We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will never forget Chateau Bouceel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Bouceel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau de Bouceel
Ranked #1 of 1 Vergoncey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“We will never forget Chateau Bouceel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We decided to spend a few days in Normandy on our recent trip to France and as a result of its good reviews, Chateau Bouceel was the choice. You must have a car to stay here as it is not within walking distance of any towns, nor are any meals bar breakfast provided, but it is worth it!
Chateau Bouceel has history, luxury, beauty and comfort. It is a unique experience.
We arrived in Winter so it was quiet, in fact after staying in Paris, the silence was deafening. We were escorted to "Uncle Francois" bedroom up the formal stone staircase. There was a canopy around the bed which had 3 big white feather doonas on it. There was a fireplace and many large paintings of the Chateau's ancestors in ornate gold frames. There was a "walk in robe" area between the bedroom and bathroom which was large enough for our 2 cases and all the contents. The bathroom had a shower over the bath and plenty of room. There was a good hair dryer provided but no robes or slippers (always good for wooden floors).
The tall windows which could be opened also could be covered on the inside by wooden shutters to keep the cold out at night.
The view from the windows over the gardens was a highlight. In front of the chateau was a small stream, huge old trees, geese and 2 happy donkeys. The small family chapel can also be seen. Waking up to that beautiful serene vision set the tone for the day.
Breakfast was served downstairs in the large dining room on a formally set table. Juice, coffee, croissant and yoghurt was the only food on offer but with the Count, owner of the chateau entertaining us with historical stories, it was the highlight of our day.
The only downsides were, there was no TV, but we didn't miss it, the free Wifi was very slow, the heating in our room was turned off during the day so we had to turn it back on when we returned at night and there was no fridge in our room so we asked the Count to store our cheese and wine and on returning at 8pm the whole Chateau was locked up and dark and the Count not around so we had no access to our meal. Being a Sunday and Winter there was nowhere around to eat and we did not feel like driving around to find something open.
That said, we cannot wait to return, it really was a wonderful experience and I am already treasuring my memories of those 4 nights.

Room Tip: Oncle Francois's room has a lovely view over the creek and front of the estate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonieshorncliffeQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
157
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I had the most wonderful experience at the Chateau de Bouceel! Every aspect of our stay was superb. In late May, we spent two nights in the Saddlery. It was a few steps from the main house. The Saddlery was perfect -- it was private and quiet with a comfortable sitting room, a fully stocked kitchen, a large bathroom and three bedrooms (a full bed, twin beds and a baby bed). The full bed was very comfortable and we both slept soundly with the windows open with a nice breeze. The main house and grounds are spectacular – the perfect French Chateau -- but the stars of the stay are the charming and impeccable hosts, the Count and Countess Regis de Roquefeuil. Because my husband and I are history fans, the Count recounted the amazing history of his family and the Chateau. The location is perfect for visiting Mont Ste Michel (20 minutes) , D-Day areas (1.5 hours) and the Brittany area. However, if you stay at the Chateau, I urge you to block extra time at breakfast to chat with Count de Roquefeuil and view his WWII memorabilia. The Count also advised us regarding wonderful restaurants and day trips. My favorite part of the stay was at the Memorial Day ceremony at the Brittany American Cemetery, where I had the honor to visit the American soldier the de Roquefeuil family has adopted. The Countess cut flowers from the Chateau's beautiful garden and placed them on his grave. My only wish is that we could have spent more time at peaceful and lovely Chateau de Bouceel. We definitely will return and next time for an extended stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I could not say one bad thing about our stay at the Chateau. The chateau itself, the grounds, and the Comte and Comtesse were all amazing. We traveled with our son (5 years old) and all enojyed it immensely. It is very peaceful and gorgeous...even on days with a little fog it added to the mystique! While there, don't consider it just a place to sleep. Carve out time to explore the grounds, meet the donkeys :), visit the chapel, and most importantly engage the Comte in conversations about the chateau, its history, and his family! While we speak french (my husband is french and my son and I are fluent), the Comte speaks exceptional english (he previously lived for some time in Chicago - our home city, what a small world!) and as such there are no language barriers here. Breakfast was a time when he would sit with the guests, answer our questions, and indulge us with stories from his family's past (if we desired). Don't plan on eating & dashing if you can...stick around and enjoy a leisurely breakfast and discussion.

We only stayed two nights but would have happily stayed longer and likely will the next time we visit Normandy and Brittany. It is well situated and there are various good dining options in nearby towns - just ask the Comte and he will provide his recommendations. He even went out of his way to make reservations, get us maps (we forgot to bring our GPS..not a great idea!), etc. He also gives good guidance on what to visit in the region and how best to layout an itinerary for the day (what city/site to visit first, where to end the day for dinner, etc).

Only thing I would caution is to mind the cat when you get back to the chateau in the evenings. It is a very nice and friendly cat but he likes to jump in guests' cars - as we discovered the morning of our departure when we opened the car and the cat jumped out! It had apparently spent the night in our car having jumped in when we got out the prior evening. No harm done though...the cat just napped and luckily didn't leave any evidence behind from its stay :) We had a good laugh with the Comte and Comtesse about it afterwards :)

So, if you're in the area and it's in your price range, you MUST stay at the Chateau de Bouceel. You will not regret it!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I've stayed in many French chateaux, and Bouceel is the best. Beautiful, peaceful grounds surround the chateau, and the Comte is best host I've ever met. Entertaining and charming, the Comte made every person staying at the chateau feel at home. The rooms are exceptionally well-appointed, and there are no bad views! It was fascinating to see the pictures on the walls recounting the history of the family going back hundreds of years. The Comte recommended excellent restaurants in the nearby villages. The chateau is close to Mortain, Avranches, and lovely little Ducey, not to mention Mont Saint Michel. This trip was the best I've made so far, and the greater part of it was staying at Chateau Bouceel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We chose Chateau de Bouceel because of the excellent reviews and its proximity to Mont Saint Michel and it far exceeded our expectations. We were greeted by Comte Régis de Roquefeuil, an exceptionally informative and charming host. The restaurant he suggested for dinner was one of the finest meals we had during our vacation in France and the stories that he told about his home and Mont Saint Michel were a delight and made our trip much more special. We stayed in the “Ba-mé" bedroom which was luxurious and had a beautiful view of the back garden. Our only regret was that we did not plan a few extra days at Chateau de Bouceel to relax and enjoy more of the countryside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tivoli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Besides being an absolutely magnificent Chateau, what makes this special is Comte Regis. He is absolutely charming to talk to and hear about all of the history of the Chateau.
The area is very beautiful and very quiet. We stayed in the Marquise Bedroom but all of the rooms are wonderful.
I won’t go into detail of the place as I am sure you will read that in the other reviews. What I can do is tell you a hint that Regis told us about Mont St. Michel that you really MUST listen to:
We had planned on spending the day there which in hindsight was crazy as you can see everything in about 2 hours. What he suggested though was to go to Dinan first and then St Malo. Both are amazing towns, especially Dinan. Later that day we arrived at St Michel at precisely 4:00 PM just when the 7000 tourist busses were leaving. It made it much more enjoyable as St Michel is VERY touristy. Think about Clifton Hill at Niagara Falls and you get the idea. We were able to see everything without being rushed and it was quite enjoyable. Then back to a peaceful evening at Chateau de Bouceel. They had a lovely study/library with a fire going that really ended the day nicely for us.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJPlums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bouceel1763, Owner at Chateau de Bouceel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear friends,


Thanks a lot for all.......In order to take good care of people you must love them!
We hope seeing you again in Boucéel
With our best regards
Régis de Roquefeuil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Chateau de Bouceel is very close to Mont Saint Michel and was built in 1763 and still a family home.
The rooms are beautiful with superb carved wood panels, parquet floors, period antiques blending harmoniously with modern suite bathrooms.
Tha breakfast is excelent and the Mr. Regis, the Comte, is always there for you!
The Count and Countesse the Roquefeuil are very friendly and helped us booking very nice restaurants and given very good advices in places nearby that we should visite.
It was an amazing experience.

Room Tip: The rooms are huge and very confortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pdelpapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bouceel1763, Owner at Chateau de Bouceel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We thank you for your review. Boucéel estate has always been linked to Mont Saint Michel. During the One Hundred years war in 1434, three brothers, Boucéel's owners, have fought in Mont Saint Michel alltogether with 119 knights against the English invaders...........They won and since then Mont saint Michel remains French!!!.....
with my best regards
Régis de Roquefeuil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vergoncey
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Moulin de Ducey
7.5 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
8.8 mi away
La Ramade Hotel de Charme
La Ramade Hotel de Charme
#1 of 5 in Avranches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Montgomery
8.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Pierre
Auberge Saint-Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Bouceel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Bouceel

Property: Chateau de Bouceel
Address: Lieu-dit Bouceel | 6 Bouceel, 50240 Vergoncey, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Vergoncey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vergoncey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18kms away from Mont Saint Michel the chateau is still a family home. Built in 1763, it sits in a quiet park with lakes, island, age old trees. The interior boasts super carved wood panels, parquets floors, period antiques, family portraits blending harmoniously with modern comfort and stylish bathrooms. Your hosts, Nicole and Regis, will welcome you as friends and share the enjoyment of their home. Breakfast included in rate. Non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Chateau de Bouceel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Bouceel Vergoncey, Normandy, France
Chateau De Bouceel Hotel Vergoncey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing