We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrated a 70th birthday”
Review of Schloss Vollrads

Schloss Vollrads
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $45
Cuisines: German, European, Gastropub, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We would like to entice you to eat with us at the Schloss. Enjoy the lovingly prepared regional and international cuisine of our Gutsrestaurant (manor house restaurant). Whether in the Kavalierhaus (squire's house), in the orangery or on the patio during the summer months, our head chef Alexander Ehrgott will spoil you with creative cuisine of the highest standard - dishes made from fresh, specially chosen ingredients, ingeniously assembled for you. And in perfect harmony with the wines of Schloss Vollrads. Welcome to Riesling!
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Celebrated a 70th birthday”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We just celebrated a 70th birthday there, the attention of the staff was outstanding! we had a group of 18 adults and 9 children, they set up a drink station in the garden for us and kept the drinks flowing :) their summer wine is fab!
We had also our wedding dinner there, the service has not changed! highly recommend it for special events.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    36
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
1,042 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Nice place to have a drink and take in the views”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The weather was fine and sunny and the views were beautiful as was the wine. We went there with our German friends and we all enjoyed the place. I am unable to tell you about the food but the wine was good. Mainly whites, which were nice apparently, but they did have some Pinot Noirs which were nice

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank olie293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
252 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant in romantic setting”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch outside on the patio and the setting alone makes it worthwhile. The wines as well. The employee selection Riesling is outstanding. The vollrads burger was nice, the Creme brulee freshly made in generous portion, unfortunately they forgot the vanilla. Highly recommend to park at Schloss Johannisberg and walk through the wineyards to Schloss Vollrads and back. And try the wines.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine_sing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
900 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 658 helpful votes
“Wine Tasting Dinner”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Attended a wine tasting with dinner event here last week and it was a very interesting experience. Firstly the 14th century castle of this historic wine estate is an absolutely fabulous location in which to house a restaurant. The historic main entrance hall and family side room were utilised for wine tasting before moving to the opulent main dining hall.
Secondly the wines are very very good, as befitting one of the major Riesling vineyards and we were offered quite a few over the course of the dinner.
Thirdly the food was high quality with an interesting mix of flavour combinations. As it was a wine tasting dinner there were four smaller courses with two wines to try with each.
And lastly the history and descriptions of the wines given by the winery guide were very informative.
And I have to say that it is brave of any White wine only winery to have a main course of rare roast beef and try to prove that you can take a full bodied aged Riesling as the accompaniment to beef.
Sorry, but whereas the dry Riesling with the fish course before went hand in glove, here’s one Brit that will continue to have a full bodied Red with his Roast Beef.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve_of_N21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1,680 reviews
810 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
“Wine Tasting Only!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our Uniworld Rhine cruise excursion included an exclusive tour at Schloss Vollrads winery, which was very interesting at this historic site. Our tour included interesting discussions regarding past & present history of the vinyard, also variety of tasty Riesling wines were sampled. Each room we visited had an interesting historic story.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sashakeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schloss Vollrads also viewed

Oestrich-Winkel, Hesse
Oestrich-Winkel, Hesse
 

Been to Schloss Vollrads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing