We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location and hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison Jaune Ski Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison Jaune Ski Chalet
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location and hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

You are made to feel immediately at home by owners Helen and Leighton upon arrival at this wonderful chalet, situation up in the hills of Les Houches, just down the road from Chamonix. This couple clearly love what they do and put everything into ensuring your stay is as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible. No request is a problem and you even feel you are being spoiled with the excellent quality food, top ups of wine and lifts to the ski resorts. All three of us who stayed would love to go back there some day. Highly recommended for either couples, groups or families.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeTravellingTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Hosts are skiers with a passion and go out of their way to ensure you get maximum exposure to the many adventures available in Chamonix and surrounds. Food and wine in the lodge is fantastic and you will not go hungry! All rooms have stunning views and perfect comfortable beds. We could not reccomend the lodge highly enough - we will be back soon














f

Room Tip: I dont think there is such a thing as a bad room in this lodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJM-Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

What an incredible experience! My finance and I met with a few friends to share a special 40th birthday and enjoyed the beauty of the Alps for a week. Not only were we fed like royalty but the warm and friendly environment is what made it special:) Myself and three others got the opportunity to learn how to ski with a brilliant ski instructor-Anne. She is a champion skier and yet was so pateint and kind to us all (especially me who took a wee bit longer to learn than everyone else:) ) We felt like we were hte only guests to have ever visited the chalet as the service was personal and five star quality. The lovely breakfasts in the morning, the tea time cakes and four course meals at dinner rounded the experience off beautifully, Truly my most memorable getaway. Thank you Helen, Leighton and Rob - you guys have made my year!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnjaDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

My Friend and I stayed here while doing the week long mountaineering course including the Mount Blanc Summit.

We choose this chalet for its reputation for food and as they were able to organise the entire trip for us from pick up at Geneva airport to being dropped back there a week later. Helen and Leighton were prompt in answering any questions before our arrival. Their hospitality was above and beyond our expectations.

They had organised a fantastic guide, and welcomed us with fresh cake tea and later in the day some bubbles and a brief from Gerome our guide.

The rooms were spotless and beautiful (I would highly recommend for a romantic holiday) with little balcony 's and stunning views of the mountains. An amazing menu through out the week of three course dinner's using local ingredients (the nettle soup picked fresh on the day was a real highlight) and great wine meant we certainly were not hungry on the mountain. Lovely little lunch packs with home made granola energy bars and fresh ingredients in crusty french rolls, kept us going all day.

Walking on the glacier was spectacular and knowing you were on your way home to afternoon tea, a jacuzzi and some super fast internet with one of the most extensive collections of movies, tv shows and music available to you to relax (if you needed something other than the view and conversation) made for a superb holiday.

In the end there was too much fresh snow to summit, but with such great food, comfy beds and lovely hospitality what a great excuse to have to come and do it all again next year.

I really could not recommend this place highly enough. It is based out of Les Houches with is about 10 mins out of Cham but very easy to access on the bus or catch a ride with Leighton or Helen if they are heading that way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triprelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We recently returned from a visit to Maison Jaune having been out to discuss our wedding plans. We are holding our wedding reception there next Summer.
Firstly our hosts Helen and Leighton are just superb. Nothing is too much trouble and we felt relaxed and comfortable from the moment we stepped inside.
The Chalet itself is gorgeous! Large and comfortable living area with spectacular views as well as extremely comfortable rooms with great en-suite facilities. All the rooms have the same special view too which is really nice.
Our bed was so amazingly comfortable that we slept well and were completely rested while we were there!
A truly fabulous place, well worth the visit. We would love to experience it in the winter too as I'm sure it's equally as stunning

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrybaldery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Helen & Leighton’s hospitality was second to none. They were super friendly, accommodating, and superb chefs!! I’ve never eaten so well for a straight week as I did with them during our climbing trip for Mont Blanc. The chalet was comfortable & beautifully appointed (outdoor hot tub an extra plus!). After a long & physically brutal day on the mountain, we were greeted with a fantastic gourmet dinner, enjoyed family-style as we discussed & laughed over our day’s activities. I will definitely be back next summer to enjoy another week at the chalet! If you’re considering Chamonix/Les Houches, this is the perfect place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilytino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed with Helen and Leighton for a weeks climbing trip of Mt Blanc.I found them to be both very accomodating i almost felt like i was at home in a very relaxed large and open living environment with spectacular views,absolutely breath taking.The range and supply of food was outstanding there was no risk of us going hungry nor losing any weight despite some tough days on the mountain.Absolutely everything was arrange from flight pick ups to packed lunchs and additional assistance to book ongoing travel arrangements.The large double bedrooms where comfortable and clean.I could not fault my weeks stay with them and would certainly consider visiting again.10/10

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Attila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Houches hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#2 of 14 in Les Houches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.7 mi away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Saint Antoine
Le Saint Antoine
#3 of 14 in Les Houches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#4 of 14 in Les Houches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granges d'en haut - Ski chalets
0.4 mi away
Residence CGH Hameau de Pierre Blanche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Jaune Ski Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Jaune Ski Chalet

Property: Maison Jaune Ski Chalet
Address: 151 Chemin de la Bergerie, 74310 Les Houches, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Les Houches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ski Chalet Maison Jaune is located in a spectacular position in Chamonix valley, above the village of Les Houches: just a one hour transfer from Geneva airport. A high-end mountain lodge, Maison Jaune offers spectacular scenery from every bedroom, as well as being ski in and ski out: a rare commodity for the Chamonix valley. The ski chalet also boasts an outdoor hot tub, open log fire, multimedia entertainment system, and has its own pianist-in-residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Maison Jaune Ski Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing