We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chalet Hotel du Bois
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Les Campanules(Les Houches)(Great Value!)
$100
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
RockyPop Hotel(Les Houches)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
hotel Le Saint Antoine(Les Houches)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chris-Tal Hotel(Les Houches)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Fontaine(Les Houches)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Barme(Les Houches)
No availability for your dates from our partners
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveler rating
75
109
55
17
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
109
55
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjean marcpool and saunanice barindian fooddrove downfriendly hotelle capricehotel restaurantcable cargood sizein summaryexcellent stayski hireskiing holidayyogurtchamonixdu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 269 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I really liked this hotel, it was better than the three stars suggest. The room was comfortable and a good size for an economy room. The bed was comfortable with a furry bed spread, extra pillows and blankets available. I loved that there was a fridge, hair dryer and flat screen TV with UK channels. Also really convenient having free WiFi which worked in my room. The pool area and Sauna were lovely too. Although there wasn't a hot tub, the pool was pretty warm and they had nice music playing. The staff were lovely and very helpful and the courtesy bus to Les Houches ski lift worked well.

On the down side the only thing I can say is the room was a little bit dark.
The Location, getting the bus into Chamonix was a pain as they were not very often and were very busy. I would drive next time as there was parking at all the ski areas in Chamonix and the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The economy twin room was a good size. The balcony with mountain view was quiet and pleasant. I could not hear main road to Chamonix and the hotel road was local traffic only.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This would be a good choice for short- to medium-term stays in the Mont Blanc valley - larger than a pension or guest house, more character than a chain hotel. The facilities here are good for the type of hotel - free wifi, good breakfast and dinner buffets, decent-sized pool (which was large enough for swimming but a bit too hot for any exercise). Hotel was accommodating of late check-in and staff were friendly. The rooms weren't huge but were clean and furnished in chalet style; they all had balconies which would be nice in the summer. Car park was a bit limited - there is free parking out the front of the hotel but not too many spaces; they have covered parking at extra cost which might have had more room. The hotel isn't within walking distance of ski lifts but there is apparently a free shuttle to the nearest ski area at Les Houches. Local buses run up and down the valley so access to Chamonix town shouldn't be hard even without a car.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have good views of the mountain and are particularly quiet
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel is very good for a 3 star. The staff are so friendly and very helpful. There is a nice indoor pool which is easy to use, and it is a good temperature; this was a huge bonus to our holiday as our girls were in it every day after skiing.
The rooms are quite small, but nice and warm with an en-suite. Beds are comfy. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nonistocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just got back from a 5 night stay in Hotel Dubois which I found to be most satisfactory. The staff were very very helpful, kind, courteous etc. My room was fine, though the decor could use some updating at some point but one does not expect 5 star decor at this value, and besides it was all satisfactory anway. Having the amenities of a restaurant, pool, free shuttle to/from the slope was very nice.

Room Tip: Higher room better because you don't hear the noise from those above etc. Life is in the hotel so no issue there. View on both sides very nice so it didn't matter to me. Really doesn't matter.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night during our TMB. Location is convenient, on the main road, yet not too busy.
On the up side the hotel has two lovely pools, which we well took advantage of and the bar/lounge area is very pleasant. The restaurant and food were excellent.
On the other hand the rooms are quite outdated and small, as well as the corridors in the main building.
All in all we had a very nice stay and liked the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zhadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews