We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed - will return”
Review of Hotel Synaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Synaya
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sanary-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Whatever the top award is for the perfect hotelier - give it to the gentleman owner who looked after us here! The amount of thought that had gone into the facilities (particularly the lovely bathroom, the attention to detail (eg, soft-closing loo seat; one mirrored, one plain wardrobe door; & the silent electric black-out shutters so the crashing of other peoples' shutters doesn't wake you up!), & the general courtesy he extended to us, really 'made our stay'.
We arrived in dreadful late May weather, soaked, sore & ready to break after missing our stop on the bus (because you can't see the centre from the bus route - get off at the post office!) and wheeling our cases much farther than we needed to due to roadworks (get a really close-up detailed map before going, it's easy once you know, a few metres off the road up from the port!) Our host was quietly charming, instantly making us calm and happy again, carrying my heavy case up to an upgraded room with the most perfect full-on palm tree view (10?). He was available to us at all times, most importantly without disturbing our privacy going in and out, and happily helped us with materials to fix our broken case.
He also spoke excellent English whilst still allowing me the opportunity to practise my French! I believe the same would be true with the lady owner who seemed to be away but with whom I had a pleasant exchange of emails earlier at the time of booking. Lovely breads at breakfast &
the bed was as great quality as the rest of our experience - properly soft & padded while still supportive, and good halogen reading lights for mapping out our travels! There was also a range of terrace furniture to cover all our likely requirements - and a kettle & the supplies for it.
We arrived really too late for French lunch, but he was able to point us to Bard'O - virtually invisible from the top of the nearby Portissol beach prom - which was open right enough. Menu prices were high as usual in the south of France, but there was a cheap 17E 2 course menu du jour which gave us perfectly just-cooked swordfish, stylishly served, and a dessert.
One of the first places you pass walking into town is a small but very comfortable cinema, which was showing English language (Version Originale) selections from the Cannes Festival at the time - ideal for our first rainy night.
The daily fish & food market here has to be seen to be believed - and the 'big' market on some days is massive! There's a lot of good sushi here, for obvious reasons, amidst the full range of other choices. Great independent shops too, in a thoroughly French- rather than foreign-tourist, harbour resort. Rather than people-watch by the port, we found a cute little restaurant on a peaceful back square (Alisette et son Assiette?), which had a delightfully friendly lady running it and tasty good value food.
We also looked at H de la Tour, which is right on the port, but it had a busy road running right past it instead of the Synaya's garden-with-pool. And HdlT has one of those tired-looking open terrace restaurants, so you definitely wouldn't want a low floor - you'd only need to stay there if you really couldn't walk, as the Synaya is slightly uphill, just over 5 mins away. Hostellerie la Farandole looks fantastic, but you would need car or bus to get to Sanary port/shops/restaurants as it's all on its own up hills then down a private road on another bay nearer Bandol, with exceptionally expensive food & drink.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank loungelizard08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsynaya, Propriétaire at Hotel Synaya, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you for your kindness, it will be a pleasure to see you again in Sanary
Sincerely -Maryline BOURJAT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Synaya
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 150 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2012

We have just returned from a few days at the Hotel Synaya. Our room was lovely, quiet and peaceful. Clean, modern and the bed was really comfortable. We had a large terrace with sun loungers and table and chairs. The staff were friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make sure we were happy. It's a 5 minute walk to the harbour and beaches which was no trouble. There's a small pool and a fabulous breakfast, relaxing area outside. I would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The room we had with a terrace was very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TandPSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSynaya, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Synaya, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2016
Google Translation

Les anciens propriétaires n’ayant pu vous répondre on revient vers vous quelques années plus tard :
Merci pour votre séjour passé et venez découvrir les nouveautés (décorations, petits déjeuners, chambres) qui j’en suis sur vont vous plaire. On est à votre disposition. Cordialement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We have just returned from a motorcycle trip around France, staying at the Synaya for 5 nights. We found the hotel to be indeed spotlessly clean, with a very good breakfast and some of the best Coffee/Tea we have tasted in France. Our room was very large with a well equipped bathroom, and the pool although cool at 21 degrees made for a couple of very relaxing afternoons in late September. Our hosts welcomed us and gave us some excellent tips on where to visit,and they went out of there way to help with a couple of problems [both nothing to do with this hotel], but which involved our friends staying at a local Gite and another hotel booking. If we were to return to Sanary this would be the place that we would stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSynaya, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Synaya, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2016

Since previous owners were unable to respond to your nice comment, we come to you a few years later:
Thanks for your past trip and now come to see new changes (breakfast, rooms, decorations) which will please you. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I totally disagree with the last review and it appears we were there at the same time 7-11 Sept. We were 2 couples and were warmly welcomed, even had our cases carried to our rooms for us. We were given all the information we needed, we asked for recommendations for evening meals in the town, all of which were excellent. The tranquility of the hotel was superb, the pool so clean and 24 degrees is great for swimming outdoors in september, plenty of sunbeds.
The rooms were certainly not shabby, excellent beds and bathrooms,tip top cleanliness, free wifi access, and we had a large terrace overlooking the garden. Breakfast may have been extra but was taken in the delightful garden, juices fresh fruit salad made each day lots of hams cheeses breads jams etc to chose from and each guest was served an individual generous sized pot of coffee. The stroll to the town was easy and I am sure I would not have wanted to stay in town, far too busy and noisy. Portissol beach in minutes of the hotel. The South of France is expensive but we felt we had good value for money and would certainly visit again. We are discerning travellers and it ticked all the boxes for us.

Room Tip: Room 10 has a super terrace
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GMNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsynaya, Propriétaire at Hotel Synaya, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

Thank you very much for your kindness. It will be a pleasure to see you again in Sanary.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were a bit disappointed by this hotel. We chose it because the reviews here were so good, but in reality the hotel is nothing special. The lady at the reception made no effort to be particularly friendly. The way the hotel is painted inside makes it look shabby. The bed was good, but it filled most of the room. The bathroom was small, clean and well equipped. One of the best features of the hotel is that it is quiet. The swimming pool is fine, but the water was very cold. The breakfast costs extra and is nothing special. It is about a ten minute walk into the centre of the town. Overall we would say that the hotel and breakfast are overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zenMaster62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsynaya, Propriétaire at Hotel Synaya, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Yes we are not special, just quiet, with large beds, bathroom clean and well equipped, near the beach and the port and with a swimming pool .... The attitude of the lady at the desk depend a lot of the attitude of the guests and we are sorry that your taste is not our taste, our hotel is renovated and not shabby !! Do you think that 25°C is very cold in september in a pool ? Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Terrific hotel, high quality rooms with superb bathrooms. Service is very charming and helpful. Lovely tranquil setting, quiet location with easy walk to the harbour and to Portissol beach. Really quite unbeatable and highly recommended. i hope we'll back next time we're in south of France.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank montecarlopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSynaya, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Synaya, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2016

Since previous owners were unable to respond to your nice comment, we come to you a few years later:
Thanks for your past trip and now come to see new changes (breakfast, rooms, decorations) which will please you. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We had stayed in Sanary two years previously in a more expensive, but inferior, hotel. We loved the town, wanted to come back and, this time, picked Tripadvisor's top-rated hotel: what a good choice!

There is little to add to the other rave reviews. It is extremely well located (5 minutes to the beach at Portissol, 10 minutes to the harbour and restaurants) in a quiet, residential area. This is a small, quiet, peaceful hotel with owners who are always on hand and ready to assist. The whole hotel is scrupulously clean and tidy and the pool, though small, was never busy and there were always enough loungers.

The breakfast was particularly good with freshly prepared fruit salad, a good range of breads/croissants, well chosen cold meats and cheese and locally sourced artisanal jams.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Random19845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSynaya, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Synaya, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2016

Since previous owners were unable to respond to your nice comment, we come to you a few years later:
Thanks for your past trip and now come to see new changes (breakfast, rooms, decorations) which will please you. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanary-sur-Mer
0.9 mi away
Best Western Soleil Et Jardin
Best Western Soleil Et Jardin
#4 of 7 in Sanary-sur-Mer
318 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostellerie La Farandole
Hostellerie La Farandole
#2 of 7 in Sanary-sur-Mer
585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holidays & Work Hotel
Holidays & Work Hotel
#1 of 7 in Sanary-sur-Mer
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Adonis Sanary Hotel des Bains
Adonis Sanary Hotel des Bains
#7 of 7 in Sanary-sur-Mer
227 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Le Delos
Hotel Le Delos
#1 of 1 in Ile de Bendor
336 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ile Rousse Hotel Thalazur Bandol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Synaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Synaya

Address: 92 Chemin Olive | Quartier de Portissol, 83110 Sanary-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Sanary-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sanary-sur-Mer
Price Range: $106 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Synaya 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located 200m from the beach Portissol. The outdoor pool is open from early April to late October. The rooms are equipped with air conditioning, a safe, a flat-screen TV, hairdryer and minibar. Some rooms have a terrace or balcony. A WiFi connection is free and daily newspapers. A buffet breakfast is usually served every morning in the sunny garden. The hotel favors fresh, seasonal, artisanal and / or organic food. The port / Sanary center is about 8 minutes walk from the hotel. Two very good restaurants recommended by customers are 200m from the hotel. According to your requests, we recommend the best restaurants we test regularly. Drive from the hotel, Bandol is 10 minutes, the station of Ollioules-Sanary 10 minutes, 20 minutes Le Castellet, Toulon 20 minutes, 30 minutes Cassis, Hyeres 40 minutes, 45 minutes Marseille, Aix en Provence 50 minutes, Saint-Tropez and Nice 1h30 to 2h. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Synaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing