We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place! Quiet area and outstanding staff!”
Review of Kolmenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kolmenhof
Ranked #1 of 5 Furtwangen B&B and Inns
west central Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome place! Quiet area and outstanding staff!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at the Gasthaus Kolmenhof for two nights during a trip to the Black Forest region. It was the best quality "hotel" that we stayed at during two weeks. We booked the family room as we were traveling with our 24 year old and 15 year old. The room was very clean and well maintained. We used the downstairs livingroom to watch a movie one night which was nice. We ate breakfast and dinner twice while at the hotel and the food was outstanding. The waitress in the evening was bilingual and was very helpful in assisting us. She told us about a hiking trail right by the hotel and we had a marvelous walk. If you hike, be watching out for a huge rock formation to the right of the trail. It is amazing. The Internet is 1 Euro an hour, and it is fast and reliable. Our beds were very comfortable, but our son is almost 6 feet tall and the bunk bed was a little short. Our bathroom was very nice and modern. We had a large tub/shower which would be terrific for those who like to get into a tub. The bunk bed room has a door so each room has some privacy. Each room also has its own television. The entire hotel was very clean, beautifully appointed, and well maintained. We did visit the sauna/hot tub area, but we did not use it. The hot tub is made for an individual to sit in it--it is not a pool.

Room Tip: Groups of four should definitely ask for the family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susannjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
17
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
N. California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This gasthof is a few km outside of Furtwangen, at the end of a very rural road. Therefore, it is totally quiet and secluded. Nearby is a source (*the* source?) of the Danube river. There are also many hiking trails, and I think the x-c skiing would be very good.

The rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable. The restaurant is of course pretty basic but in my opinion the food is excellent.

All the staff are friendly and helpful.

If you are looking for a rural experience in the Black Forest, I don't think you could do any better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W0nka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Rooms were basic, not modern nor lately renovated, but still clean and comfortable. Beds could have been better. Breakfast was alright.
Owners are very nice and helpful, and so is the rest of the stuff.
For families - especially with young children - I think this is a good choice. Also for anyone who's looking for a simple warm place, in the middle of a great nature. If you'd like to get some spoiling vacation, I'm not sure this would be you best choice. We were 2 families with 4 children (1, 7, 8, 10 year old) and enjoyed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokneam, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

++++ Surroundings, Atmosphere, rooms, showers, service, chef restaurant, reach breakfast.
-- no bath

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShlomoYokneam_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furtwangen
2.5 mi away
Hotel an der Sonne
Hotel an der Sonne
#6 of 8 in Schonwald
18 reviews
4.8 mi away
Landhotel Thaelerhaeusle-Ochsen
2.4 mi away
Gasthof zur Birke
Gasthof zur Birke
#2 of 3 in Furtwangen
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Boutique-Hotel Alemannenhof
Boutique-Hotel Alemannenhof
#4 of 20 in Titisee-Neustadt
295 reviews
13.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Hofgut Sternen
4.3 mi away
Hotel Central Garni
Hotel Central Garni
#2 of 7 in Triberg
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolmenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolmenhof

Property: Kolmenhof
Address: Neuweg 11, 78120 Furtwangen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Furtwangen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Furtwangen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kolmenhof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Kolmenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing