We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chateau close to Mont Saint Michel”
Review of Chateau de Bouceel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Bouceel
Ranked #1 of 1 Vergoncey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Chateau de Bouceel is very close to Mont Saint Michel and was built in 1763 and still a family home.
The rooms are beautiful with superb carved wood panels, parquet floors, period antiques blending harmoniously with modern suite bathrooms.
Tha breakfast is excelent and the Mr. Regis, the Comte, is always there for you!
The Count and Countesse the Roquefeuil are very friendly and helped us booking very nice restaurants and given very good advices in places nearby that we should visite.
It was an amazing experience.

Room Tip: The rooms are huge and very confortable
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pdelpapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bouceel1763, Owner at Chateau de Bouceel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

We thank you for your review. Boucéel estate has always been linked to Mont Saint Michel. During the One Hundred years war in 1434, three brothers, Boucéel's owners, have fought in Mont Saint Michel alltogether with 119 knights against the English invaders...........They won and since then Mont saint Michel remains French!!!.....
with my best regards
Régis de Roquefeuil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Chateau de Bouceel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 310 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at the Chateau for two nights with my husband during our trip to Normand and Brittany at the end of September. The whole place is absolutely beautiful. We stayed at Nelly's bedroom which was spacious with a marble fireplace and two big windows overlooking the garden and the pond at the front of the chateau. The beds were very comfortable.The bathroom was big with modern conveniences and a big window. We also had an adjoining small room, next to our bathroom with an extra bed. Comte Régis de Roquefeuil was an excellent host. We enjoyed his stories about the history of his family and the "ghost" of the castle. The breakfast at the big dinning room was fantastic. As for the location of the chateau it is perfect as a home base if you want to visit Mont-St-Michel, Normandy beaches and San Malo etc. I strongly recommend Chateau de Bouceel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I went to the Brittany/Normandy border to find the grave of my uncle who was killed there in Aug. 1944. He is buried with 4400 others at the Brittany American Cemetery at St. James, a few miles from Chateau de Bouceel. From the moment Regis de Roquefueil discovered the reason for my visit, I was treated as a VIP. Turns out Msr. Roquefueil is a founding member of an organization called Les Fleurs de Memoire who have adopted and have been honoring Ameican WW II dead since Dec. 2000. He regularly sends Americans who've come to visit the cemetery with a bouquet of his red, white and blue hydrangeas to be placed on the grave of an American soldier.

The Chateau itself is nothing short of superb old world charm and elegance in an idyillic, pastoral setting in the French countryside. No detail of comfort and hospitality has been overlooked. The location as a home base for visiting Mont St . Michel, Caen and the Normandy beaches and exploring Brittany and Normandy is perfect.

Room Tip: ANY room is a good room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marvelous M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bouceel1763, Owner at Chateau de Bouceel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Friend,


Many thanks for your nice review......How are you doing? We hope you had a nice trip back home. I also want to let you know that eversince you left, I have already sent another guest to flower your uncle's grave and I shall continue to do it, thinking of you and what your uncle did .
Take good care.
Régis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Staying at the Chateau was a truly special experience - one of our favorite moments of our trip through the French countryside. The setting is absolutely lovely, and we enjoyed exploring the grounds, meeting the donkeys, etc. We stayed in the Marquis room, and WOW. We felt like royalty. The room felt very authentically historic, but with updated modern conveniences in the bathroom. The breakfast was fantastic, and the best part of our stay was meeting the delightful Comte and hearing his stories about the family's history. Ask to see his father's "World War II comic book" - we bought 3 to take home as souvenirs for family members. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed 1 night on our way to Caen after a camping holiday with our 2 boys. The Count could not have been more charming, welcoming or informative. Our room was like stepping into a piece of history and the grounds are beautiful. After a delicious breakfast served by the Count himself he told us some of his truly moving stories about his fathers role in the French resistance. We vow to return again and in fact my parents have just booked in on our recommendation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggie z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bouceel1763, Owner at Chateau de Bouceel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Madam,

I am so pleased you like your stay in Boucéel. We are looking forward to knowing and welcoming your parents.........Tomorrow !
Hoping seeing you again in Boucéel
With my best regards for you and your family
Régis de Roquefeuil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

There is a quote from the movie “Field of Dreams” that seems appropriate for our time at Chateau Bouceel: “This is my most special place in all the world...Once a place touches you like this, the wind never blows so cold again.”

We stayed at Chateau Bouceel for 5 nights in 2010 and returned in 2012, and again stayed 5 nights. Chateau Bouceel is located in Lower Normandy, not the part of France that wine lovers would normally visit when in France. For us, Chateau Bouceel is unique. It is, of course, a beautiful chateau, located in a picturesque countryside. Even if you tried, it would be difficult to take a bad photograph of the chateau or the grounds which surround it. However, it is much more than that. It is a place full of history, from the French revolution to WWII when American troops camped on the property during the Normandy invasion. The chateau is within a few miles of the American cemetery at St. James, and within easy driving distance of the Normandy Beaches and beautiful seaside towns such as Honfluer, Saint Malo, and Cancale.

For anyone who has taken even a cursory look at Chateau Bouceel on Trip Advisor, it is obvious that the heart and soul of Chateau Bouceel are its owners, Regis de Roquefeuil and his wife, Nicole. Staying at Chateau Bouceel is to stay in Regis’ family home. The rooms contain photographs, artifacts, and family heirlooms, each with a story that Regis can recount on demand. Regis is probably one of the most interesting, friendly, and entertaining people we have ever met. Even with a full house, he devotes attention to each guest as if they were the only guest. Regis is a historian. Educated, in part, in the United States, Regis knows a great deal about our own history, and his knowledge of French history and politics makes for lively conversation.

On our first visit, we stayed in the “Nelly Bedroom.” This time we stayed in the “Charlotte Bedroom.” Both are on the second floor, and both are wonderful rooms, with interesting period decorations, large bathrooms, and splendid views of the grounds through large windows. The serenity and comfortable surroundings caused us to spend far more time in the room than we should, considering there were so many other things to do.

Breakfast is held in one of the grander venues of the chateau, an ornately decorated dining room with views of the grounds. The large dining room table accommodates a cross section of visitors, and every morning there is lively conversation with other guests, many of whom are repeat visitors. Regis is always there to converse with guests, provide directions, help with reservations, and answer questions.

Regis is responsible for sending us to two exceptional restaurants not far from the Chateau, Auberge du Terroir in nearby Servon (we have enjoyed dinner there four times), and Le Gue Du Holme, in Saint Quentin Sur Le Homme. If you travel to this area of the Calvados District, these restaurants should not be missed.

This is not a place where a traveler should spend a night. It is a place where you should spend several days and get to know the place and get to know Regis. It will be a lifelong memory.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ppm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spent three weeks touring the north of France. Chateau Bouceel was, by far, our favorite stop. We stayed in several chateaux, some older, some more luxurious, some with a more storied past, but none as lovely as this chateau. The present Count, Regis, is a proud and accomplished man who shows his passions and humor without a hint of egotism. He loves this house and garden, its many hundred-year-old trees, its animals and the very air they breathe. A wonderful raconteur, he tells stories about everything and everyone, especially his father. He is an ideal host, making us feel as welcome as important visitors. As a travel advisor, he gave us many valuable recommendations and travel tips.
I do not mean to down-play the magnificence of this elegant country estate. You see it at the far end of a long drive. There is a fine stairway to the front door. Open the door and you enter a grand foyer, its walls decorated with portraiture from several centuries. There is a grand stone staircase leading to the second floor (first floor for many Europeans). Down the central hall are rooms named for family ancestors. We stayed in the room called ‘Robert’, Regis’ paternal grandfather. Obviously, many of the pictures, furnishings and decorations were Robert’s personal possessions. Breakfasts were served at a grand banquet table, set with china on white linen. The mixture of international guests made for interesting conversation. The excellent breakfast was presided over by the Countess (who also made us feel like members of the family or honored guests).
We do not fall in love with most places where we stay. It is also important to note short-comings. Alas, we fell in love with Chateau Bouceel and can think of nothing that needs improvement. OK, maybe the geese could be friendlier.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bouceel1763, Owner at Chateau de Bouceel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for taking time to write this fantastic review, we are very honored........Immediately after reading it I went to the geese to tell them off a little bit and, of course, I am pleased to tell you they have well received the message!!!!!
Nicole and I send you our friendly regards and hope to see you again in Boucéel
Régis de Roquefeuil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vergoncey
6.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Montgomery
8.8 mi away
Hotel La Ramade
Hotel La Ramade
#1 of 5 in Avranches
524 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Best Western Le Moulin De Ducey
7.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,330 reviews
6.0 mi away
Le Gue du Holme
Le Gue du Holme
#1 of 3 in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Bouceel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Bouceel

Address: Lieu-dit Bouceel | 6 Bouceel, 50240 Vergoncey, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Vergoncey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vergoncey
Price Range: $185 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18kms away from Mont Saint Michel the chateau is still a family home. Built in 1763, it sits in a quiet park with lakes, island, age old trees. The interior boasts super carved wood panels, parquets floors, period antiques, family portraits blending harmoniously with modern comfort and stylish bathrooms. Your hosts, Nicole and Regis, will welcome you as friends and share the enjoyment of their home. Breakfast included in rate. Non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chateau de Bouceel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Bouceel Vergoncey, Normandy, France
Chateau De Bouceel Hotel Vergoncey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing