We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique gem near Mont st. Michel”
Review of Chateau de Bouceel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Bouceel
Ranked #1 of 1 Vergoncey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A unique gem near Mont st. Michel”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

It is ranked as the top recommended place to stay - and rightly so!
The chateau is a real, untouched 18th century estate full of charm.
Do not expect television, renovated rooms, elevators plastic or stailess steel.
It is a romantic truely old chateau and Regis (the owner) gives you the impression that you are a guest visiting his home.
Devote some time to hear the stories about the family and the place, you will get a new perspective and adire the libarary with it's books from the last 300 years.
Take a stroll in the property. You will meet the cats, the well fed donkeys and the capibaras that swim in the pond.
It is a magnicent place to stay away from the tourist traps surrounding the Mont st. Michel

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKRIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
67
164
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 756 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Built in1763 the Chateau is a listed historical monument and is still a family home today. The interior boasts superb carved wood panels, parquet floors, period antiques and family portraits. 18 km from the Mont Saint Michel. Very large and confortable room (Oncle François bedroom) with excellent bathroom. Nice breakfast. As a countryside manor, it does not intent to offer modern facilities, wich was a plus in a trip like ours: a "gateway to rest and enjoy".

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Construído em 1763, o Chateau é reconhecido como monumento histórico e permanece com residência até hoje. O seu interior apresenta lindos painéis de madeira, pisos de parquet/tacos, antiguidades e porta-retratos da família proprietária. Dista 18 km do Monte Saint Michel. Grande e confortável quarto (Oncle François) com excelente banheiro. Café da manhã variado, com qualidade muito boa. Por se tratar de hotel em mansão no campo, não se propõe a oferecer facilidades modernas,o que foi ótimo em uma viagem como a nossa: uma "parada para respirar, descansar e curtir".

Room Tip: Dinan and Cancale are beautiful small towns near the Chateau. Ask staff for directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RicardoBretzCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, VA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Chateau. It was such a restful place after the commotion of Paris and the rigors of traveling. The Chateau is lovely. We felt as if we stepping back into time when we entered our room, but then we had a completely modern bathroom and wi-fi. A perfect blend of the old and new. A real find!

Room Tip: We were in the Uncle Francois room which overlooked the front lawn. It was a real treat to view the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanieOakton_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bouceel1763, Owner at Chateau de Bouceel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear friends,

Thank you so much for having taken time out to write us a thank you note and a review on Tripadvisor! Nicole and I are very happy you enjoyed your stay in Boucéel and your quick visit to Honfleur...It is a gem We hope seeing again in the future

Nicole and Régis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens Greece
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Been welcomed so warmely by a Comte is already rare! Imagine if this Comte spends all his personal time to take care of your stay, with an aristocratic touch that reflects quality of the past! This is the experience at Chateau de Bouceel.

The family who owns the castle still lives in and takes care of all details. All the rooms are nicely refurnished, very spacious and bright, with the highlight to be the bath! You may choose to have view at the front, overlooking the amazing lake of the chateau or the backyard which is also precious!

Why choose this Chateau for your stay?
a) Elegance / quality / good value for money
b) Really relaxing atmosphere! Its huge property that you can walk and relax under the rainy the cloudy sand of Normandy
c) You will feel that you are a part of the family; the Comte spends time with you during breakfast making you feel even more comfortable and at the same time sharing personal stories including valuable informtaion on how to explore the unknown of Normandy.
d) It is 10 minutes drive from Mont Saint Michelle
e) pets are allowed

A friendly recommendation about the breakfast: It is nice but the ambience and the quality of the place dictates for more traditional and hand made products coming from the rich land of Normandy. Some fresh cheese, eggs or hand made marmelade would stap the high standards of quality that you already offer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Addictedath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bouceel1763, Owner at Chateau de Bouceel, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dear friends,

We thank you for your review.....Concerning your observation on breakfast, I take it in a positive way because it helps us to improve. All I can tell is that, at this time, Nicole is collecting fruits every day to make home made marmelades and apple compotes!! May be when you were at home our apple compotes were finished, so sorry for that....Living in a château, one is impregnated with Tradition and we do things the way they are done in France. But we also want the greatest number of people coming in Boucéel to be satisfied and we shall consider your observation to mix it with our traditions.
Thanks again
Régis de Roquefeuil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We spent three nights in the Marquise bedroom, with driving trips in different directions each day. The chateau and its grounds are private and secluded, with beautiful views in every direction. It was full to capacity during our stay, including its outlying cottages, yet there was always the sense that we had it all to ourselves. The Count and Countess take great pride in their ancestral home, and part of the delight of the stay is learning the history of the family and the place The Count is a talented story teller and a gracious host. He adeptly juggles the interests of all the guests and is constantly available to answer questions and offer suggestions.

The rooms are elegant, high ceilinged, and filled with beautiful antiques. the web site videos are accurate, and if anything, don't fully convey just how large the rooms are. The Marquise bedroom has a separate sitting room with a single bed, which proved useful for middle of the night reading. There was no reason other than time zone change to be up at night, for it is deliciously quiet and private.

The bath is spacious and well equipped, with large, thick towels that are replaced daily. Breakfast is a careful selection impeccably served. Annette, who attended during our visit, was unfailingly cheerful and helpful.

This is an ideal location from which to see both eastern Brittany and western Normandy. Mont St. Michel is only 20 minutes away. Dinan, a wonderful walled town with a port, is 45 minutes, and a good choice for walking. The Normandy coast road west of Avranches has breathtaking views.

Mostly, when you leave, you will remember the gracious hospitality of your hosts. It is no small feat to open your home to guests, with all their different personalities, demands, and needs, and still be able, day in and day out over a long tourist season, to make them feel that it was your pleasure to have them visit. We left with that feeling, and with the hope that we may return again.

Room Tip: The Marquise bedroom is the only bedroom on the ground floor. It would be a good choice for anyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTWNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bouceel1763, Owner at Chateau de Bouceel, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
May I congratule you for the finesse of your description of the château, of your experience and of the atmoshere. Having practiced for 28 years in Paris, I enjoy taking care of people. We say in France: " Il n'y a de richesse que d'Homme" ( The only real wealth is Human). My colleagues in Paris ask me what is like now that I do not practice any longer and I tell them: for me it is about the same with one word difference:
I used to take care of people to make them feel well, now I simply try to make them feel good!
Many thanks again
Régis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Our first experience with Bouceel was 8 years ago and it was amazing. On our recent return visit to France we made it a point to return to Bouceel. Count Regis was as charming as we remembered. Learning about his family history and how they resisted the Nazis made history very personalized. His appreciation for America's role in liberating Europe during WWII is very evident, as he maintains an American grave at the St. James American Cemetery. We would highly recommend Bouceel to anyone traveling to the Normandy region.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdfromTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bouceel1763, Owner at Chateau de Bouceel, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for writing a review. I am glad to have made you participate in the Association " Les Fleurs de la Mémoire" and lay flowers on Georges Mick's grave.It is a moral tribute for Nicole and I and, for me, a personal tribute because I know that whitout Him and men like him, my father wouldn't have come back and I wouldn't be here.
It was a great pleasure to have met you again and as we say in French: " Jamais deux sans trois" Alors à bientôt!!
Régis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eyesparkles
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Chateau Bouceel was OUR most miraculous & beautiful experience in all of France. The Count and Countess of Bouceel went out of their way to make our personal dream come true. Our 2 children, my partner and I planned our DREAM WEDDING at Bouceel. Because it was an exceptionally small party they graciously allowed the small event to take place at their picturesque Chateau. The efforts on both parts of the Count and Countess were simply remarkable and heartfelt. As I type tears of joy fill my eyes. People only dream of things like this and we lived our dream.

The restaurant recommendations were remarkable and typically we are quite particular about our fine dining establishments.

The many stories & family memories shared by the Count had our attention at every sentence.

The Marquis room was perfect for us and our 2 kids, beautiful and romantic. Ask the Count about the love letter hidden in the walls by the bed.

The kindest treatment we experienced in all of France.

Regis and Nicole, we plan to see you one day in the future perhaps to celebrate an Anniversary. Thank you both for helping us realize our dream, we are ever grateful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyesparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bouceel1763, Owner at Chateau de Bouceel, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Friends,

Your visit at château de Boucéel was certainly a different and unique experience for you and for us. Something we shall remember and we are pleased if it made you happy! You were so pretty with your long ivory dress.. Montana also.. Joshua, a so cute and well educated boy with his blond hair!!
We are are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future and shall always remember these happy memories.

Nicole and Régis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vergoncey
6.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Montgomery
4.9 mi away
Best Western Le Moulin De Ducey
7.5 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hotel La Ramade
Hotel La Ramade
#1 of 5 in Avranches
489 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,284 reviews
8.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Pierre
Auberge Saint-Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Bouceel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Bouceel

Property: Chateau de Bouceel
Address: Lieu-dit Bouceel | 6 Bouceel, 50240 Vergoncey, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Vergoncey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vergoncey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18kms away from Mont Saint Michel the chateau is still a family home. Built in 1763, it sits in a quiet park with lakes, island, age old trees. The interior boasts super carved wood panels, parquets floors, period antiques, family portraits blending harmoniously with modern comfort and stylish bathrooms. Your hosts, Nicole and Regis, will welcome you as friends and share the enjoyment of their home. Breakfast included in rate. Non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de Bouceel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Bouceel Vergoncey, Normandy, France
Chateau De Bouceel Hotel Vergoncey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing