We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison Jaune Ski Chalet
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Beautiful place, stunning views. Incredible five-course meals every night, with aperitif, wine, etc. included. Stimulating conversation. We were on a supported trek, one day of which involved a lot of road walking. The hosts offered to drive us to a different starting point, so that most of our walking that day was on trails with incredible 360-degree views -- made this one of the best days of our vacation. Hot tub is very welcome after a hard day's walking.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StradlerUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 62 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at the Maison Jaune, where Helen and Leighton hosted our daughter's wedding reception.
Helen and Leighton are wonderful hosts and prepare some fantastic meals to 5* quality
They could not have done more in their preparation for the reception and the guests actually staying at the chalet.
The views from every room are stunning.
We cannot praise the standard of hospitality enough. We would recommend this chalet to anyone wanting from a small wedding reception to a week or weekend stay.
The value is excellent and friends and family were bowled over by the whole experience. One guest even said it was " the best wedding food ever" which we totally agree with.
Many of the wedding guests have stated their desire to return themselves for a short stay.(Winter or Summer) The chalet is extremely well located for both walking and skiing (one run being right outside the chalet. ) Chamonix is easy to reach as are ski lifts and cable cars in Les Houches.We are not the sort of people who will write reviews but we felt compelled to do so on this occasion

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Helen and Leighton are fantastic hosts and have made us feel extremely welcome and looked after on the 2 occasions we have stayed with them. The food and wine is exceptional - something very different is produced each evening when dinning in, an experience for every course. The location is perfect for Les Houches (a little gem just far enough away from Chamonix to have its own character) and was ideal for us to get the ski legs back and the fitness up - the ski tour route pass right outside! Rooms and beds are perfect at the end of a long day help by the a hot tub to easy away the aches. All together it makes for a great break.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al_R203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you are considering a visit to the Chamonix valley and are wondering where you should stay, think no more and book your accommodations at Maison Jaune. It's obviously the perfect place for a ski in-ski out holiday, but there is also true magic to behold here in the Spring and Summer. First and foremost, hosts Helen and Leighton could not possibly have done a better job to make us feel welcome and comfortable during our stay. The rooms are all luxurious with incredibly comfortable beds and the views of the mountains and valley are consistently breathtaking. Each day brings new culinary delights, as both Helen and Leighton are experts in the kitchen and are always exploring new recipies as they seek to please the pallette of their guest.
Les Houches is a short ride away from Chamonix on the free bus that collects you just a few minutes walk from the chalet. It's nice to visit the bigger town occassionally but being able to escape the busy city and soak in the hot tub back at the chalet whilst enjoying the serenity of the surroundings is the only way to go.
Helen and Leighton will make every effort to organize activities tailored to your needs and wants; beautiful hikes, rock climbing, via ferrata, paragliding....the list goes on and on. We were so glad we visited during the warm season but can't wait to return for a ski trip in the near future.
Cheers to two outstanding hosts!

Room Tip: The second story room facing away from the valley is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank El-orence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

You are made to feel immediately at home by owners Helen and Leighton upon arrival at this wonderful chalet, situation up in the hills of Les Houches, just down the road from Chamonix. This couple clearly love what they do and put everything into ensuring your stay is as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible. No request is a problem and you even feel you are being spoiled with the excellent quality food, top ups of wine and lifts to the ski resorts. All three of us who stayed would love to go back there some day. Highly recommended for either couples, groups or families.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimeTravellingTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Hosts are skiers with a passion and go out of their way to ensure you get maximum exposure to the many adventures available in Chamonix and surrounds. Food and wine in the lodge is fantastic and you will not go hungry! All rooms have stunning views and perfect comfortable beds. We could not reccomend the lodge highly enough - we will be back soon














f

Room Tip: I dont think there is such a thing as a bad room in this lodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJM-Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

What an incredible experience! My finance and I met with a few friends to share a special 40th birthday and enjoyed the beauty of the Alps for a week. Not only were we fed like royalty but the warm and friendly environment is what made it special:) Myself and three others got the opportunity to learn how to ski with a brilliant ski instructor-Anne. She is a champion skier and yet was so pateint and kind to us all (especially me who took a wee bit longer to learn than everyone else:) ) We felt like we were hte only guests to have ever visited the chalet as the service was personal and five star quality. The lovely breakfasts in the morning, the tea time cakes and four course meals at dinner rounded the experience off beautifully, Truly my most memorable getaway. Thank you Helen, Leighton and Rob - you guys have made my year!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnjaDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Houches hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#2 of 14 in Les Houches
432 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine
Hotel La Fontaine
#9 of 14 in Les Houches
52 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel les Melezes
Hotel les Melezes
#10 of 11 in Les Houches
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#4 of 14 in Les Houches
255 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Saint Antoine
Le Saint Antoine
#3 of 14 in Les Houches
69 reviews
1 mi away
Chris-Tal Hotel
Chris-Tal Hotel
#7 of 14 in Les Houches
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Jaune Ski Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Jaune Ski Chalet

Address: 151 Chemin de la Bergerie, 74310 Les Houches, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Les Houches
Price Range: $100 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ski Chalet Maison Jaune is located in a spectacular position in Chamonix valley, above the village of Les Houches: just a one hour transfer from Geneva airport. A high-end mountain lodge, Maison Jaune offers spectacular scenery from every bedroom, as well as being ski in and ski out: a rare commodity for the Chamonix valley. The ski chalet also boasts an outdoor hot tub, open log fire, multimedia entertainment system, and has its own pianist-in-residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Maison Jaune Ski Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing