We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always excellent”

Brauereigasthof Hirsch
Ranked #1 of 36 Restaurants in Sonthofen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Always excellent, food is traditonially German but menu is extensive and the food is always well cooked. The staff are very welcoming

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cassie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    41
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
belgium
Level Contributor
138 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“typical Bavarian Bierkeller... down town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We arrived at the restaurant, rather late for lunch, after a long walk on the mountains. To our surprise the place was still almost full. And it had a special menu cart for the 14:00-17:00 hours!
The atmosphere is the one of a typical Bavarian Bierkeller, with sombre colours and wooden furniture. The personnel run around wearing traditional clothes and carrying several glass pints of blond beer at a time. The service was not particularly friendly but it was efficient.
Huge portions, good quality and reasonable prices make the restaurant a top choice in the pedestrian zone of Sonthofen. We regret only to not have visited it earlier!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elen_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“My favourate restaurant - anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have visited the Brauereigasthof Hirsch during my annual ski holiday in Oberjoch every year since 2006. I love the food, the Doppel bock the weisse beer, the waitresses in local dress, the spontaneous bursts into song! My favourate meal is the Zwibelrostbraten with little dumplings covered in cheese!! Excellent food, great value, efficient service, friendly, always busy but they always find room to fit everyone in. My daughter (22) loves this place too - can't wait till next visit in January (this the only night on holiday that she pays)!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobbathfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

The quality and the price of the food is unbelievable. We went on a Monday night, traditionally a quiet night in Germany, and the restaurant was full, yet the service was quick and pleasant.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jsbach200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brauereigasthof Hirsch also viewed

Sonthofen, Swabia
Sonthofen, Swabia
 
Sonthofen, Swabia
Sonthofen, Swabia
 

Been to Brauereigasthof Hirsch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing