We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home!”
other travelers have booked this property
The Gite a large detatched house among other historic buildings in an enclosed courtyard.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gite a large detatched house among other historic buildings in an enclosed courtyard.
Large country style kitchen with food preparation block country kitchen with breakfast area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
The Gite a large detatched house among other historic buildings in an enclosed courtyard.
Large country style kitchen with food preparation block
country kitchen with breakfast area
breakfast area seating for 8
Original features, steps to kitchen door
Lounge
Lounge area in front of wood burner
A very seasonal and atmospheric woodburner
Table to seat 8 persons for celebration.
original features
ground floor bedroom with king size bed
ground floor bedroom
ground floor bedroom opening out onto courtyard
downstairs en-suite bathroom
ground floor bathroom
Double bedroom
double bedroom
double bedroom
upper floor twin room
twin room
day bed room suitable for adults of children over two yrs.
welcome
Upper floor bathroom
upper floor shower unit
upper floor bathroom with 2 wash basins
original features
view to the old forge from the bedroom
original features
summer room looking towards the terrace
the terrace
the terrace area
steps to the terrace from the courtyard
original features
lots of seating areas in the courtyard
outdoor dining area
garden touches
garden touches
garden touches
seating areas
geraniums in the top of the
pigeonaire
French geraniums
a long view of the house
seating outside the lounge
use the courtyard as you wish, lots of sunny spots
large courtyard with grassed area for games
just relax
a well kept courtyard
original dog kennels
kittens in the barn among the wood pile.
a sunny courtyard
profusion of French geraniums
Roses in summer
a very well attended garden
profusion of flowers
collection of historic building including this converted pigeonnaire now lived in by the owner
A quite place to stroll near the river.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Argoules, Somme, Hauts-de-France

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
ZoeLW
Cranbrook, Kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home from Home!”
Reviewed October 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is the second year we have stayed and if possible we enjoyed ourselves even more this time! in 2014 we stayed and loved it so much that we booked for a fortnight in August of this year for two weeks.
We have a group of 4 adults and one 6 year old, who loves to run around in the beautiful garden, walk and explore the village and play pooh sticks along the river nearby. The house is close to lots of beautiful towns and villages, plus in the Abbaye de Valloires is a 20 minute walk, on the other side of the village, with its beautiful gardens is well worth a visit.
We took our bikes and explored the villages surrounding Argoules, so if you like cycling, walking or running, this is a fantastic base.
The house itself is gorgeous, literally a home away from home, and I would highly recommend it anyone, in fact I have already!
Daphne and Tom are lovely, on hand for any queries or help you might need, and I hope we will see them again soon at beautiful Argoules!

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, the location, Daphne and Tom, the list goes on....
Liked least: Nothing at all!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2015
Thank you for your review, we always love to welcome back previous guests, and it was lovely seeing your family again.
Yes hope we meet soon again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Unusual and beautiful gite”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This gite is very special and we will remember it for a long time. The stables have been very well converted, the décor is absolutely lovely and the house is very well equipped. The owners live close by and could not have been more helpful and friendly. There is plenty to do around the local area, which is unspoilt and charming. It is easy to get to terrific beaches from the gite, as well as many other attractions.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2015
A pleasure to have your family stay at the Gite, and so glad you all enjoyed your stay. Hope we get to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerenza20...
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious and comfortable house of unique character”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed a ten day stay at Les Ecuries earlier this month, 'we' being myself, my husband, our two children and my mother. The ground floor 'wing' comprising double bedroom, bathroom and toilet is ideal for an infirm or elderly holidaymaker. We all loved the house and its setting within the lawned courtyard of historic buildings. There is masses of outdoor space and at least two seating areas, so that you can catch the sun or the shade as you prefer. The house is bristling with period features galore. While the downstairs is quite grand, with big rooms and high ceilings, the upstairs is on a cosier scale. Les Ecuries feels more like a proper home than a pared down holiday cottage - lots of books and pictures. The owners are very welcoming. Argoules is a lovely spot, with a good restaurant just over the road from the gite. Lots to see and do. The coast is readily accessible and there are many towns within striking distance. If you are a history buff you will be spoiled for choice, particularly if you are interested in WW1.

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2015
Thank you for your review, always a pleasure to welcome returning guests and to meet new guests.
Lovely to have met your family and pleased you enjoyed the house and your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie N
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely, comfortable & well equipped property in a peaceful location”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed once again in Argoules & had a beautifully warm week in June, and made the most of the lovely courtyard garden. It's such a well equipped & spacious house, a real home from home. This trip we went to the memorial for my husband's Great Uncle, lost in the First World War. Argoules is in the Somme region so it was easily accessible. The coast and some lovely typically French market towns are within 30 minutes from the house, some great markets are to be found too. We are out in local restaurants, and in Rue & Montreuil.
We will keep coming back!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2015
It's always a pleasure to welcome you back, hope to see you soon again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice W
Heenvliet, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Compleet stukje paradijs / little peace of heaven”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We really loved this holiday home. It is the best house we have rented in France ever. This is a lovely ancient home with beautiful surroundings. The house is very comfortable and equipped with everything you need, yes really everything. Really nice owners (Daphne is a great scones-cook) and the fact that they are Irish and speak English is very convenient for those who speak very little French. The little kittens in the garden were an absolute bonus for us :-). We really hope many people will have the same wonderful experience we have had! Tom & Daphne, thanks for letting us stay in your wonderful home!
p.s..We recommend to book directly with the owners, just search for Argoules Gites and the site will come up!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: de complete inventaris
Liked least: n.v.t.
Traveling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2015
It is always a absolute pleasure to welcome guests into our Gite, and are especially pleased when they return.
We have been very lucky to have made some wonderful friends through our rental business, long may it continue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crunchie7...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We are just back from a two week stay at Les Ecuries. It was our second visit, as we went for one week last summer and liked it so much.

The gite and it's surroundings are wonderful. There is so much space inside and out for everyone to spread out. The owners are on site and could not be more helpful, but are not at all intrusive.

We were lucky with the weather. The first couple of days were almost too hot but the living room remained cool and comfortable, and there is always a breeze upstairs from the balcony.

There are plenty of places to visit locally but we spent some days just enjoying the garden. We did visit St Valery, Montreuil, Hesdin market, Crecy etc. We also picnicked by the little river in the village, and at Maintenay.

There are so many good restaurants in the area including the one directly opposite the gite, it's set menus were very good value. The one in nearby Douriez was outstanding. We ate there twice and have never had a better meal in France.

We hope to be back some day.

Date of stay: August 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJMUM
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent gite, wonderful owners”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were a party of 7 and stayed at this lovely gite for one week in April this year. The gite is spacious and comfortable and has all the facilities you would expect. The log fire was a treat which kept the boys entertained of an evening.

The real highlight of the gite though was the owners who live next door. They are both charming, friendly and helpful and always up for a chat. They are very knowledgeable about the area and are happy to advise re: days out or places to eat.

Daphne is qualified to offer a range of alternative therapies and we made full use of these skills. I personally would recommend the reflexology.

Definitely would recommend to friends and are hoping to return next year.

Date of stay: April 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing