We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the junior suite!”
Review of Hotel Schwan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Schwan
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Wertheim
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Take the junior suite!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed overnight as a member of a group of bicycle tourists. We had difficulties with the booking-for some reason the hotel was unable to confirm via email, but eventually managed to send a fax. They have no real reception area, which may explain this minor mishap.
The hotel has an excellent location, probably a bit difficult to reach if you happen to come by car, as the entrance is in a pedestrian area, but for us bikers, that was not an issue. The hotel caters for bike tourists, and has its own parking garage where the bikes are safe overnight.
The hotel has an old and a modern part, which explains the very variable appreciation of the rooms here on tripadvisor. We booked two junior suites in the modern part of the hotel, and found them stylish, modern, clean and huge. The bathrooms come close to some I have seen in 5 star properties.
We also ate at their restaurant, as we had chosen half board, and were very satisfied with the meal and the overall dining experience. The breakfast was just average, though.
The hotel made a billing error, which I discovered too late and which was too insignificant to complain - they were 1 Euro off in the addition. I suspect they do the receipts manually without the help of a computer (as I said, no dedicated reception area), but that did not spoil our stay. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: I think it is worthwhile to pay a little more for the modern rooms. Go for the suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marais75012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    19
    4
    9
See reviews for
8
23
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed in this nice little hotel in beautiful Wertheim am Main on our way to Bamberg. Very clean and pleasant. A good value for this touristy area and the price included breakfast. Bathroom was very functional, modern and clean. Staff was courteous and helpful. We walked all over town from this location. Parking was fairly close so we did not have to haul bags a great distance. Nice patio for having a drink and watching people.

Room Tip: Front room overlook Main, there is some noise from traffic, but subsides in the evening. You can he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchburg, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I've stayed here many times and between the junior suites and executive suites (not much price difference from regular rooms) it's one of the few hotels that have nice size rooms, big bathrooms and a good selection of TV's stations. The restaurant is fabulous with a wide variety of inexpensive and huge value for price meals. Basic German and fancy cooking on one menu. The staff is great and always someone here that speak great English. I have been to four other hotels and in my 4 visits a year hear for business, this has become my home!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Axel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great hotel. It has been refurbished since my last stay and it has made a big difference. The room I had was modern, stylish and very comfortable. The restaurant serves fantastic food all cooked to order and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very nice well decorated and clean hotel with helpful staff. Food in restaurant is amazing (especially the duck) full of seasonal gourmet dishes. Great location and views!
The restaurant and hotel rooms look super new and the "smokers Lounge" was awesome!
We´ll def. come again soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room are very modern and more importantly impeccably clean and tidy! Beds and sheets super comfortable and bathroom was very nice. However, the best thing of the hotel is their restaurant! Food was just incredibly good! Even is you don't spend the night you must go to the restaurant if you are in the Wertheim area!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ldcroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The rooms were a good size and the beds very comfortable. Bathrooms lovely and spacious with a good powerful shower and also a bath.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was was good and the food served in the evening was delicious.

Great location and reasonable price. The room we stayed in looked brand new and it appeared that refurbishments were going on however we weren't disturbed by these at all.

The only thing that would help to improve it would be air con, it was very hot while we were in Germany and even with all the windows open the room was still a little hot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonpeanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wertheim
1.6 mi away
Gasthof Hotel Mainperle
Gasthof Hotel Mainperle
#8 of 9 in Wertheim
10 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Herrnwiesen
Hotel Herrnwiesen
#1 of 1 in Kreuzwertheim
23 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Anker
Hotel Anker
#1 of 5 in Marktheidenfeld
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Talblick Hotel & Gasthof
Talblick Hotel & Gasthof
#1 of 1 in Esselbach
6 reviews
8.2 mi away
Belle Maison - Das kleine Hotel
1.0 mi away
Apartmenthaus Wertheim
Apartmenthaus Wertheim
#1 of 9 in Wertheim
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schwan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schwan

Property: Hotel Schwan
Address: Mainplatz 8, 97877 Wertheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Wertheim
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Wertheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Schwan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing