We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yachthotel Chiemsee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

the Yachthotel at Chiemsee is a smallish, very nicely situated hotel; right on the lake with nice lawns sloping down to a small marina and a tiny beach. It's about 15 minutes walk from Stock where ther are bars and restaurants and from where the boats go to the islands. Prien itself is 30/40 minute walk.

The hotel itself is what I would conceive of as being very Bavarian, lots of wood and Bavarian style decor. The rooms are good, decently sized with good bathrooms and spacious balconies. Get a room on the lake side, they face sort of west west and have great views. The ones on the other side overlook the car park and the road with a forest rising beyond it. There also appear to be rooms in the attic with roof windows!


There is a small spa, which we didn't use a nd a small indoor pool, which we did. Swimming also in the lake itself.

Staff are very friendly and helpful. Restaurant is fine but maybe promises a bit more than it actually delivers.

The whole area is quiet and scenic, so don't look for night life. There are lots of water sports around.

we stayed a week.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake, probably worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnmireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YachthotelChiemsee, Manager at Yachthotel Chiemsee, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your excellent feedback. We are very happy about the nice headline!
It is a pleasure for us, that you were comfortable with our staff as well.

We hope to welcome you again and wish you a good time ...

Yours sincerely,

Yachthotel Chiemsee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 249 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

We spent a wonderful weekend at the Yachthotel in December. The location was perfect for us to attend the Christmas Markets. The grounds are lovely and would be exceptional in the spring/summer/fall seasons. The restaurant was terrific and the bar was the perfect cozy spot to start and end our evening.

Room Tip: Recommend a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SchatziMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YachthotelChiemsee, Manager at Yachthotel Chiemsee, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your excellent review and the great headline. Also in the spring- and summer month it´s a wonderful place to go swimming, cycling, hiking or just to make cultural sightseeing (Castle Herrenchiemsee, Island Frauenchiemsee, Salzburg or Munich).

We hope to welcome you again – maybe in spring or summer.

With best regards

Your Yachthotel Chiemsee
Christoph Tacke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was lucky enough to spend couple nights in this hotel. It is an old fashioned hotel I would say, but a very good one.
I had a room at the 2nd floor with the view of the lake. As it was snowing couple days before the view from the window was a fairy tale like.
If you are there, you have to take advantage of the spa area. I used the sauna, but the swimming pool seemed to be really nice as well.
The best surprise came in the morning at the breakfast. Having stay in various hotels and being from travel industry I can say that this is something everyone will enjoy. If I skip the classics of breakfasts (eggs, bacon), there was plenty of product which seemed to be locally produced. Those would be about 8 different kinds of jams, different salami, rich variation of cheese, about 4 or 6 different kinds of bread and I could go on. I loved the breakfast - fantastic start to the day.
The food overall was just great in the hotel. Whatever we have tasted was simply fantastic.

Room Tip: I had room 212 which is spacious and overlooks the lake. It is also a corner room at the end of a ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichalPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YachthotelChiemsee, Manager at Yachthotel Chiemsee, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. It´s wonderful that you enjoyed our sauna and swimming pool so much. Your right, that our breakfast contains many regional products and a good choice of different bread, marmalade, cheese etc. – we are happy that you liked it!
It would be a pleasure, if you visit the Yachthotel Chiemsee another time!

All the best for the New Year 2013 and a wonderful Christmas time

Your Yachthotel Chiemsee
Christoph Tacke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed at Yachthotel for a week in July-12 for business. Yachthotel is located at a beautiful location and very scenic which makes you unwind soon after a long day of meetings / conference. A cordial team and excellent customer service at the hotel. You'll find almost all required facilities in the hotel to make your stay a very comfortable one. Personalized attention for food requirements not just for in-room dining but also at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRASADBAJJURI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YachthotelChiemsee, Manager at Yachthotel Chiemsee, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your excellent feedback referring to your stay in summer this year.
We are glad that you have been comfortable with the location and our cuisine during your residence and looking forward that you have recovered although of a long day with meetings and conferences.

We hope to welcome you again next time ...

Merry Christmas and a happy New Year! Your Yachthotel-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Although I had read about Yachthotel Chiemsee on trip advisor, it seemed a bit pricey so I did not book a room in advance. When we arrived by car at Prien, we checked availability and price once again and it was less expensive and a perfect location for catching the boat to Herrenchiemsee. We literally dropped our bags off and walked the half mile to the dock in Prien to catch the last boat (about 4:00pm) to the island. The hotel provided free coupons for boat travel and it was a delightful walk to the dock.
After a lovely visit to King Ludwig II's palace, we returned to a wonderful hotel. What a lucky surprise. The location was perfect, the hotel (actually more of a spa) had beautiful grounds on the lakefront. The room was very modern with a large well appointed bathroom and our private balcony overlooked the beautiful lake and mountains. It was so quiet, we felt truly refreshed after a day of driving.
It was another lucky surprise to discover their convenient dining room that served excellent food and beer. The breakfast was hearty and included in the price of the room. All in all, this hotel was refreshing surprise and we recommend it highly if you want to slow down and relax.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake are very scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YachthotelChiemsee, Manager at Yachthotel Chiemsee, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your positive feedback referring to your stay in the Yachthotel Chiemsee.
We are very glad that you have enjoyed the quietness of your room, the beautiful view to the lake, our food and the typical Bavarian beer. The late summer is a perfect time to make a trip to the island and visit the King Ludwig II´s palace, because there are not so much visitors as in the summer time.

We hope to welcome you again and wish you a good time!

Your Yachthotel Chiemsee-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I recently spent 4 days here for work and found it to be a great way to step straight out of the conference room into an environment which instantly puts you at ease. The breakfast, lunch and dinners were all very good and there was a strong choice for those who don't eat meat, which is a plus in Bavaria. I tried the swimming pool a few times and was the only occupant at the time so was able to use it as my own. As for the rooms, I am not that particular regarding decor but can see the gripes of other reviewers considering the price for each night (although my costs were covered). My only complaint was that there were no mosquito nets on the windows of the room on the ground floor facing the lake (given that the hotel is surrounded by water and has it's own ponds there is a high number of mosquitos in the summer months come dusk). I like to have a naturally ventilated room when it has been > 25C in the day to be able to get off to sleep. Having been bitten already before arrival I wasn't prepared to wake up with extra chunks out of me so had to go for the unventilated option. There are some nice walks in the woods directly opposite the hotel so again an ideal way to kill a few hours before dinner. I would recommend to others who were planning a meeting.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear Jason,

thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are so glad that you have enjoyed the stay during your conference. It is also a pleasure for us that you have time to relax in our beautiful garden and in our new swimming pool. At the moment we got an offer for new fly-screens.
Our executive chef is very happy that you like the great choice of vegetarian food. We are excerted that we pamper our guests with a light and delicious cuisine.
For your next stay we recommend you the "Kletterwald Prien" next door to gain a new experience.
We are looking forward to your next stay and wish you a good time!
With best regards, Your Yachthotel-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The rooms are definitely due an update. Most hotels in this price range now are equipped with flat screen TVs and wi-fi.

But the grounds are spectacular, the service in the restaurant is excellent (along with the local fish), and I got a very good idea of what it must be like to be a German on holiday. I'm sure the hotel does a huge business in famly holidays and weddings. We did not have a room facing the lake, which was probably a big mistake on our part.

Compared to other hotels that we stayed in on this trip, this one felt just a bit overpriced.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFMMBCanton_Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YachthotelChiemsee, Manager at Yachthotel Chiemsee, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback, the great pictures which you attached and your suggestions. Till the 20th of June, every room will be equipped with LED Flat-screen-TV´s and LAN/wi-fi. Then we will receive 60 national and international high-definition-channels (8 english speaking channels) and you will have an enhanced wi-fi.
It´s a pleasure the read, that you liked our restaurant and the grounds. If you come to Germany again, we hope the welcome you at the Yachthotel Chiemsee and that you will enjoy the new TV´s and the better wi-fi.

With kind regards
Your Yachthotel-team
Christoph Tacke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prien am Chiemsee
5.5 mi away
Residenz Heinz Winkler
Residenz Heinz Winkler
#1 of 5 in Aschau Im Chiemgau
228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Neuer am See
Hotel Neuer am See
#2 of 9 in Prien am Chiemsee
118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luitpold am See
Hotel Luitpold am See
#9 of 9 in Prien am Chiemsee
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Garden Hotel Reinhart
Garden Hotel Reinhart
#3 of 9 in Prien am Chiemsee
51 reviews
7.6 mi away
SeeHotel Wassermann
SeeHotel Wassermann
#1 of 2 in Seebruck
54 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bayerischer Hof
Bayerischer Hof
#4 of 9 in Prien am Chiemsee
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yachthotel Chiemsee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yachthotel Chiemsee

Address: Harrasser Str. 49, 83209 Prien am Chiemsee, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Prien am Chiemsee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Prien am Chiemsee
Price Range: $123 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yachthotel Chiemsee 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yachthotel Chiemsee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yachthotel Chiemsee Prien Am

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing