We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel near beautiful Lake Chiemsee”
Review of Bayerischer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bayerischer Hof
Reviewed November 12, 2010

We stayed at this hotel based on TA reviews and were not disappointed. It is an easy walk from the train station in Prien , and not far at all on the little steam train to beautiful Lake Chiemsee. The staff, who were very helpful and polite, let us put our luggage behind the desk after check-out, so that we could see the sights before leaving Prien. The room was spotlessly clean and we noticed no noise during the night.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilysmom2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 93 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2009

The hotel is located in downtown Prien near the train station. The staff at the desk spoke some English and were polite. Our room was located on the 4th floor and was spacious and very clean. There is a small lift available. The bathroom was nicely tiled and immaculate. The breakfast buffet was very good and had an excellent selection of items. It's a pretty long walk to the Chiemsee from the hotel, but the Chiemsee Bahn is a short walk from the hotel and gets you to the boat docks within 10-15 minutes for about 2 Euro per person.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingfoolGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

I was travelling around part of central Europe at the time with my wife and 10 year old boys, we we aboard a train coming from Salzburg when the train stopped at Prien am Chiemsee, we quickly decided to get off there and find a hotel as we were so tired. The hotel Bayerischer Hof was right in front of the station so we booked in for two nights.

I felt at home straight away in the small lobby and reception area, we had a room which was one large bedroom and a little room just off it and a nice bathroom which was all very cosy. I was so pleased and relaxed that I went to reception and booked six nights.

We also had stumbled upon the annual Prien festival that was held in the little square opposite the hotel where there were all the town folk were dressed in traditional Bavarian costume, there was all kinds of things going on including Bavarian music , dancing, beer and food etc. What made it more enjoyable for us was, that it wasn't for tourists, there only seemed to be us foreigners there. It went on until about 1am but the next morning there was not one piece of litter on the floor.

There is a little steam train that goes from Prien station to the lake (Chiemsee) which is very pleasant and there are ferries that go to the two islands on the lake and you can hire little boats too. There are many pleasant places to eat and drink around the shore and great views of the alps. Also there is a swimming centre which has different pools and a heated outdoor pool open in Summer which I strongly recommend.

The situation of the hotel next to the station is very handy for trains to Saltzburg and Munich, both about one hour away plus the othe Bavarian towns that you can travel to.

Back to the hotel, the breakfast was very nice and the break fast room itself was very Bavarian, there is also a restaurant at the hotel but we did not eat there unfortunately.

Although I have travelled and stayed in bigger hotels with more facilities, I really felt at home and so relaxed at this one and in Prien am Chiemsee, I am really glad that we got off that train on impulse that morning.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TooWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

By far the biggest room we had on our trip to Germany - great bathroom too. Breakfast was good, though not as generous as some other places we stayed at. Hotel is also well located in town.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gringomadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

It is well over a year since I spent 4 nights at this hotel in Prien (May 2008). But I have recently posted a review of a so-called 4-star hotel in Villars, Switzerland, and it reminded me of how good the Bayerischer Hof was - excellent food, spacious, modern and comfortable room and without the totally pretentious nouvelle cuisine and fussy, unnecessary "service".

I'd go back any day!

Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

The Bayerischer Hof is located in the center of town, making for great accessibility. The facade of this hotel looks confusingly like a clothing store, but once you enter, the establishment is clean and professional. The lobby and the breakfast room were visually appealing and functional. The staff behind the check-in desk was friendly and helpful when it came to directions and questions about the hotel's services.

As for the rooms, they were rather drab with unremarkable decorations; however, they were quite comfortable, spacious, and clean. The closet and bathroom were both unusually large for a European hotel, and each room had its own balcony. Each room also included an alarm clock in addition to the other expected amenities.

The breakfast, which came free with the reservation, was fairly extensive and very tasty. The waiting staff was quite attentive and efficient.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jernst3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Overall I was very satisfied. Room was clean and spacious, also bathroom. Room wasn't airconditioned or couldn't find remote. Hotel is located in downtown shops and restaurants in surrounding area.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmejstrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prien am Chiemsee
1.1 mi away
Yachthotel Chiemsee
Yachthotel Chiemsee
#1 of 9 in Prien am Chiemsee
250 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Neuer am See
Hotel Neuer am See
#2 of 9 in Prien am Chiemsee
118 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Luitpold am See
Hotel Luitpold am See
#9 of 9 in Prien am Chiemsee
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Garden Hotel Reinhart
Garden Hotel Reinhart
#3 of 9 in Prien am Chiemsee
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pension Lindenhof
Hotel Pension Lindenhof
#6 of 9 in Prien am Chiemsee
22 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Bonnschloessl
Hotel Bonnschloessl
#2 of 7 in Bernau am Chiemsee
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayerischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayerischer Hof

Address: Bernauer Str. 3, 83209 Prien am Chiemsee, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Prien am Chiemsee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Prien am Chiemsee
Price Range: $90 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayerischer Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated in the town centre, and is only minutes by foot to the train station and the exclusive shops and boutiques. It takes only two minutes by car to the harbour and the Prienavera Leisure Complex. The hotel has been owned by the Estermann family for the last 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HRS, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bayerischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing