We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant was the best part.”
Review of Zum Fischer am See

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zum Fischer am See
Reviewed December 27, 2011

If you are looking for a stay that is close to all the Chiemsee attractions, this may not be your place. It is a 15-20 minute drive just to get to anything you came here for. However, if you are looking for an inexpensive place to base out of for a day or two, this might be it. We had the three bedroom apartment on the top floor and it had a few issues. There was kind of two bathrooms...one full bath, and the other with a shower and sink. The second shower and sink room, there was no shower curtain, so we weren't to sure if we were supposed to use it. It appeared as though they weren't quite done with this room. The other bathroom was beautiful...except the brand new shower base had a crack in the bottom, so it leaked everywhere. We asked about it getting fixed, but it appeared as though the owners were having a family reunion of their own, so they didn't care. We taped up the shower and continued on. The rest of the apartment was nice. Watch your head, because this is the top floor, meaning attic (to us Americans). It was open and spacious, if not a little confusing the way it was put together. Overall, the bed were comfortable, and we slept well. Once we got the shower base taped up (good thing my son brought duct tape), the bath was fine.

The best part f the stay was the restaurant. The XXL Schnitzel was the largest we have ever seen! The cranberry topping for the schnitzel was incredible. Breakfast was so good, I looked forward to waking up in the morning. The coffee made me forget about hitting my head on the wall/ceiling. As said before, it appears as though the restaurant is the primary business here, and the rooms get a second billing.

Overall, if they fixed these minor issues, it would be nicer stay. The location can not be fixed though. If you are planing on waking up and walking anywhere, stay somewhere else. If you need economy and have a car to drive into town, this might be for you.

Also, if you travel in Germany (or anywhere else for that matter) and can not speak their language, don't get upset. DK travel books have a great menu translator in it, and it has some good phrases to help you get by.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 47Driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 39 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

Tbe best thing about this hotel was it was easy to find and only a short drive from Stock and the ferry port. The picture you see of the outside of the hotel faces the lake and so it actually looks quite different and uninteresting. We didn't have a balcony and overlooked the car park which was noisy late evening.

The room for 3 was quite ok, a decent size,but not inspiring, with a newly refurbished bathroom. Although there were a lot of tv channels none were in english. All staff we met spoke a little english, enough to manage and they were helpful. The unfortunate thing was the menu, in german only and one member of staff did try to help us with translation . This was the only restaurant we went in that didn't have an english menu.

The restaurant seems to be the main focus for this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethLimassol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bavaria49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Kirsten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wuiffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Christoph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prien am Chiemsee
0.9 mi away
Yachthotel Chiemsee
Yachthotel Chiemsee
#1 of 9 in Prien am Chiemsee
260 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Pension Lindenhof
Hotel Pension Lindenhof
#6 of 9 in Prien am Chiemsee
22 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bonnschloessl
Hotel Bonnschloessl
#2 of 7 in Bernau am Chiemsee
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Luitpold am See
Hotel Luitpold am See
#9 of 9 in Prien am Chiemsee
64 reviews
3.8 mi away
Gasthof Fischerstuberl
Gasthof Fischerstuberl
#2 of 3 in Grassau
11 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Neuer am See
Hotel Neuer am See
#2 of 9 in Prien am Chiemsee
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zum Fischer am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zum Fischer am See

Address: Harrasser Str. 145, 83209 Prien am Chiemsee, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Prien am Chiemsee
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Prien am Chiemsee
Price Range: $109 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zum Fischer am See 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zum Fischer am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing