We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence CGH Hameau de Pierre Blanche

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence CGH Hameau de Pierre Blanche
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

The chalets were beautiful and cozy and the spa facilities well maintained and clean. That said, the receptionists were hugely unhelpful. They refused to make a local call for us to change a dinner reservation, they wouldn't give us a bin bag even though we had been told we would be charged 80 euro if the fride wasn't clean and the bins weren't brought out. They also counted every single spoon, fork, glass etc before check out and insisted that we had used a coffee machine in the apartment which was dirty. When we explained that we hadn't used the machine (it was hidden away in a cupboard that we hadn't opened), we were laughed at and told 'That's impossible' and made clean the it before we could get our deposit back.

We also had a hand bag stolen in the reception one evening and the receptionists were very unsympathetic. When checking out, they wouldn't store our luggage in the luggage room and instead made us leave it in the reception for 6 hours while we waited for our bus to pick us up, something that we weren't happy about given the previous theft.We expected much more friendly and helpful service given how much we were paying and none of would go back again because of the terrible service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pierrebl, Directeur général at Residence CGH Hameau de Pierre Blanche, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear guests,

Many thanks for taking time to share your comments on Trip advisor.
Our customers' observations are a priority for us as they help us to improve our services.

We read your comments and be sure we feel sorry that your stay wasn't as good as you expected, especially concerning this misunderstanding with the reception that may have left you some bad memories about our residence.

First of all, concerning the inventory, you have to know this is how we proceed in all self catering apartments. We checked all others apartments: this is how we make sure the following guests are not missing anything so they can enjoy their stay.
As we recieved complaints from your neighbours concerning the noises from your apartment, we wanted to make sure everything was alright in it.

Nevertheless we hope you will give us a chance to welcome you in another property for your next stay in the Alps.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    19
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We (5 adults, 1 two year old and 1 one year old) stayed and skied from this accomodation for 1 week and stayed in the largest type of accomodation (3 bed which can sleep up to 8 adults). The accomodation was the best self catering we have ever stayed in and we have been sking for the last 25 years +.

Positives
- Very clean
- Very spacious
- Very very helpful staff
- Very child friendly (saftey gates, cots, highchairs)
- great kitchen equipment
- 300 yards from the gondola for skiing
- good ski area
- great leisure facilities (pool, spa, etc)
- good little area on site for olders kids to enjoy the snow
- free use of the sledges for on site use for kids and bigger kids

ONLY 1 negative
- The shop that is 300 yards away only has very basic amenties BUT the shop that is two bus stops away has EVERYTHING you could want for any member of the family!!

Don't normally write reviews on here but this place defo warranted one. Can't wait for going next year!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totleigh Towers
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Excellent base for skiing with younger children. We were in a six bedded apartment which was cosy but had all the essentials - but be aware that the kitchen/living room has to double as bedroom if you are going to sleep six. The kitchen area has combination oven and a halogen hob, a dishwasher and all the cooking equipment you might reasonably need. A cleaning kit was supplied but nothing else - not even salt and pepper. The supermarket is three stops on the bus - these can get extremely crowded and out of peak season aren't that frequent, so there were times we looked with envy at others in their cars. The key details are that the spa is great and makes the holiday if you have children as it is a great place to take them for an hour or two at the end of the day, or even earlier if the weather is bad or energy levels low. There's pool, sauna, steam room, fitness room etc. The chalets are about 350m from the Prarion lift - a long way for smaller kids carrying skis etc. You can hire lockers at the lift, however, with heated boot dryers; or if you hire skis from Battendier Sports (opposite the Prarion lift), they will give you free storage in their basement (no dryers). The ski pass you need is the full monty Chamonix one - the "Mont Blanc Unlimited" not the "Le Pass" which covers central Chamonix only. We went with Crystal, which was a mistake. Intend to return doing it by ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Spinkbottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

We stayed here for a week this summer and it's great spot for hiking mountain biking and general outdoorsy stuff in chamonix which is a great summer resort.

We had a huge room for two people...really well equipped with free wifi and english tv (BBC a d itv) which I imagine would be good if the weather is rubbish.

Fortunately for us we had great weather and there were so many things to do around the residence including playing tennis or chilling by the pool on the deck.

Can't say for sure but also looks like it would be a good place to stay in winter as it's very close to the major lift in Les Houches.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tommalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

A great place for families with young children. The close proximity to ski station is perfect, and the pool and spa facilites are ideal for relaxing in after skiing (or, let the family go off and relax on your own by the pool with the stunning mountain views). Cozy, clean accommodation with good facilities for self catering (or try the local restuarants for tasty Savoyard food). We have stayed in summer and winter and have really enjoyed both times of year.
Easy to find and good facilities are close by. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skilover100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

200m from Prarion cable car - not too far in ski boots..
Free buses into Chamonix.
Amazing views from our room of L'Aguille de Midi. The mountains are right in your face.
The property consists of a central hub which includes reception, pool, sauna, steam room, treatment room and exercise room. It is absolutely beautiful.
Our room for two people was compact, but stylish. It also worked for us.Tip: consider storing your bags in the ski room locker provided.
Bread could be ordered to be picked up from reception.
The facility was allegedly 2 years old in 2010 - it felt new.
Free wifi worked perfectly and couldn't be easier to connect to.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank P0WDERM0NKEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2009

An excellent location, 200m to the Prairon lift, exceptionally clean. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment (Heliodor No 1) which can be best described as compact, advertised as suitable for 6 (there were 4 of us, 2 adult children), which would have been very cramped. Reception (where the lounge is) is only open morning and early evening not all day. Pool (cool) has steam room and sauna. Bread can be ordered before 18:00 the night before and collected at 8am the following morning, WiFi is free and worked well in general (early evening was sometimes challenging) our appartment had an additional bathroom which was effectively just a shower and sink would stay again but in a bigger appartment.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vistaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Houches hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#2 of 14 in Les Houches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#4 of 14 in Les Houches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.7 mi away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Residence les Balcons d'Anaite
Residence les Balcons d'Anaite
#6 of 14 in Les Houches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Saint Antoine
Le Saint Antoine
#3 of 14 in Les Houches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Granges d'en haut - Ski chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence CGH Hameau de Pierre Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence CGH Hameau de Pierre Blanche

Property: Residence CGH Hameau de Pierre Blanche
Address: Allee Des Diligences, 74310 Les Houches, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Les Houches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence CGH Hameau de Pierre Blanche 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Residence CGH Hameau de Pierre Blanche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hameau De Pierre Blanche Hotel Les Houches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing