We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yachthotel Chiemsee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

On our way to Istria from Belgium we decided to stop for the evening in this hotel. We absolutely loved it, lovely view on the terrace, the boats and the lake looked amazing. We enjoyed a to German standards lovely dinner for a reasonable price. The staff speaks English as well and were very kind. In the morning we used the swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi which was very refreshing before we continued our journey.

Room Tip: Don't book a room with lake view, the boats block the view, not worth your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlaus2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YachthotelChiemsee, Manager at Yachthotel Chiemsee, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear mlaus2006,

thank you very much for your great feedback. We give our best to cause you a good stay in our hotel all the time. I hope you also had a pleasant stay in Istrien and wish to see you again soon.

Have a nice time and greatings from Bavaria.

Christina Gruber
Managers assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 250 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

The Yachthotel is a charming hotel on the shores of Chiemsee. We could only secure a night's accommodation as the hotel was running full when we were there. Even then, the staff managed to get a room readied for us to check-in early (arrived following a 13-hour flight). The location is a few minutes drive from the ferry terminal, and an ideal point from which to explore the islands on Chiemsee.
The hotel has a old world charm, with lots of wood finishing. (If you are looking for a modern plastic hotel, you'll have to go somewhere else!) We had a lovely room overlooking the lake. It was spacious, clean and comfortable, with complimentary internet access. On-site parking is also free. The hotel rate includes a generous and varied buffet breakfast. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a room overlooking Chiemsee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YachthotelChiemsee, Manager at Yachthotel Chiemsee, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear LCWW,

thank you for the great recommendation and the lovely picture! It´s a pleasure to read, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

If you want to visit us again, feel free to contact us.

We would be very happy to welcome you another time!

With best regards

Your Yachthotel-Team
Christoph Tacke
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I have paied for two rooms an amount of € 125 for each room, in a period of the year (April 2014) where the average rate does not go over € 60. The position of the hotel is nice, as over a lake. Pity that at the reception we got our two rooms facing the street, especially in a period of the year when the hotel was almost empty. I mentioned that at the reception and the only answer I received was a nice smile from the person...
No way to return in such a rip off!!!

Room Tip: If ever you consider to stay in this hotel, ask for a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhilipLongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YachthotelChiemsee, Manager at Yachthotel Chiemsee, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I´m sorry that you think that our prices are too high - but I´m sure that you won´t find a 4-star hotel with swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi etc. and breakfast buffet included for € 60,- per room - anywhere in Germany. We have more than 70 persons staff and

I still hope that you liked the region around the lake Chiemsee and the Yachthotel. In summer it is amazing to take a bath in the lake or to go cycling or hiking in the near mountains. Different events, concerts and many cultural highlights are nearby.

With best regards

Your Yachthotel-Team
Christoph Tacke
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I spent there only one night coming back from a business trip. It was a really great pleasure: double bed room are big enough and the see view is wonderful. The same is for the swimningpool/sauna area (maybe little bit too many childern).
The restaurant is ok even if a quite too much expensive.
Walking one km you can reach the small Hafen which is also interesting especially in summer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lele1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YachthotelChiemsee, Manager at Yachthotel Chiemsee, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your great and positive feedback. It is a pleasure to read, that you had some relaxed hours after your business trip.
We hope to welcome you soon – maybe with your family or friends.

With best regards

Your Yachthotel-team
Christoph Tacke
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

they made a mistake to stay open in December - but the service was poor and the food less then medium.

How can it happen that one person out of six does not get any food (a beef)?? A piece of beef should not take long, normally?

Anyway, the dinner room was cold, so we did seat with the winter / wind jacket and had dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jörg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was a nice hotel on the water. Definately ask for the non-street side to avoid traffic noise. (I believe rooms facing Wedt are the street side). Also, beds are full-size, so 2 adults in one can be a bit crowded. Amazing breakfast included. Would stay here again, very attentive staff.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank DesertDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YachthotelChiemsee, Manager at Yachthotel Chiemsee, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear guest,

We are very happy that you made such a good valuation with nice text.

You are right: The rooms to the street are “facing the west-side”. We also have rooms to the south-side – these are also very quiet rooms with big trees before it, and we have 40 rooms with lake view.

We also heard that in America our big beds in the south- and west-side-rooms (with 1,40m x 2 m) are called “Double” – not “Queen Size” like we called it. In this rooms we have two of this “Double”-beds.
In the rooms to the lake-side we have two beds 1m x 2m – or together a big bed.

We would be very pleased if you visit us another time – we also have some suites, if you like to stay longer and need more space. The suites are a little bit bigger, from 35qm to 48qm.

With best regards

Christoph Tacke
Hotel manager
Yachthotel Chiemsee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel seems quite old, but the conditions are still very good. If you don't love carpets then you won't like this place, as it's full of it. Anyhow the staff is discrete, and the room are clean. The place is particularly ideal if you enjoy relaxing and if you love water sports. There is also a nice swimming pool in the hotel. The breakfast is rich and good.. a lot of food variety (both fresh and cooked)...!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ologram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YachthotelChiemsee, Manager at Yachthotel Chiemsee, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your objective opinion and your compliment for our “rich and good” breakfast with “a lot of food variety” and the clean rooms and discrete staff.

We would be very happy if you visit us another time – maybe not for business but for holidays or some cultural or sportive excursions round the lake Chiemsee…

We hope to welcome you soon.

With best regards

Christoph Tacke
Hotelmanager
Yachthotel Chiemsee****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prien am Chiemsee
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luitpold am See
Hotel Luitpold am See
#9 of 9 in Prien am Chiemsee
62 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Neuer am See
Hotel Neuer am See
#2 of 9 in Prien am Chiemsee
118 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bayerischer Hof
Bayerischer Hof
#5 of 9 in Prien am Chiemsee
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Residenz Heinz Winkler
Residenz Heinz Winkler
#1 of 5 in Aschau Im Chiemgau
234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Garden Hotel Reinhart
Garden Hotel Reinhart
#3 of 9 in Prien am Chiemsee
51 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Seeblick
Hotel Seeblick
#1 of 5 in Bad Endorf
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yachthotel Chiemsee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yachthotel Chiemsee

Address: Harrasser Str. 49, 83209 Prien am Chiemsee, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Prien am Chiemsee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Prien am Chiemsee
Price Range: $115 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yachthotel Chiemsee 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yachthotel Chiemsee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yachthotel Chiemsee Prien Am

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing