We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Spacious Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Casino
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Spacious Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have stayed here many times over the last 10 years and the service/standards have been maintained. However, the restaurant is lacking in atmosphere. There used to be large "planters" scattered around which helped provide a cosier feel. All these have been removed and the room is totally open making it feel more like a work's canteen. The food is less "fussy" these days and portion sizes are huge - exceptional value for money.
I still find it hard to come to terms with the glass door to the bathroom!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gourmet42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    176
    38
    9
    2
See reviews for
29
186
4
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham Wales
Level Contributor
133 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed one night at this hotel. The room was large modern and very clean. Due to bad weather, it rained incessantly I decided to dine at the hotel, the food was excellent and the service attentive.
I would recommend this hotel and will return next time I am in the area.

Room Tip: I would recommend a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAYKAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
221 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I spent a night there on a week-end because I had a meeting close by. The room was spacious, and I asked a view on the marina. So it was even better. The room is modern and has the toilet and the bathroom separated, it has a spacious safe. They normally have free wifi but it had some problem this week-end. In any case, the same provider gives a paid service too not expensive but still had problems. The people are very friendly and the rooms are clean. Apparently the restaurant is good but I did not try it. I did try the breakfast and it is more a french breakfast than international. very good but mainly bread and danish, egg for who wants, some cereals, and some cheeses and sausage. Plenty for the price you pay. I did not try the restaurant nor the bar. For my standard definetely good value for the money and I will go back in case I am in the area again.

Room Tip: ask for a view on the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdnirc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed in the family room which is actually two units that can be separated once the kids are asleep. The place has air con (a rarity in northern France it seems) and they are in the process of replacing the carpets (which is mentioned quite a bit in the other reviews). We had breakfast in the restuarant which was superb. Dinner doesn't start until 19:30 anywhere (even bistros!) in St. Valery en Caux so you may struggle to feed the litte ones before then. Wish we could have taken this hotel to the town of Dieppe which we preferred to St Valery en Caux.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
118 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel is modern and is next to the harbour. I personally liked the modern design of the hotel. My own room was a very good size and looked out over the harbour. The only slight oddity was that the toilet and the bathroom are on different sides of the room. It is about 10 minutes walk into the centre of the village.

I did not think the service was particularly good. Things were not always available at breakfast. The room our group used in the evening was sometimes not cleaned before we used it the next day and service was generally a bit half-hearted. A nice modern hotel, but with a level of customer service that most chain hotels would easily beat.

Room Tip: Get a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rover54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel June 2012 and it was desperately understaffed with dirty crocks on the bar and although two staff members had been standing behind it talking, they didn't offer to serve and went away. We had to ask reception both before and after dinner to provide a barman. The carpets in the main corridors were stained, and a large sticky spill on the marble floor near the bar had not been cleared up all that evening. The food was average, and the maitre d' seemed to have a principle of seating everyone close together in a virtually empty restaurant. An elderly couple were turned away at 8 o'clock or thereabouts as they were "too late" and were advised they would be "better having room service". Altogether a poor experience and a very costly one.

Room Tip: Rooms are large but the garden ones have a poor outlook. Go for a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bethsuzannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Hotel Casino many times in the last ten years and have found the staff to be most helpful and pleasant. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped. Those overlooking the marina are especially nice. There is free parking and just a short walk to the seafront.

On this visit we felt that the decor was rather tired and in fact there was a note in the room apologising for this and explaining that a refit was underway. Unfortunately standards have slipped in the restaurant and our meal was pricey and poor quality. Breakfast was limited too. Maybe the current financial climate has had an impact? If we stay again we would choose to eat in another restaurant; there are several in St Valery worth trying!




  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleinStaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Valery-en-Caux
0.2 mi away
Hotel Henri 4
Hotel Henri 4
#2 of 4 in Saint-Valery-en-Caux
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Maison des Galets
La Maison des Galets
#4 of 4 in Saint-Valery-en-Caux
3.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Fregates
Hotel Restaurant Les Fregates
#1 of 2 in Veulettes-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Le Grand Pavois Hotel
Le Grand Pavois Hotel
#1 of 10 in Fecamp
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Bains
Hotel Les Bains
#3 of 4 in Saint-Valery-en-Caux
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
18.3 mi away
Brit Hotel
Brit Hotel
#2 of 16 in Dieppe
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Casino

Property: Hotel du Casino
Address: 14 avenue Clemenceau, 76460 Saint-Valery-en-Caux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Saint-Valery-en-Caux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint-Valery-en-Caux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Saint-Valery-En-Caux
Hotel Du Casino Saint-Valery-En-Caux, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing