We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Sensational! Perfect Location!”
Review of Hotel Slalom

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Les Houches
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Slalom
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Loved our stay at Hotel Slalom. Tracey, Heather, and Kevin were great. Welcoming friendly and sensational hosts. The room was excellent and had a great view of the mountains. Clean, spacious, great bathroom with a bath for soaking those tired ski legs.

Breakfast in the morning was a highlight! Cereals, fruits, croissants, bread, cheeses, meats, juices and hot eggs and bacon if you wanted it. Could not have been better! And Heather was always great with recommendations of where to ski that day depending on the weather.

The hotel is literally 50m to the Bellvue Gondola at Les Houches and you can ski down to right across the road to the front door. If you want to ski at some of the other mountains in the valley, the bus stop is also 50m away. With restaurants, shops etc all close by - this really was the perfect location!

We always stopped for an Apres ski drink in the hotel bar at the end of the day. Always a few people around, but great drinks from Kevin and Tracey was always floating round for a chat.

We arrived early and our room was ready for us when we arrived so we could change and get out on the slopes, and at the end of our stay, we were leaving late so Tracey had arranged for us to keep our room so we could ski in the morning and then shower and change before heading to the airport - all at no extra cost!

We'd highly recommend staying at Hotel Slalom - we will definitely be back. Ticks all the boxes!

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views of the mountain. Our room (room 2) was at the front at looked out ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbspeedo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 143 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Friendly clean and comfortable with great breakfast and access to the slopes, you just cant go wrong here. I wont repeat everything the other reviews say except that every 5* rating is very well deserved!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZJMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

A very comfortable friendly hotel. If you are looking for a ski hotel with comfy rooms finished to a high standard, good breakfast and a friendly bar frequented by both locals and guests with friendly service, then come here. The hotel is 50 yards to the lifts. If you don't want to ski Les Houches every day and pick and choose where to ski based on conditions, then it is also ideally located being a quick drive to lots of ski areas. Les Houches is not a big town but again there is a pizzeria, three or four restaurants and three or four bars on your doorstep. Tracey and the crew run a great hotel - will be back soon Tracey, Olly

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Tucked up next to one of the two main lifts into the Les Houches ski area you will find the small but perfectly formed Hotel Slalom. The lift station is literally across the road. But that's not the best bit! Hotel Slalom is a spotlessly clean, well decorated, well invested hotel which leaves you feeling that you've left a friend behind when you leave. The owner manager, Tracey, gets it just right. Welcoming, efficient, friendly but gives you space when you want it. Breakfast is simple but again just what you want before a day's skiing or enjoying the mountains in the summertime. There's no tackiness whatsover and the word that summarises it is "tasteful". Its crazily cheap for what you get.

Room Tip: Its a hotel right on the road running through the village so all rooms, I guess, are affected by tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

After staying at a large (and, of course, exorbitantly priced) hotel in Geneva, the Slalom was the perfect example of how a smaller and much more straightforward hotel can provide a much better experience. Tracey, Heather and Kevin were all incredibly welcoming and helpful, the rooms and bathrooms were modern and stylish and the views of the Aiguilles de Chamonix from the top floor were beautiful.

While the hotel does not have a restaurant for dinner etc, breakfast is pretty extensive and there is a very pleasant bar which is really reasonably priced. There are at least 4 restaurants within a minute's walk and others a short distance away (still in Les Houches).

As for location, it is perfectly placed for skiing in Les Houches, being only a minute's walk from the téléphérique. Chamonix is no more than a 10 minute drive by car, or maybe 15 on the free shuttle bus.

Can safely say that, given the opportunity, we'll be back...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J_M803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Ideal location, less than an hour from Geneva airport. With the cable car literally across the road, Hotel Slalom definitely boasts ski in/out access. Les Houches is small but with rental shop, good bars, restaurants and shops on your doorstep, all you need is at hand and makes for an easy, relaxed break. Add to that, great breakfasts, lovely rooms (with Mont Blanc views!), wonderful hosts and it easily stacks up to be the perfect pitch for a short (or longer) ski break! Same place, same time next year Tracey?

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GoldilocksBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

have just spent 3 days at Hotel Slalom on a girls ski break... we've had a wonderful time with the best hospitality I've experienced in ANY hotel that I've been to before. Tracey, Heather and Kevin were brilliant hosts, sorting out everything for us, providing a feast for breakfast and wonderful company - we actually all cried when we had to leave :-)..... I've never written a review before as have never felt moved enough to be bothered before - we can't recommend the Slalom enough and we'll be heading back there again next year. Thank you Tracey for making it all so memorable for us :-) x

forgot to mention the location if you want to ski/walk or explore could not be better

Room Tip: fantastic views out of all the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Houches hotels
1.4 mi away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
225 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#2 of 14 in Les Houches
429 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#4 of 14 in Les Houches
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Saint Antoine
Le Saint Antoine
#3 of 14 in Les Houches
68 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine
Hotel La Fontaine
#9 of 14 in Les Houches
51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chris-Tal Hotel
Chris-Tal Hotel
#6 of 14 in Les Houches
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slalom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slalom

Address: 44 rue de Bellevue, 74310 Les Houches, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Price Range: $116 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slalom 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Slalom has been refurbished in a contemporary style with Egyptian cotton linen, plasma TVs, DVDs, sleek modern bathrooms in 10 bedrooms and wi-fi throughout. Located next to the world-famous Kandahar downhill run and opposite the main ski lift, this ski-in, ski-out hotel is also a superb summer destination with a host of activities on offer including mountain biking, trekking, paragliding and golf. Hotel Slalom prides itself on its personal and friendly service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing