We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced, Aging, Sprawling and Impersonal”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Allgau Stern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Allgau Stern Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sonthofen
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Overpriced, Aging, Sprawling and Impersonal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

This is one of those be-all "resorts" designed to cause you to spend all of your time and money i one place. The very average rooms they provide are overpriced by at least 30 euro (and we paid a discounted rate!), and the meals are double the price I'd expect to pay in a typical German restaurant. The staff was pleasant, and breakfast was decent, but you could do much better.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichmondViaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    37
    33
    9
    12
See reviews for
24
18
3
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We were here for a wrok conference off season. Clearly this is a ski resort and I am sure it is hopping when it is full, but being there seeing the empty pools and bowling alley and archade was just a little odd.

I was in one of the older, not yet remodeled rooms and it was fine. Felt a little dorm style in the decor and the bathroom was small, but it was very clean and very quiet- I may have been the only one assigned to the outdated floor :-)

I had a wonderful patio/balcony and a beautiful view. I loved sitting and literally listening to the bells as the cows came home- up the hill at night. The area was full of natural beauty, but as an ignorant foreigner I couldn't really find anything in the vicinity to actually do that time of year (except for enjoy the beauty and relax which was plenty).

Also, the decor and the green lit elevators kind of reminded of the Emerald City in the Wizard of Oz :-)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peggysue930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akersloot
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

Great hotel that consists of a main building with all facilities (swimmingpool (indoor and outdoor), spa, night ckub, beerstube, panorama restaurant, baby club, bowling alley and game room as well as reception and congierge desk) and a few buildings that belong to the complex.

We had a very spacious room called Alpenrose in the main building. Only comment i can make is the very small bathroom. With two small children i found it very hard to wash their hair in the shower, as the toilet was locared right next to bath. The kids loved the bunk beds.

We had booked the accommodation inclusing breakfast and dinner. This was very nice and the buffet changed daily and the quality was very good. Lunch was practically not present, but the surrounding villages are nice to explore and provide enough options to lunch.

We had a nice holiday, and would like to come back.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building if you want to walk to the pool in your robe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

I go to Allgau Stern every year for a Company conference. I find it ios a very nice Hotel. Comfortable, very good food and hospitality. The rooms are meticolously clean and with a lot of space available. The sight from the main restaurant is marvellous, it is fantastic have the breakfast or lunch and see the Allgau mountains, valleys and small cottages often covered by the snow. It find it perfect for hosting conference as well as for winter sports and/or trekking . A beauty center, pool, sauna , bar, pub make the hotel even more enjoyable. Definitevely very recommended. and it is a please to return every year.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MauroCatania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

I've loved the city, especially the center. It was pity that the staff in the Reception was not enough friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms were large and with nice balconies, but quite cold inside. They should improve the heating system as it was not enough for the room I stayed in (#108). As I've seen better hotels in Germany and in Europe, also in the mountains, I cannot rank this one so well. Maybe it is good for people skiing, not for business meetings.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrisabRomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

I was a kind of a regular visitor to the hotel due to its location and price. The children enjoyed skiing; excellent facility with kids being taken care of completely by the nearby travel agency which assures transport from and to the hotel at the beginning and end of the day respectively.
The hotel is far from being a luxurius place and the truth is that the photos and brochures do not correspond to the reality of the place. At first we were booking directly and the prices were quite high for the quality and the service offered but when we started booking via operators the ratio became quite interesting. The quality of the rooms alocated, obviously, declined with less well-maintained rooms, lower floors, etc.
The food is not exceptional. The breakfast buffet is always the same and in the evenings, even thougout the "theme" changes every day variety is hardly recognisable.
The hotel lacks atmosphere and style possible because it grew old and all the interesting 70's elements fell out of context. A serious modernisation would be of help.
We enjoyed the wellness facilities which is a huge plus to the hotel. Beauty treatments were so much appreciated. We regret not having tried the medical treatments. It would be more pleasant to offer rooms with view for the treatments.
The swimming pool is pleasant but it can become highly noisy in the afternoons with unattended children of all ages running and screaming all over the place. The sauna area is not open for minors but very often they were entering out of curiocity. The system, based on points, to use the saunas is rather complicated and with explanations in german things do not get easy...
We made excellent experience with the personnel. I read in other reviews about arrogant staff and I am convinved certain behaviours could justify such a claim. Still, they were very helpful and concerned and they truly cared to sort our problems out. Days after, they were still asking if our problems were resolved.
Do we reccoment this hotel after all? Definately if you get a good price deal. Otherwise, you run the risk to be dissapointed since the hotel will hardly meet the high expectations you will put on it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elen_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
708 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

I recently attended a 4 day conference at the Allgau Stern hotel. It was my first visit. It's a very, very nice huge hotel in the Oberallgau region of southern Bavaria. I don't know how many buildings/rooms the hotel has but it is ginormous -- without being uncaring or feeling too large. I stayed in room 155 in the Luitpold Residence building. It was a first floor room so my views over the valley below were kinda blocked by the bldg in front of me. But that was okay as I was there for work... The balcony does have tables and chairs but the weather was cold while I was there so I didn't use those. The room is a suite with minibar/fridge. Very comfortable bed. The sofa (I only used it to read for short periods) wasn't so comfortable. The bathroom was marble and quite bright. Lots of closet and wardrobe space in the room. I had no complaints with the room and would be happy to stay in the same room again!

The spa facilities are wonderful. There's an indoor pool with a jacuzzi adjacent to the pool. The multiple saunas (beware prudish Americans, it's completely nude -- in fact a sign leading into the spa/sauna area warns the area is completely nudist and that clothing/swimsuits are not allowed due to sanitary requirements) are large and HOT with amazing picture windows looking over the valley and hills below. It was very nice to sit, relax, sweat, and look over the valley and hills. My only question is why the spa area doesn't have a large, hot communal jacuzzi. The jacuzzi by the pool was okay but not too warm and just a few water jets. Other than that, the spa area is fantastic. It would be wonderful after a day of skiing. And it was wonderful after a long hike above and around the hotel!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmeisteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonthofen
3.0 mi away
Romantik Hotel Sonne
Romantik Hotel Sonne
#3 of 18 in Bad Hindelang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
4.8 mi away
Panoramahotel Oberjoch
Panoramahotel Oberjoch
#1 of 18 in Bad Hindelang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Prinz-Luitpold-Bad
Hotel Prinz-Luitpold-Bad
#2 of 18 in Bad Hindelang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Hotel Deutsches Haus
#1 of 3 in Sonthofen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kinderhotel Oberjoch
Kinderhotel Oberjoch
#1 of 7 in Oberjoch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
2.1 mi away
Landhotel Bauer Sonthofen
Landhotel Bauer Sonthofen
#3 of 3 in Sonthofen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allgau Stern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allgau Stern Hotel

Property: Allgau Stern Hotel
Address: Buchfinkenweg 2, 87527 Sonthofen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Sonthofen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sonthofen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Allgau Stern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allgau Stern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing