We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great week of skiing at Chalet Shiraz”
Review of Chalet Shiraz

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Houches
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Shiraz
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a great week at Chalet Shiraz. Our hosts were very obliging and chauffered us to and from the different skiing areas every day, food was mostly excellent and plentiful, chalet was warm and comfortable, and the hot tub was extremely hot with amazing views of the surrounding area.

Lisa popped in a couple of times to check that we were getting on ok. My boyfriend and I got engaged while we were there and she very kindly gave us bottles of fizz to celebrate with our friends! Thanks for a great holiday!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Chalet Shiraz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 95 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic stay at Chalet Shiraz, the accommodation is spacious, well furnished etc but the staff at the chalet really made our week extra special.

James was more than happy to drop us off and collect us whenever needed, Dave was an excellent host, always ready with a smile and a nice bottle of wine! Kelsey the chef served fantastic food each night, portions were always big (too much so at times!) we travelled with my daughters (2 and 5) and they thoroughly enjoyed every childs meal they had (served at 6pm).

We stayed on the top floor and as we were in a party of 7 had the top floor to ourselves, this included two family rooms (bunk beds and an enormous comfortable king size in each) and also a games room, with kids dvd's, games and a wii game console.

On one of the days we arranged to go on a husky ride with huskydalen, I would recommend this as an attraction, they were very helpful and the experience itself was wonderful.

Lisa was very helpful during booking and often called around to check that we were happy.

The views at the chalet are outstanding, especially from the hot tub and terrace. We will definitely be back and are recommending Chalet Shiraz to all our friends.

Room Tip: If you are staying with children try and get a top floor room
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a great stay - 14 adults with no children in 4 days. Next time we will come back with our children and grandparents. This place is perfect for everyone.

The chalet is close to a Norwegian cabin standard (DNT) except that this chalet has bathrooms to all rooms. It also has a jacuzzi outside. Is is placed 10 minutes drive from Chamonix.

The best about this place is the staff. Three people are taking care of us at all times. The driver, James, was service minded day and night and very devoted to his job. He is a good person and hopefully we will meet again in Norway. Dave was serving us at the chalet and fixing everything we needed. Always smiling and with great humor. Perfect host! The newly educated chef Kelsey was a sweetie! If it had not been for the very nice food we had eaten her up :) this was her first job but the food had quality as an experienced chef had made it. Croissants and muffins in the morning - yummy! And everything to put on and drink. Dinner was three main course and specially appetizers and dessert was delicious!

We did not see the owners more than once but with such staff the owners can go on vacation ;) We got spoiled and had service 24/7. We will definitely recommend this chalet to everyone. Especially because of the three people working there.

Sincerely,

Gry and Thomas.

Room Tip: Downstairs quieter than upstairs.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

How often dou you experience a budget vacation including a host a cook and your own driver? Well, at Chalet Chiraz this is ste standard. Nice Rooms, excellent staff and nice surroundings. Go there, you will enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tore Tang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at Chalet Shiraz as a large group for a weeks skiing trip. Lisa was very helpful throughout our booking process and during the stay, she certainly went the extra mile. The accomodation itself is excellent for such a group and the staff were very friendly and attentive. The food was great too. In short I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewHMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We travelled to Chalet Shiraz as a family, expecting a luxury Chalet as advertised.
Lisa - who is one of the owners, did a great job selling the holiday to us saying there would be another family with children to share with.
Boy, was Lisa economical with the truth.
The other family were well into their 50's with Children in their 30's.
To say that the group that we shared with were obstinate would be an understatement.
The Chalet itself was okay, but not what I would call luxury.
The lounge area was dated and a little too formal for a large group of strangers.
The dining table was big enough for a large group, but the kitchen staff were tucked away behind a door, in a not very tidy looking kitchen.
The upstairs room we had was a family room and was very large.
The beds and linen were very comfortable, and the en-suite bathroom was clean and had fresh linen and toiletries.
There was an upstairs sofa with TV and games console, which was a godsend as we could stay away from the other group!.
Our friend who came with us, had a small smelly noisy room by the boot room and kitchen.
Anyone that has one of the downstairs rooms is getting a raw deal for the price.
I would not recommend the downstairs rooms, especially if you have to share a shower room after a long day on the slopes.
The Hot Tub was not working during our stay.
The Chalet staff, Jean, James and Ryan were very helpful and friendly.
James was a good cook, bit it was very obvious from day two that the owners did not give the cooks a very good budget to work with.
Rocket was often stale, ingredients often reworked – cous cous etc.
Jean and James made a great fuss of our daughter and cooked special earlier meals for her and desserts. Jean and James were absolutely lovely.
Breakfast was generally great with bacon and eggs every day.
Ryan was an excellent driver and tried to do his best for us despite having only one chalet van, frozen diesel and a demanding rude group of guests who shouted at him.
All in all, I would say that Chalet Shiraz is an average Chalet – not a luxury one.
Lisa and Jason (owners) are not really present once they have your booking secured.I do not think I will be staying there again in 2013.

Room Tip: Book the upstairs rooms if you can
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HVK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpescape, Owner at Chalet Shiraz, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for your review and feedback from your stay with us a year ago (February 2012). We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay with us and that you ranked our chalet as average. However, we are pleased to hear that you found your room to be lovely, spacious and comfortable and that you were pleased with your bathroom, linen, toiletries and the standards of cleanliness we maintain. We're also happy that you found our staff from last season friendly, helpful and "absolutely lovely".

Thank you also for your complimentary words about our chef (his food has been highly praised by all other reviews received for last season) and I'm pleased to hear that he went out of his way for your daughter. That is the level of service that we encourage our staff to maintain at all times.

However, I would like to stress that you are entirely incorrect about a food budget (I have never put a budget in place for our chefs; we agree on a menu that he/she is happy with at the beginning of the season and he shops accordingly. I am sure James would be horrified to hear that you have accused him of using old rocket or recycling ANY food - he took the greatest pride in serving excellent food, beautifully presented and using only the freshest ingredients.

At no stage during the season last year was our hot tub out of order. It was not ready for use on your night of arrival as we empty, clean, refill and then reheat the hot tub every Sunday. We did this as we feel it is imperative that our guests have a clean hot tub during their stay with us. You'll be happy to hear, however, that as our tub was 7 years old, we have replaced it this year with a new, bigger and better hot tub, which was installed at the start of this season.

I would also like to clarify the situation regarding the "small, smelly room". This room is nowhere near the kitchen (which is on a different floor entirely) or the boot room (which is at the other end of an 8 metre long passageway). This is a room that we do not market on our website, as we do not usually sell it to guests. The only exception to this is when we have a single guest who doesn’t want to pay a 50% single supplement (which was the case with your friend). I clearly explained to him that the room was smaller (actual size 12m², so still a double room) and not en-suite (although he did have his own shower room which he did not share with anyone), and for that reason I also offered him a further discount on the room on top of waiving the single supplement. All of our other 6 bedrooms are spacious and en-suite, with baths and showers, as you will see from our website photos.

Our 9-seater Renault traffic is standard for a chalet of this size, and the same model is used by many other chalets and bigger hotels in the valley that also operate only one van. Alas, frozen diesel was a problem experienced that week by all companies running a diesel operated vehicle. However, we’re happy to say that we immediately offered a replacement vehicle so that we could continue to transport you wherever you needed to go throughout the day.

We sincerely regret that you found the other group in the chalet to be so unpleasant, which clearly contributed to your overall view of our chalet. I’m sure that you can understand that this is completely out of our control.

Finally, we’d like to point out that we don’t profess to be an owner-RUN chalet, which is why we go to great lengths to employ and train excellent staff (chef, host and full-time chalet driver) for each season. We trust in them to meet all of the needs of our guests. That said, we live in the chalet next door to Chalet Shiraz and are thus always on-hand to meet guests, manage any issues that may arise during a stay and ensure that the high quality of our service is always maintained. We apologise if you had the wrong impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed at Chalet Shiraz a few years ago with the whole family & thoroughly enjoyed the experience. This season, I came with a friend and had another fabulous time. The Chalet remains in tip-top form: very warm, comfortable and welcoming.

Lisa and Jason do their utmost to make sure the holiday is as enjoyable as possible, taking care of airport collections, arranging lift passes and arranging for skis and boots. It's slick and really easy! I loved the lift to and from slopes every day - which took away one of the big bug bears of skiing holidays - walking around for ages in ski books, carrying skis & poles!

I'd forgotten about the heated boot room, but it was genuinely magnificent: dried the boots at the end of the day & made the books so toasty first thing in the morning - a simple, but brilliant innovation.

Food this year was again brilliant: chef Kelsey really knows how to cook: everything from a delicious cooked English Breakfast to sumptuous home made cakes for our return to the chalet each evening to stunning, delicious 3-course nightly meals. Completely delicious!

Skiing in Chamonix is as always legendary & really enjoyable. Being so close to Geneva made the travel simple and straightforward.

Can't wait to go back, but sadly due to a broken hand, it won;t be this season!

Room Tip: We had the twin room beside the kitchen, which suited me as Kelsey gently woke me up when starting b...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anil_Londoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Houches
0.5 mi away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Saint Antoine
Le Saint Antoine
#3 of 14 in Les Houches
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#2 of 14 in Les Houches
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#4 of 14 in Les Houches
252 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
1.8 mi away
Hotel l'Aiguille Du Midi
Hotel l'Aiguille Du Midi
#9 of 73 in Chamonix
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Shiraz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Shiraz

Address: 58 Chemin de Genevray, 74310 Les Houches, France (Formerly Chalet Shiraz)
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Les Houches
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an independent chalet, catering for weekly ski groups in the winter and providing exclusive, self-catering accommodation in the summer. Our winter package includes half-board meals prepared by our professional chef with hot breakfasts, afternoon tea with cake, pre-dinner canapes and 3-course dinners with selected wines. Our resident concierge will ensure you are well-looked after and our full-time, resort driver will drive you to and from the ski slopes. You'll be welcome at Chalet Shiraz! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing