We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for family but dull during day time”
Review of Rhoen Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rhoen Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hausen
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A nice hotel with friendly staff. Large, very large but still no place to have a decent drink during day time. Only at 18.00 bars and restaurants really open. The rooms are dated but good, linnen is spotless. The sauna opens at noon and pool earlier. The hotel has 3 restaurants that can be used used for breakfast and dinner. The smaller restaurants are more cosy but have less choice at the breakfast buffet. The dinner (buffet) prices are reasonable but no a-la cart option. The hotel has a focus on families with childeren so a do expect a lot of childeren sounds. There is a good animation team and enough to be done out doors. The overall atmosphere is good, rooms are clean, showers are so so (water temperature changing during showering).

In short OK hotel for 2 - 4 days. Once you have been here no reason to turn back

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdB43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhoen_park_hotel, Geschäftsführer at Rhoen Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thank you for comments. Indeed, the Rhön Park Hotel - Aktiv Resort is a large hotel. During day time, we have our restaurant RhönInsel open from 07.30 until 21.30 hours where you can enjoy a coffee, local beers and selection of wines. From 18.00 hours onwards, our pub is open. Actually, we have a wide variety of opties available, as you mentioned, we have our animation team, outdoor activities such as nordic walking! Please visit our website for more programmes. In addition, our subtropical swimmingpool is open from 09.00 - 21.30 hours, Sauna from 12.00 hours, you can enjoy and visit various small historical villages, the bionade factory, hence plenty to do!
Ben Baars - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
There are newer reviews for Rhoen Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 429 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed a long weekend (Fri-Sun) at Rhon Park in November.
We booked 3 appartments; one for a family with 1 child, 1 for a couple and 1 for a single person.

The appartments were recently renovated and are very cosy and spacious. You would not expect such nice rooms when you see the corridors...
We were all placed in the same building/corridor so we were all close together. The configuration of the hotel is somewhat confusing and requires a lot of walking to the main building but after 2 days you know the best route to find your room.

It was raining all Saturday so the pool was packed with people. We decided to find some entertainment elsewhere. The indoor playground is really great for the small ones for an hour or 2. Unfortunately there is not much (actually none) entertainment for the grown-ups during a rainy day besides spending it in the spa or pool. You can go mini-bowling and that's it.
The main bar(s) open at 6 pm while we were keen on having a drink in the early afternoon.

The area and hotel is great for walking or winteractivities. I would definately go there again with my family if I would know that the entertainment during day time was improved. Or bring enough games to kill time on a wet, windy and rainy day if you are not into swimming.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhoen_park_hotel, Geschäftsführer at Rhoen Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012
Google Translation

Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung, es freut uns zu lesen dass Sie zufrieden waren. Sie haben Recht, das Rhön Park Hotel ist eine grosse Anlage, aber man kennt sich schnell aus.
Bis bald im Rhön Park Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We just spent a long weekend with our family at this place : the accomodation was ok, the swimming pool excellent and the surroundings are quite amazing. Catering was reasonable quality.

It is also a very child friendly hotel, with lots of things to do for them (even inside so you don't depend on the weather too much).

Sofar the positive : I feel inclined to issue a warning : if you don't want to get the feeling they are trying very hard to rip you off, DO NOT book the all-in arrangement.

Communication went as follows : at arrival we were told that beverages were included, except for beer before diner. There was a place called the Frankenstube were this arrangement was valid. First day went rather according to plan. The next day however, we suddenly were presented with a bill in that same Frankenstube (different people serving). We complained about it, but they claimed stubbornly we had to pay. Afterwards we took the bill to the reception, where the receptionist shook her had (in a "did they really pull that one again" fashion) and told us she would take care of the bill on check out.

Final night, diner : every evening we had diner in the Rothe Kamin, where a table was reserved due to our all-in booking. On our final evening, we ordered drinks with our food, just like before, a mix of beer, cola and cola light. Out of the blue, a new bill : the waitress argued again that not all was included : cola yes, cola light not. Finally we called the manager, told him we were not planning on paying anything and she quickly disposed of the bill, after having tried again to argue that cola light was not included. she gave in after we told her that every night before we had ordered just the same with no bill as a result.

On check out they almost "forgot" about our bill that needed settling (although the woman that handled our initial complaint was standing next to the one handling our check out), and it took another 10 minutes and a new manager to get things settled... This manager added that drinks were only included betweet 10 AM and 9 PM, and we had order at 9:02 PM....

So, after a 3 day stay I deducted (because never explained properly by anyone) that drinks are included between 10AM and 9PM, no beer except at diner, ice cream in the afternoon for the kids but no cake (we wittnessed personel arguing that the cake was payable, ice cream not, leaving the child in tears, not understanding what was going on), and that drinks that are included are the ones that are written down in a leaflet on the table, were there apparently is a substantial difference between taking a coke or a coke light. We talked to some fellow guests who had booked an all inclusive, but did not complain about the bills (they didn't understand why, but payed up anyway, hence resulting in a rip off).

Personel does not not know what is what and which is which, clearly demonstrated in the differente explenations we got about what was and what was not included in our booking. Every time they have to call reception to know what to do (or, they simply guess and bully the bill onto you).

This is a known problem (we read similar comments after we had booked) and at present is still very actual.

Conclusion : nice place to stay, but if you want to prevent confusion and frustration, by all means refrain of booking an all inclusive, make your own (undoubtetly more healhty) food and have a good time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inge V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhoen_park_hotel, Geschäftsführer at Rhoen Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Thank you for your comments on your stay at the Rhön Park Hotel. It is appreciated that you have shared your concerns about the handling of your all inclusive booking with us. We assume you have reserved your holiday trip through Jet Air in Belgium. If you would review your reservation details, it clearly shows to which type of drinks you are entitled including the window of time served whereby we wish to add that, at Rhön Park Hotel, we are serving premium brands drinks which is definitely not always available in so called all inclusive offers you will find around the world.

You are correct by saying that the inconsistency in handling of our service staff is not at the required standard. Within our management team, we are actually undertaking efforts to ensure that all service staff are aware of the various programs, we are offering to our guests. At the backside of each menu card, the drinks offered in the program is listed. Within this program, cola light is not offered however our restaurant manager has anticipated well on your complaint, the cola light was taken of your invoice. Likewise for the window of time, that you were entitled to free drinks, it is and was indeed between 10 AM and 09 PM. You will find the time as well on your reservation slip with Jet Air.
Looking from our point of view, we are handling the program with an acceptable flexibility to our guests with the objective to keep everyone happy. It is definitely not correct that we are trying to confuse our guests or even worse as you write, we are ripping of our guests on purpose. This approach does not reflect our Company’s mission statement neither my personal values in life. I can therefore not agree with your closing statement, it does not reflect our values in business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomsen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skoeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ulil352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhoen_park_hotel, Geschäftsführer at Rhoen Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hausen
5.7 mi away
Landhotel Thuringer Hof
Landhotel Thuringer Hof
#1 of 1 in Ostheim vor der Rhoen
23 reviews
8.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Rhoen Garden
14.9 mi away
Kunzmann's Hotel / Spa / Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Dorint Resort & Spa Bad Bruckenau
8.8 mi away
Hotel Gersfelder Hof
Hotel Gersfelder Hof
#1 of 3 in Gersfeld
58 reviews
141.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhoen Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhoen Park Hotel

Address: Rother Kuppe 2, 97647 Hausen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Hausen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hausen
Price Range: $125 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhoen Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rhoen Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhoen Park Hotel Germany/Hausen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing