helpful and the pool and sauna were great. We had a stunning view over the lake from our spacious rooms. This area is great for walking, cycling, canoeing and sailing. I would love to go back and spend more time here.

Room Tip: Most rooms have balconies overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank downsgolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    28
    26
    5
    7
See reviews for
16
31
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We only spent one hight at this hotel - we wish it had been more. It's a great location for walking/cycling and we could not fault the hotel.
We were particularly impressed with the quality of the evening meal, particularly the presentation.
Hopefully we will come back - for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

The hotel is in a great location on the lake , but it's decor is rather tired and old fashioned. The restaurant is good and the service was very good. The staff are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allotment_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnapolisMD
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2006

Extraordinary country hotel within a hour of Cologne, Aachen and the Moselle. On the banks of lakes in a Blue Ridge type setting. Heavily wooded hills, non-touristy (at least in fall and winter).

Good sized rooms with single less than $50 per night and double at around $80.00. Excellent restaurant with local game in the winter. Easy drive through the Huertgen Forest (beginning of the Battle of the Bulge) as well as near castles and palaces and the quintessential German town, Monschau. Has a small but fun Christmas Market as well as easy access to those in Monschau, Aachen and the Ahr Valley (red wine growing region just south).

Has excellent indoor pool for the winter as well as direct access to the lake, which has boating excusions in non-winter months. Beautiful for walking and for complete silence.

Has a number of weekend packages including food and wine.

Highly recommend for a great long weekend in a non-touristy setting. Car essential. Has elevator, though!


  • Liked — Peaceful and beautiful locale
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Excellent for day trips to Eifel, Aachen, Cologne or into the Battle of the Bulge areas
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank AnnapolisMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simmerath
6.0 mi away
Vakantiehotel De Lange Man
3.0 mi away
Eifelgold Rooding Hotel
Eifelgold Rooding Hotel
#2 of 3 in Simmerath
101 reviews
7.2 mi away
Carat Vitalhotel
Carat Vitalhotel
#7 of 18 in Monschau
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Kurparkhotel im Nationalpark Eifel
4.3 mi away
Landhotel Kallbach
Landhotel Kallbach
#1 of 2 in Huertgenwald
91 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Roeb Zum Alten Fritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paulushof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paulushof

Property: Hotel Paulushof
Address: Seeufer 10 | Rurberg am Rursee, 52152 Simmerath, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Simmerath
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Simmerath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Paulushof 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Paulushof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing