We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Houches
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bluebird Chalets - Chalet Chavants
Ranked #6 of 11 Les Houches B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 6, 2013

A lovely experience and so practical if you want to be up the mountain really quickly and not trek around the valley. If you do want to go all over then Maddy will happily drive you. The personal touch really did make this a very different experience for our second time in Chamonix. I was a little hesitant about a Chalet rather than a hotel but I would take the Chalet every time if the service and accommodation was like this. Andy and Maddy are *great* cooks, keep the place super clean and are helpful before and throughout your stay. Fun, genuine people. We had just the right level of attention that we needed. The rooms were nice and clean and our bathroom was brand new with decent power in the shower for unwinding after the long day. If you think you area good skier then you will enjoy going out on the mountain with Andy, if you are lucky enough to get the opportunity! We'll be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Bluebird Chalets - Chalet Chavants
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 44 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This is easily one of the best chalets we have ever stayed in. Situated less than 10metres from the lift it is perfect for skiing. The hosts Maddy and Andy are some of the nicest people ever and are so helpful, unlike in many other places we have stayed we did not fell awkward asking for anything we needed. They are also great fun and kept us entertained for a while, Nanook the dog is also gorgeous and very friendly but well trained so if your not a dog person there is nothing at all to worry about!
We were probably some of the most awkward guests in terms of requirements, as racers we needed to be at the opposite lift for 7.15 am in the morning. However Maddy and Andy were so helpful cooking us breakfast at 6.15am and driving us to the lift.
I can't even begin to describe how amazing the food was. The puddings included cheesecake, creme caramel, sticky toffee pudding and chocolate fondants with the option of a chessboard afterwards. The main courses we top restaurant quality and vet generous portions. Everyday after skiing we came back to freshly baked cakes which were to die for.
The only thing I would ask is for is some hooks in the room to hang up wet ski jackets and trousers but apart from that the rooms and bathrooms were excellent.
Overall we had an amazing time at this chalet, the food was so so good and the hosts are lovely and make you feel so welcome. Can't wait to go back next year!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazysal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Very helpful in advance of the visit. Incredibly friendly and generous throughout our stay. Superb food and a relaxing, informal approach - very flexible to your requirements. Again, great food and company, and our full recommendation to anyone wanting a hassle free and relaxing chalet holiday. Excellent value. Seriously cool dog too!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Its an almost unique experience to fully agree with all the previous reviewers and certainly unusual to say there is nothing negative one can comment on the experience. Andy & Maddy are great hosts, great cooks and great fun to share your holiday with. Difficult to imagine anyone giving Chalet Chavants less than an "Excellent" rating and we shall be back

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Had such a lovely week at Bluebird Chalets. Andy and Maddy made us feel so welcome. The chalet was quiet and peaceful, lovely and clean and toasty warm with hot powerful showers and the most comfiest beds - ever! Situated in a prime spot, just a few metres away from one of the main lifts, it was so handy to be able to pop back to the chalet for a bit to rest my jelly legs. Andy the chef made us the most amazing food, and the wine flowed. Bluebird Chalets little extra's like Sky tele, the hot tub on the patio and a cuddle from Nanooq their gorgeous husky dog made me very happy. Thankyou - we will be back xx

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trudie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

What a week. Really impressed with the way Andy and Maddy present and run there business. We were made welcome from the minute we set foot through the door. Accommodation is excellent and the food a dream. We have been skiing the Chamonix valley for over 10 yrs and this is by far our best experience. Good luck to you both. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jezdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Bluebird chalets is simply the best place I have stayed while skiing in Europe. Fantastic location, beautiful surroundings, luxurious facilities. Far and away superior to all the corporate alternatives staffed be downtrodden young folk. Maddison and Andy have lived that life and bring the experience, but accompanied by a whole new level of service and quality.
A wonderful couple who became part of our family for the week (and Nanook the dog) who have worked hard to live the dream. This excitement and energy is contagious and makes any visit a magical adventure.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickeydisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Houches hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#2 of 14 in Les Houches
426 reviews
1.7 mi away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpine Retreat Holiday Farmhouse and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chalet Savoy
Chalet Savoy
#4 of 11 in Les Houches
15 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine
Hotel La Fontaine
#9 of 14 in Les Houches
51 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#4 of 14 in Les Houches
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebird Chalets - Chalet Chavants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebird Chalets - Chalet Chavants

Address: 71 Chemin des Verneys du Fouilly, 74310 Les Houches, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Les Houches
Price Range: $38 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find us nestled just next to the Prarion lift in Les Houches, some 30 seconds walk from the bottom of the lift station (yes we have timed it). Our 12-person Chalet Chavants is a traditional yet newly refurbished chalet, filled with charm and plenty of character. We have 180m2 of living space spread over two floors, with four bedrooms and four bathrooms. Les Houches is a fantastic holiday destination in both summer and winter, and for this reason we are open throughout the year.To make your stay enjoyable and entertaining while off the mountain, we have free WiFi, sky TV, a DVD/VCR player, a Nintendo Wii, board games, books and an honesty bar. Our beautiful sun-drenched terrace outside also has a hot tub, and just a few steps further takes you into our large garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing