We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pity”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of HOTEL DU COMMERCE

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
HOTEL DU COMMERCE
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Thones
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a pity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

I passed by here last summer to eat, and marveled at the decor, the quality of the mouthwatering food, the welcome, and the efficiency of the staff.
Passing by the same route this summer, I popped in once again for lunch. I have to say the food was still fantastic as ever, great value for money, but the service has seemed to have taken a nosedive.
The staff (one from last year, very charming and professional young lady) are welcoming, accommodating, and enthusiastic, but they seem to be understaffed. It's painful to watch them jumping through hoops trying to please everyone.
I will return next summer, Hotel du Commerce, and I hope that your staff will have time to chat to me, instead of making me feel like I'm just being "processed".

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattieBrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    31
    18
    9
    1
See reviews for
22
27
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

I absolutely loved my stay there earlier this year in March and was very disappointed when I had to return to Thones in April and could not book back into this hotel as they close for the month of April. I feel the character of this hotel captures the essence and true spirit of this traditional French village. The little balcony off my room was gorgeous and the smell from the bakery across the road early in the morning was wonderful. The staff were so friendly and helpful. It felt like home from home.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here in July whilst participating in a cycling event in nearby Annecy. This hotel is small, but pleasant and clean. Staff are very friendly and helpful, and went out of their way to accommodate a few particular requests we had. Breakfast is basic but good. Has parking at the rear and a nice sun terrace. There is free WiFi throughout the hotel.
Agree with other comments that the reception is not open a lot of the time, inexplicably the entire downstairs area was completely locked up and inaccessible at inexplicable times, eg when we were enjoying a drink on the terrace on Monday lunchtime and wanted to get another round of drinks, only to find that all staff had gone home, the bar/restaurant area was locked, and even the WiFi appeared to have been switched off.
Also, the practice of just leaving the room keys on the table by the entrance is not particularly secure.
Thones itself is a nice quaint little town, and on the whole this hotel is a pleasant stopover point, I would stay again if passing through.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tm2982000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imola, Italy
Level Contributor
88 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were expecting something more: rooms are very tiny, cleanliness approximate. Bed an sheaths were clean. Public areas leave much to be desired. Very limited parking space on the back, about 5 or 6 cars only. Cannot rate the restaurant, as we didn't eat here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LukeOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thones hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

For this price I would choose another Hotel. It was lot of noice every morning, no 24h reception Service (they put your room keys in the night on a table where everybody has free access from the street!!!?!? I was shocked), the bed was doing noices because it is not installed propperly!?. Good was the location and the nice staff.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domsimao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thones
0.3 mi away
Fasthotel
Fasthotel
#1 of 4 in Thones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#4 of 4 in Thones
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Hermitage
Hotel l'Hermitage
#2 of 4 in Thones
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Bellachat
Bellachat
#17 of 19 in La Clusaz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Alpen Roc
Hotel Alpen Roc
#4 of 19 in La Clusaz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chalet Les Saytels
BEST WESTERN Chalet Les Saytels
#9 of 9 in Le Grand-Bornand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL DU COMMERCE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL DU COMMERCE

Property: HOTEL DU COMMERCE
Address: 5 rue des Clefs, 74230 Thones, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Thones
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Thones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HOTEL DU COMMERCE 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your HOTEL DU COMMERCE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing