We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August 2014 stop off en route from Bordeaux - Calais”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Demeure de la Vignole
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Turquant
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We visited for 1 night in August '14 as a stop off on the way home from Bordeaux. If you like interesting, beautiful and different locations this is for you. We loved it and would definitely go again. We didn't stay in a troglodyte room but our ochra suite was lovely and the staff very welcoming. No downsides!!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Verity S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Demeure de la Vignole
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 195 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in June 2014, the hotel is truly unique and the welcome both friendly and helpful. We chose the Ochre room which opens onto a charming terrace overlooking a vineyard with views across the Loire valley. All the rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished with an eclectic choice from the owners travel's - delightful. We enjoyed an excellent dinner at Madame's table and were offered a choice of breakfast menus, including bread freshly baked in the kitchen
that morning.
Demeure de la Vignole is definitely going onto our list of hotels to return to.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed there with 4 for five nights in the summer of 2013.
The room was very big, the bathroom very luxury.
The breakfast was quite expensive.
The swimming pool is very good.
the region is fantastic.

Room Tip: choose maybe for an appartement if you want to self-cater. There is no fridge in the normal rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flobar71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I was so excited when we first saw this hotel (it was booked for us by a tour company) because I had really wanted to stay in a cave room. I was delighted that our room was built into the cave. The man who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. Those are the excellent things about the hotel.

The pool is built into the cave as well, as you can see from the picture, and we really did enjoy using the pool as we had arrived by bike and the pool was refreshing. The outside part of the pool was covered with a floating cover, and my husband didn't like that they didn't take that off so we could use that part of the pool.

Now the bad things...
We only stayed one night. The people in the room downstairs from us were very loud, like there was a small party going on. They were singing and playing music until sort of late. That is not too bad. In the morning, we awoke to a room full of cigarette smoke. Apparently, the same group was smoking downstairs. It woke us up early, and our room and bathroom were literally filled with smoke. Being non-smokers, it was quite unpleasant, and it woke us up much earlier than we needed to arise.

So we got up and went down to breakfast. This was the worst breakfast we had the whole time we were in France. This was supposed to be a 4 star hotel (I imagine its only because of the pool), and we stayed in a mix of two, three and four star places. Again, out of everything, this was by far and without a doubt, the worst breakfast.

We got some canned juice, and a basket of stale breads that had been over toasted to try to make them seem fresh I suppose. No yogurt, no fruit, nothing else. And the breads that we did receive were really almost inedible. We left most of it. We asked about the breakfast and they told us that is all our tour company had booked, but I really doubt that because every other hotel we received the full breakfast buffet, and we had not put any price limits on the tour, and in fact, had expensive and fine dining places booked for us.

We also mentioned the smoking issue, and the woman working in the morning said they couldn't ask guests not to smoke, but she was not pleasant about any of the issues. She could have just maybe apologized about the smoke.

It was fun to stay in the cave for sure, but this hotel is supposed to be a 4 star rating and I don't think the hotel lived up to that.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rlsybrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartholeyns, Propriétaire at Demeure de la Vignole, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We apologize again, for the smokers. Unfortunately they smoked outside on their terrace which is not forbidden.

The window of the room in which you stayed was left open which caused the smoke getting through.

As it concerns the breakfast, the orange juice is freshly squeezed in the morning & the bread, the "viennoiserie" are cooked on the spot in the morning.
Yoghurt, egg, fruit salad, delicatessen and cheese are served on the top when breakfast type "brunch" is ordered which was not the case.



The Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is not your typical budget chain hotel, but one with real character, a lovely French experience. Hotel set in side of cliffs riddled with troglodyte caves; swimming pool is inside one such cave! Rooms well appointed and comfortable. We also had an excellent dinner one evening. Staff very helpful and friendly. Lots to see in the area, well worth several nights stay and use as a base to explore the area. We stayed in this hotel 4 years ago and enjoyed it, this time we took some friends and all enjoyed the experience.

Room Tip: Our room was in the hotel main building, others are in troglodyte caves, looked very well appointed...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had 3 wonderful nights here. The staff were very helpful, and had very good English.
It is a bit nerve-wracking negotiating the driveway, but its worth it. The swimming pool is unique and a must-do; some of the fitness equipment could do with some maintenance ( but really who needs to do exercise on holiday?!). It's an easy 10min walk to the village which has 2 nice restaurants, and Samur is only 10min drive North. A great base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JnKnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a brilliant little hotel, personal and individual. Helpful staff who made us very welcome. There is a very narrow entrance, you begin to think like we did that the car, ours is a big 4x4, won't go through the gap in the rock. It did and there was ample space to turn round. Some rooms are inside the rock as is the pool. Cars are also parked under a huge cavernous opening. Very surreal place. When you enter the hotel the vista opens up in front of you. The lovely patio area is a sun trap and it is great for breakfast or brunch, which is an option. The rooms are comfortable with good beds and flamboyant decor. We would return to this hotel as it is handy for exploring the Loire valley.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank lovelunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turquant
15.7 mi away
Rocaminori Hotel
Rocaminori Hotel
#1 of 1 in Louresse-Rochemenier
196 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Marine de Loire
Hotel La Marine de Loire
#1 of 2 in Montsoreau
194 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fontevraud L'Hotel
Fontevraud L'Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Chateau de Verrieres
Chateau de Verrieres
#5 of 24 in Saumur
428 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevrau...
#2 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
376 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 24 in Saumur
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demeure de la Vignole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demeure de la Vignole

Address: 3 Impasse Marguerite d'Anjou, La Vignole, 49730 Turquant, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Turquant
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Turquant
Price Range: $111 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Demeure de la Vignole 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clinging to the slopes of the Loire this age-old private troglodyte village provides welcoming accommodations for visitors in its charming 17th century residence and 12th century troglodyte rooms and dwellings with all the modern comfort. Close to Fontevraud Abbey and Saumur, this site is ideal for discovering the Loire valley and its chateaux ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Demeure de la Vignole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing