We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Slalom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Slalom
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Spent the week here in June on a walking holiday. Great base from where to stay. Tracey made us feel very welcome, the rooms were a good size, comfy beds, great bathroom and amazing views from our bedroom window. Breakfast was good also. 5 minute walk to centre of Les Houches, 15 minute walk to the train station. The free shuttle bus to Chamonix stops almost right outside, as is the Bellevue lift.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca_597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 143 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

A really great little hotel. Often I find it hard to sleep away from home but I had a wonderful nights kip. Must have been the mountain air, comfortable beds and the warm welcome. The fellow guests were interesting. Very reasonable too given some of the nonsense prices elsewhere in the area.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank CEO_of_a_SME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We only went for a long weekend and it can be tricky to find somewhere reasonably priced if you are not staying for a whole week. Rooms were comfortable and clean - nothing fancy but have everything you need. A couple of nice enough restaurants to eat nearby and a cosy bar downstairs. Well located for the skilift and local buses. Good view from the room. You would struggle to find better for the money I would say...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agadou67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed as a couple for 5 nights over new year (sorry took a while to write this review). It was our first stay and as per all the other reviews Tracey made our stay amazing. You can be as socialble or quiet as you like. Lovely atmosphere in the bar.
Great breakfasts set us up for the days on the slopes.

Rooms are clean, tidy and bathrooms very modern.

A great hotel and we will be back !

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moldag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Tracey makes everyone feel so welcome, it's a really relaxed place for a skiing break (not literally).
The rooms are imaculate and the breakfast is as good as it gets.
Only slight gripe is that the single beds (room 4) are a bit narrow, but otherwise everything is as good as it can be.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakeslovercartmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

It was my second stay at Hotel Slalom and I really wouldn't stay anywhere else. Lovely restaurants around the corner and Tracey is incredibly helpful and will book any restaurant for you. I feel very much at home in this hotel, it is nice and small which makes it even more welcoming, the rooms are perfect, comfortable and clean. Lovely bar to relax in, delicious potato wedges and chilli sauce! It's only a 10 minute bus ride from Chamonix which is more like a town not a pretty village like Les Houches but great to go for a shop and larger ski area. Thank you Tracey for a great stay again, see you in March!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gisela12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel. The hotel is very clean, and beautifully restored. The owner and staff are outstanding. By the time we left after 4 days, I felt as though we were saying good bye to old friends and family. It is located just across from the ski lift up the mountain and you can ski right up to the hotel. There is a great breakfast every morning and the rooms are large with a nice clean bath. Our room...and most if not all others have access to a balcony where you can truly appreciate the beauty of the mountains that surround Hotel Slalom. It was a wonderful experience. Although we live in the US, Les Houches will be my first choice for a vacation from now on because of the people we met and outstanding experience from this lovely hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MrsBBAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Houches hotels
1.4 mi away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
227 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#2 of 14 in Les Houches
431 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#4 of 14 in Les Houches
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine
Hotel La Fontaine
#8 of 14 in Les Houches
52 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Saint Antoine
Le Saint Antoine
#3 of 14 in Les Houches
69 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chris-Tal Hotel
Chris-Tal Hotel
#7 of 14 in Les Houches
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slalom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slalom

Address: 44 rue de Bellevue, 74310 Les Houches, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Price Range: $117 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slalom 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Slalom has been refurbished in a contemporary style with Egyptian cotton linen, plasma TVs, DVDs, sleek modern bathrooms in 10 bedrooms and wi-fi throughout. Located next to the world-famous Kandahar downhill run and opposite the main ski lift, this ski-in, ski-out hotel is also a superb summer destination with a host of activities on offer including mountain biking, trekking, paragliding and golf. Hotel Slalom prides itself on its personal and friendly service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing