We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hosts and great food!”
Review of Chalet Annabelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Annabelle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Hosts Mike and Jude are very welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The quality of the chalet and the food was great. Coming back to the chalet after walking in the mountains felt like coming home. Most people head to Chamonix for shops and bars but it's only a 15 minute walk to the small village of Les Houches which has a few shops, bars and restaurants too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHopwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldrine, Owner at Chalet Annabelle, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

Thank you for your review John. Much appreciated and very pleased you enjoyed your stay and summitted Mont Blanc.

Best regards

Mike & Jude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 108 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2011

Stayed with 3 friends as part of Mont Blanc climb booked through 360 degree expeditions.
The service and accommodation was first class throughout our stay. Felt completely relaxed and at home from the moment we walked through the door.
First class cooking. Spotless everywhere.
Very friendly whilst giving you your own space to relax.
In my opinion you couldn't go wrong if you booked to stay here.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewpartington1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldrine, Owner at Chalet Annabelle, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

Thank you for your review Andrew. Really appreciate you taking the time and glad you enjoyed your stay!

Best regards

Mike & Jude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We very much enjoyed skiiing the chamonix area. Thanks to our knowledgeable host Mike and his Minibus were able to ski various regions in Chamonix as well as in Italy and Switzerland.... all close by. The chalet is the perfect place to start from and to look forward to come back to each day. A stylish and at the same time cosy chalet where Mike and his wife Jude provided us with the best porridge in the morning, afternoon tea & cake before the hot tub and a delicious three-course dinner next to the fire place. We loved it!

Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
Thank Ilka24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

The Chalet is very well appointed overall. The rooms are large, beds comfortable with quality bedding & ensuite bathrooms are great. The lounge area has plenty of space for everyone. We loved the outdoor hot-tub with views onto Aiguille de Midi. The meals were varied & of a good quality/presentation (only improvement would have maybe been a cheese-board to sample the great local cheeses and have a few more "french" touches), wine choice was good, breakfasts were ok (fresh croissants & baggette delivery from local baker would have made them "great"). Mike & Jude are great hosts & obviously care about giving a good service - having a owner-operated chalet makes a big difference.

We were used to staying at ski-in/ski-out places so were not sure what to expect, but this was absolutely fine. Mike was very accommodating with the transport and we got to ski in 5 different areas (including Italy) and chase the good snow, something we would not have done in a ski-in/ski-out place.

Overall, very happy with the Chalet Annabelle experience!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mheathcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

We stayed for the February half term week, the chalet is lovely as stated in all the reviews and the meals are excellent. We found being dropped and picked up by the hosts worked very well, they even took a second car on occasions in order to take us all at the same time. (minibus can take 8). I think paying this much most accommodation would be good, but Mike and Jude definitely provide the personal touch, arranging a holiday for 10 there were loads of questions, Jude was really helpful in our planning and more than happy to accommodate our requests. The skiing areas were great, Les Houches is perfect for beginners/intermediates, Mike was happy to take us to the others which vary from 10 to 30 mins away. Night life means a trip to Chamonix town and Mike happily dropped our youngsters and picked them up at 11, however if you are looking to stay out late a taxi could be expensive.
If you are looking for good skiing, good food and relaxing evenings this is perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jax_nott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Lovely, cosy Chalet with nice rooms kept to a high standard of cleanliness. Very nice home cooked food, and home made cakes for afternoon tea. The chalet is not walking distance to the slopes, but it is not really a problem as we were dropped off in the mornings and picked up later. That said, we did feel like a bit of an inconvenience asking to be picked up on occasions, and were given information about a local bus.

If you are after great skiing and accommodation I would definitely recommend Chalet Annabelle.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Intrepid_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldrine, Owner at Chalet Annabelle, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review Chalet Annabelle on Tripadvisor. We welcome all feedback. Reviewing a trip from 12 months ago, sometimes its possible to overlook the finer detail and specifically regarding in-resort transport we do try to make this clear in our terms and conditions that the service is available at the start and end of every ski day. To offer an on-demand service would increase the cost dramatically committing both driver and van to be available all day. We do offer this on-demand service at Christmas, New Year and February Half Term and this is reflected in the price. To avoid guests walking back to the Chalet we have always offered to meet the ski bus on a best endevours basis when one of us is available. Thanks again for your comments and this season we have highlighted the in-resort transport specifically on our home page. Mike & Jude Chalet Annabelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

As the title implies, this is the second time that my husband and I have stayed at Chalet Annabelle. We fist visited as a couple in 2009 (mixed chalet) and have just been back with the family for the Christmas week (full chalet). Both times have been wonderful experiences.

Jude and Mike are great hosts and handled every query with care and expertise. Their local knowledge is great and they were able to give us advice and information prior to arrival and during the trip itself.

Jude's cooking is wonderful. I didn't think it could be better than the first time but somehow it was. Afternoon teas and a firm skiing favourite, the breakfasts are plentiful and dinner is always out of this world.

Having Mike drop off and pick up from the Ski resorts is a real plus, although the free Chamonix bus service is pretty good and we took advantage of that too.

The chalet itself if beautifully decorated and furnished and the luxury extras such as the hot-tub, bathrobes and slippers are perfect for after a long day on the slopes.

Our family group is very mixed in terms of skiing ability and general fitness levels. Chalet Annabelle worked really well for us as a base as the beginners took lessons as Les Houches, the intermediates were able to ski at all the resorts including a day in Italy at Courmayeur and the experienced skier in the group was able to do a days guided 'off piste' and avalanche training - arranged by Mike. My father, who has mobility issues, was able to spend time relaxing at the chalet, going for gentle walks and doing the various tourist attractions in Chamonix including the Glacier Mountain Railway. Mike even arranged for him to do 2 hours of handiski with EFS which was the highlight of his trip - going down the world cup run at Les Houches.

All in all, a great place for anyone to have a relaxing ski holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sev_Bex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Houches
0.4 mi away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
225 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
0.9 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#2 of 14 in Les Houches
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Saint Antoine
Le Saint Antoine
#3 of 14 in Les Houches
69 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
426 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Annabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Annabelle

Address: 576 Route du Pont, 74310 Les Houches, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Les Houches
Price Range: $112 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer & Winter Self Catered rental, also offering catered ski and cycling holidays. Speciality lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chalet Annabelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing