We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at a rental across the street and LOVED this restaurant!”

Weingut Zum Storch Restaurant
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed October 5, 2017

My husband and daughters and I were seated in the outdoor garden. Although very German herself, the chef kindly spoke English to us. We ordered Schnitzel but the chef had her own recommendation and brought glazed beef and noodles, and pork shoulder with dumplings to our table. My beef and noodles were FABULOUS: I will dream about this meal forever (no joke!) Our kids ordered fries and brats, basic fare for most German restaurants, however I am so glad the chef had us try her favorite dishes. The ambiance, authentic food, and hospitable staff was highly enjoyable during our European trip.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mamerch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 56 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2017

We started with an appetizer, 3 components: Schinken with a side of pesto, Spargel soup (Asparagus) and Lachs (smoked salmon) with a mild horseradish sauce. All served with fresh bread. It was a feast for the eyes. The plate was not over filled, which in my opinion takes away from the dining pleasure. The quality and presentation were worthy of a Michelin star.

For the main course we had the Tafelspitz with cranberries in a light horseradish sauce served with band noodles. We also had the Wild mit Knödel. We ordered the two course with the suggested wine for each and it was a very good way to try regional wines knowing that they'd fit to what we were eating.

This was an outstanding experience with all the components that make up a great experience not only with the food and presentation but with the ambience and the wonderful staff.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank judeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2016

We didn't eat here, but had some beers. The service was fine and based on the other tables, it looked like the food was good. However all tables were reserved the time we dropped by. We were also unable to eat here during our 3 day stay in Prichsenstadt since they have rest days on Mondays and on Tuesdays.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2016

Over the past decade we have eaten many meals in the Storch and always found the food well above average, the service good and the atmosphere very pleasant. On our most recent visit, four of us drove half an hour, expecting a treat of a meal. We ordered four different entrees and each of us found ours to be nothing better than average. The service and atmosphere were as we had come to expect during our many past visits.
We hear that this family-run restaurant has been taken over by the next generation. Whether this was the cause of our disappointment, or perhaps a substitute chef, we have no idea. But, each dish lacked the robust flavors we had come to expect in the past. My pork steak dish not only lacked flavor, but the meat was tough, the gravy watery so watery that I had to eat my French Fried Potatoes out of the serving dish.
On the positive side, the staff is still friendly and efficient, the wines good as ever and the ambiance still a positive. Alas, the food was not worth a half hour drive in each direction. We will try this old favorite again when we are nearby and hope this last experience was a one-off. If the quality has truly changed, then the Storch has become no better than an average 3 Point restaurant.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2015

The Gasthof Storch is located in a village that makes you travel back in time, ringed by vinyards, this is a jewel of Franconia. You can sit in a beautiful interior, decorated with real antiques that add tremendously to the atmosphere and are rather unique, or sit outside under a very special tree with huge leaves, a beergarden ringed with roses on comfortable chairs.
The service is friendly and great, the menu has typical Franconian kitchen as well as inventive and great cross-overs to internaltional quisine that go beyond the usual 'German-Gasthof-food' and are truly special.
The Storch, family-led for many generations receives you with true friendliness and the food is above-level great and delicious.
You can sample local wines and even book a tour on a horse carriage. The hotel rooms are very clean and big... it's all you can wish for in Franconia in one place!

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jules B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weingut Zum Storch Restaurant also viewed

Prichsenstadt, Lower Franconia
Prichsenstadt, Lower Franconia
 
Castell, Lower Franconia
Prichsenstadt, Lower Franconia
 
Schwarzach am Main, Lower Franconia
Oberschwarzach, Lower Franconia
 

Been to Weingut Zum Storch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing