We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit”

Les Gorges de la Diosaz
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Les Houches
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Telford, Shropshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Well worth a visit to this attraction which takes about 1 1/2 hours in all. Quite spectacular scenery with waterfalls and thundering water rushing down the gorge, though the visit needs to coincide with full volume of water rather than when volume is reduced by EDF. Most of the trail is not strenuous apart from the last part where there are a number of steps and a steep path. The pathway is wet in certain parts due to the dripping water from the overhead rocks, so it would not actually make any difference if the visit was on a rainy day. The path is, however, very safe with handrails where necessary and sections of wooden steps, bridges and wooden walkways on a slight incline with horizontal strips to avoid slipping. It is advised to hold the hand of young children and I would not recommend pushchairs or wheelchairs. There are several information boards along the route. I would recommend wearing suitable footwear.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderluster101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    79
    11
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful gorge walk. Water full flow (early August). Very safe walkways although would have been even better with fewer people. You just need to be patient and enjoy the lovely scenery!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chelters8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We visited Les Gorges de la Diosaz when honeymooning in Les Houches, France. We happened to find a leaflet about this attraction in the tourist information and thought we'd take a drive here to see what it was like. I'm so glad we did, although I did have my reservations when we turned up and I saw that most of the walkways were wooden and attached to the cliffs, however if you can see passed this you will have a lovely time. The scenery is lovely and there are plaques with information up the trail to the top. Take the time to go and see this, it's lovely.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandancer1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

A well maintained path of about 1km takes you up the gorge with fast flowing blue icemelt water and powerfull waterfalls. It rained a lot on the way back but it was still safe and fun. Don't go when edf have slowed the flow it cant be the same. magnifique!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank TeamPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great place, particularly on a wet day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We visited from Chamonix on the train to Servoz (free with Guest card) and were very impressed. The torrents, waterfalls, wild water were all very spectacular and we were very glad that we made the effort to get here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brit_abroad_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Gorges de la Diosaz also viewed

Les Houches, Haute-Savoie
Les Houches, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Les Gorges de la Diosaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing