We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, great food, amazing Team!”
Review of Hotel Schwan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Schwan
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Wertheim
Wurzburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, great food, amazing Team!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very nice well decorated and clean hotel with helpful staff. Food in restaurant is amazing (especially the duck) full of seasonal gourmet dishes. Great location and views!
The restaurant and hotel rooms look super new and the "smokers Lounge" was awesome!
We´ll def. come again soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    19
    4
    9
See reviews for
8
23
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room are very modern and more importantly impeccably clean and tidy! Beds and sheets super comfortable and bathroom was very nice. However, the best thing of the hotel is their restaurant! Food was just incredibly good! Even is you don't spend the night you must go to the restaurant if you are in the Wertheim area!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ldcroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The rooms were a good size and the beds very comfortable. Bathrooms lovely and spacious with a good powerful shower and also a bath.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was was good and the food served in the evening was delicious.

Great location and reasonable price. The room we stayed in looked brand new and it appeared that refurbishments were going on however we weren't disturbed by these at all.

The only thing that would help to improve it would be air con, it was very hot while we were in Germany and even with all the windows open the room was still a little hot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonpeanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in July, nice hotel and room nothing special but very comfortable, the weather was extremely hot when here the room could have done with some AC, but other than that no complaints. Good breakfast and very pleasant sitting outside with a beer in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I would agree with the other reviewers who rate this as average but with good overall value.
Lovely people, good breakfast, excellent location, and reasonable price (the value side), but I don't get the impression they have a love of the hotel business (the average side).
The rooms I've stayed in are large but starvingly minimalistic. I felt like I was in an institution. There was no instruction on the phone as to how to do anything such as call the front desk/bar. No heat control in the room. Standard comforter on the bed without sheets. Nothing on the walls to break the monotone white (which had not seemingly been painted in a while). It would not take much to improve the hotel - a discerning eye and a desire - and since repairs are being done due to natural calamity when would now be a good time to take care of it?

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadley, MA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed her for 2 nights October 14-October 16th. The hotel is very centrally located in this small town . You enter the hotel into the bar area of the restaurant........no separate and specific/designated reception area. We found this unusual. Room was spacious . Windows faced onto the old part of the city. The room was clean The room we stayed in looked like it was last updated in the 1970's with curtains, bedspreads and carpeting all in different patterns. Capreting on walls. The carpeting in the hallways were very dirty, stained, worn and old and need to be replaced. Furnishings were minimally.......limited to no public sitting spaces. This hotel needs an interior updating and overhaul. The outside of the building is very pleasant. The owner was very helpful and pleasant as well. Staff were a mixed bag. Whoever is on duty at the bar is the person that checks you in. One staff person was nice. Another restuarant employee seemed disengaged, distant and somewhat dour. Good value for the price but not so sure I would stay again. Very charming and pretty town with a castle overlooking the town and the hotel facing the Rhine River, definitely worth visiting(The town)
Hadley, MA

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgo120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
497 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

From the outside, this looks like the typical "old-town" hotel, on a pedestrian street. Boy, were we surprised to be led to our room, in the "new" part of the hotel -- ultra-modern! Glass block walls for the large bathroom. Lots of lighting (which actually made the room very hot!).

We left early in the morning, so cannot really rate the breakfast.

Only complaint was someone knocking on all the doors on our floor in the middle of the night. Were they lost? Selling newspapers? We weren't sure, but didn't appreciate the interruption.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acedaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wertheim
1.6 mi away
Gasthof Hotel Mainperle
Gasthof Hotel Mainperle
#8 of 9 in Wertheim
9 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tauberhotel Kette
Tauberhotel Kette
#3 of 9 in Wertheim
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Herrnwiesen
Hotel Herrnwiesen
#1 of 1 in Kreuzwertheim
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Anker
Hotel Anker
#1 of 5 in Marktheidenfeld
95 reviews
7.0 mi away
Talblick Hotel & Gasthof
Talblick Hotel & Gasthof
#1 of 1 in Esselbach
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
La Flamme Wertheim Garni
#1 of 3 in Wertheim
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schwan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schwan

Property: Hotel Schwan
Address: Mainplatz 8, 97877 Wertheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Wertheim
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Wertheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Schwan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing