We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the achitecture frighten you!”
Review of Hotel du Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Casino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Frightening when viewed from outside but much less so once inside. The hotel has a slightly bland feel to it but don't be put off - it all works very well with friendly and efficient staff. The rooms are large and comfortable but best to close the windown unless you can sleep through the noise of hungry herring gulls. Dinner was good if not excellent - the casino is perhaps a more interesting choice. The hotel runs a free bus service between the hotel and the casino. The hotel has good parking and dogs are welcomed. A good touring base.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OVichski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 420 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

this is our third visit to du casino, great place to have a base to explore from.the rooms are big modern with plenty of light and great marina views.the hotel is clean and well looked after nice bedding, towels and a seperate toilet .breakfast is french style but a good choice the staff are very helpful and aim to please the wi fi works a tasreat and is free even good enough for skype will always come here again.it is listed as three stars do not be put off well worth the visit.

Room Tip: its worth paying for a marina view so much to see and you can park the car free of charge over the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stopped here just before easter and found the hotel to be very good. The room was large with a great wet room ( big enough for a party ) and good facilities. The view from the front overlooking the harbour is lovely but we only saw it from the viewing windows on our floor as we were in the back.
Breakfast is a good continental all you can eat and you can boil your own eggs if you want to dip.
The Wi Fi is good but you need the desk to generate some passwords for you which takes a few minuits and may need a second attempt.
It is a short, pleasent, walk into the town alongside the marina so no problems there and you can park in front of the hotel by the marina if you arrive at the right time
St Valery is a lovely little town but when we were there not all of it was open. If you are there for anything to do with the 51st Highland regiment make sure you go to the tourist information and ask if they will arrange for you to look in the room over the council house ( the registery office ) where there is a lot of memorabillia.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonygreen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the hotel...We were allocated a 3rd floor room over looking the marina. We found the room very spacious, nicely appointed bathroom with great views out towards the sea. Although we dined out in the evenings, we did have breakfast at the hotel, which was ideal. If you're looking for a short break, then this is a lovely hotel to stay at and the Village of St. Valery en Caux is well positioned on the coast, with plenty of walks both in the local countryside or along the beach.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor at the front of the hotel so you get the views overlooking the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gurneygary31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Ideally located, close to the station and facing the marina affording beautiful views from the rooms (book high floor though). Our room was very spacious and clean with good seating, comfortable bed and OK bathroom.

Morning staff at front desk is not caring much. However, some other staff were more accommodating as they fully met our requirement when we requested a specific room and eventually let us access to the outside terrace for our last drinks after bar’s business hours so cannot complaint too much.

Would hopefully return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Supermercado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We were just staying 1 night and had booked a panoramic room looking over the harbour. The room is very spacious, very clean, has a nice and clear bathroom. Clienliness was impeccable.
Has we arrived quite late, was decided to have super in the hotel's resstaurant. It wass a very pleasant surprise: high quality menu's for very reasonnable prices.
The only reason why I don't give an "excellent" for service, is the fact that the receptionist did not ask if we wanted to use WIFI when we cheched in. I had to go back from our room to ask for the WIFI-code.

Room Tip: Ask for the panoramic rooms at the harbour side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YB_Wolvertem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

The aim of the weekend was to have a relaxing weekend break for my good lady and myself as the kids were not around. We had not stayed in this part of France before and were not sure it would meet our needs, which were to relax have some good food and generally get away from the "rat race lifestyle" we lead in london... Well what a nice surprise this hotel and local town was. Staff were very friendly, rooms were lovely, clean and spacious, and even though other reviews about the restaurant were not that positive, we had an excellent meal at a very good price.
The local town is a yatchman's paradise, very simple, a few local bars and the town square is lovely with is chic cafe bars etc....Coffee was even cheaper than starbucks at home and 100% times better. We had lunch in a little side street cafe bar and enjoyed the hospitality of the owner, who again went out of his way for us, making food off the menu as he had just bought some fish off the local fisherman and thought we would like it, and we did.
Would definitely go back, and would recommend the hotel and the town as a weekend break. Come sunday morning, we were disappointed to leave and were both looking for excuses to stay another night!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miami6304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Valery-en-Caux
17 mi away
Hotel le Grand Pavois
Hotel le Grand Pavois
#1 of 10 in Fecamp
697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Bains
Hotel Les Bains
#3 of 4 in Saint-Valery-en-Caux
85 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison des Galets, Les Remparts
La Maison des Galets, Les Rempar...
#4 of 4 in Saint-Valery-en-Caux
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Henri 4
Hotel Henri 4
#2 of 4 in Saint-Valery-en-Caux
84 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Fregates
Hotel Restaurant Les Fregates
#1 of 2 in Veulettes-sur-Mer
200 reviews
16.6 mi away
Grand Hotel du Casino de Dieppe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Casino

Address: 14 avenue Clemenceau, 76460 Saint-Valery-en-Caux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Saint-Valery-en-Caux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint-Valery-en-Caux
Price Range: $97 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Saint-Valery-En-Caux
Hotel Du Casino Saint-Valery-En-Caux, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing