We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two visits in two years and we'll be back for a third!”
Review of Chalet Annabelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Annabelle
Certificate of Excellence
IOM
1 review
“Two visits in two years and we'll be back for a third!”
Reviewed December 30, 2010

As the title implies, this is the second time that my husband and I have stayed at Chalet Annabelle. We fist visited as a couple in 2009 (mixed chalet) and have just been back with the family for the Christmas week (full chalet). Both times have been wonderful experiences.

Jude and Mike are great hosts and handled every query with care and expertise. Their local knowledge is great and they were able to give us advice and information prior to arrival and during the trip itself.

Jude's cooking is wonderful. I didn't think it could be better than the first time but somehow it was. Afternoon teas and a firm skiing favourite, the breakfasts are plentiful and dinner is always out of this world.

Having Mike drop off and pick up from the Ski resorts is a real plus, although the free Chamonix bus service is pretty good and we took advantage of that too.

The chalet itself if beautifully decorated and furnished and the luxury extras such as the hot-tub, bathrobes and slippers are perfect for after a long day on the slopes.

Our family group is very mixed in terms of skiing ability and general fitness levels. Chalet Annabelle worked really well for us as a base as the beginners took lessons as Les Houches, the intermediates were able to ski at all the resorts including a day in Italy at Courmayeur and the experienced skier in the group was able to do a days guided 'off piste' and avalanche training - arranged by Mike. My father, who has mobility issues, was able to spend time relaxing at the chalet, going for gentle walks and doing the various tourist attractions in Chamonix including the Glacier Mountain Railway. Mike even arranged for him to do 2 hours of handiski with EFS which was the highlight of his trip - going down the world cup run at Les Houches.

All in all, a great place for anyone to have a relaxing ski holiday.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sev_Bex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
15
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

I visited Chalet Annabelle having never had the whole chalet experience before.

Firstly, its such a beautiful chalet - furnished to a lovely standard, but still comfortable. The rooms have fantastic ensuites - but the open plan living area and dining area are great. Fluffy bedding and nice details with Molton Brown toiletries makes for a really lovely experience.

The chalet has a great hot tub, decking and balconies - perfect for checking out the view.

Mike and Jude are perfect hosts - just great people that you can get on with, enjoy talking to and really work hard to make sure you eat well, enjoy the experience and have a great time.

I visited as part of a work trip - but we were chauffeured, enterained, fed and watered like kings...fantastic, and Chamonix...well, summer or winter...its just an outdoor playground !

I will be going back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We stayed at the chalet as a family of four with other friends and family and whilst I had seen photographs, they do not do justice to the quality of the chalet. Every thought has gone into the small details and the overall impressions is certainly the wow factor - Well done Jude (& Mike !). In terms of hosting - Mike & Jude were excellent hosts throughout the week with gorgeous gormet cuisine and it was great having Mike drop and pick us up each day. All in all you have both created a dazzing proposition. Well done ! M

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psionlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

A group of 5 friends stayed here in March this year and I must say this is the best chalet I have stayed at. Mike & Jude run a beautiful chalet and provide superb food and wine. But what makes it a cut above the others is their personal attention, friendliness and good humour. If you are looking for a high standard of accomodation together with superb hosts then look no further.
Brian H.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2010

This was our second trip to Chalet Annabelle in two years. We enjoyed it so much last year that we booked straight away for this year. The setting is stunning, the chalet itself is immaculate, the bedrooms are incredibly comfortable and sleep was very easy to come by, the food is just amazing we thought we'd struck gold with the puddings last year but Jude went one step further this year. Mike and Jude are fabulous hosts and make a skiing break into a real holdiay by taking out the bits that can sometimes be stressful, transfers sorted, moving around between ski areas sorted and if you need them ski adn boot hire sorted!! Not to mention the hot tub - what more could you want?!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Stayed in Chalet Annabelle as it's first paying guests!

Must say they have done a fantastic job with the refurb work. The quality of accomodation is outstanding, food was always excellent, beds very comfortable & the outdoors hot tub was a winner!

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_J_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We booked this chalet as a group of 10 friends for our annual skiing holiday having stayed at numerous chalets over the years. Can honestly say this was one of the best, if not 'the best'! Excellent clean modern accommodation, delicious food and excellent wine and a general feeling of relaxation and kind hospitality. Mike & Jude are a lovely couple and did all they could to make us feel welcome. We would all highly recommend this chalet - and the skiing in Chamonix is not bad either!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AARobertson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Houches
0.4 mi away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
0.9 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#2 of 14 in Les Houches
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hotel l'Aiguille Du Midi
Hotel l'Aiguille Du Midi
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
158 reviews
3.1 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Annabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Annabelle

Property: Chalet Annabelle
Address: 576 Route du Pont, 74310 Les Houches, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Les Houches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer & Winter Self Catered rental, also offering catered ski and cycling holidays. Speciality lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chalet Annabelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing